Advice on pumping air into tyres...

Simonsoh

Hi guys.. I recently changed my first set of tyres and my pref is 245 front and 235 behind. i went SPC to check pressure and was slight below 200. SPC the nozzle is those type have to exert pressure to connect hose nozzle to tyre value. then very strange, once it hits 210, a lot of pressure automatically force the nozzle away from the tyre value. I try again and cannot. all 4 tyres same. I use a lot of strength to connect but the air hose keep pushing and flying away after 210. i scared. stop. no ting ting ting sound... just keep pushing away.

then i went caltex, and the hose nozzle is clip type. means you clip the nozzle to the tyre value. super secure. i set to 245 front and 235 behind. swee swee. but now i a bit scared. spc air pump refuse to pump after 210. but i used caltex's clip to pump to 245 235... like forcing the tyre to accept an amount of air that it refused earlier on...

sibei loh-soh hor... safe anot huh?

But something must be wrong right? means nobody can pump more than 210 at that SPC air pump? and 210 is below most recommended pressure right? nvm, next time i try other clip-less pumps at other stations test test see how.

Edited by Simonsoh

Hi guys.. I recently changed my first set of tyres and my pref is 245 front and 235 behind. i went SPC to check pressure and was slight below 200. SPC the nozzle is those type have to exert pressure to connect hose nozzle to tyre value. then very strange, once it hits 210, a lot of pressure automatically force the nozzle away from the tyre value. I try again and cannot. all 4 tyres same. I use a lot of strength to connect but the air hose keep pushing and flying away after 210. i scared. stop. no ting ting ting sound... just keep pushing away.

then i went caltex, and the hose nozzle is clip type. means you clip the nozzle to the tyre value. super secure. i set to 245 front and 235 behind. swee swee. but now i a bit scared. spc air pump refuse to pump after 210. but i used caltex's clip to pump to 245 235... like forcing the tyre to accept an amount of air that it refused earlier on...

It's surely safe. The max pressure for your tire can be found on your tire sidewall. Usually it ranges from 44psi to 51psi. So 245kPa is definitely safe ^_^

The air pump I used in Germany so far are terrible.

You have to put the hose in, the dial show you the pressure. You need to press the '+' or '-' button to increase or decrease the pressure, and the buttons are on the dials. You cannot hold the hose to prevent leak, unless you have someone to help you, as you have to be beside the dial to press the manual buttons.

Obviously SPC one is better to cater for newbies. It protect tyre from over pressure.

Good.

If u notice, how many cars have tires which are over pressured??? From my observation, most cars are not even riding on the right pressure, most are slightly under pressure.. And unfortunately, most drivers are not even aware of it and can still be travelling at a pretty "manageable" speed in those tires.. Cos the likelyhood of a burst tire is very very high..

The air pump I used in Germany so far are terrible.

You have to put the hose in, the dial show you the pressure. You need to press the '+' or '-' button to increase or decrease the pressure, and the buttons are on the dials. You cannot hold the hose to prevent leak, unless you have someone to help you, as you have to be beside the dial to press the manual buttons.

Teck Kok very advance one leh. How come liddat? Maybe they have a different system.

Like what you mentioned - put hose in, tire pressure indicated (good mah, don't need pressure gauge to check). Just toggle + / - to your desired pressure.

+ will pump up (e.g. tire 30psi, you want to pump 32psi, you set + to 32);

- will release some air for you (e.g. tire 35psi, you want tire pressure to be 32psi, you set - to 32).

Edited by Kangadrool

Teck Kok very advance one leh. How come liddat? Maybe they have a different system.

Like what you mentioned - put hose in, tire pressure indicated (good mah, don't need pressure gauge to check). Just toggle + / - to your desired pressure.

+ will pump up (e.g. tire 30psi, you want to pump 32psi, you set + to 32);

- will release some air for you (e.g. tire 35psi, you want tire pressure to be 32psi, you set - to 32).

Some of the petrol stations are very old, unlike in Sunny Sinagpore where everything is new (or at least new looking).

Its fairly ok if the hose clip is not loose, & you did not pump hig pressure. Otherwise, you may see the hose shoot out (as you cannot hold it, as you are at the dial, adjusting the pressure) from the tire pin holes when you try to increase the pressure.

Now added the mini frostbite you can get when you expose your bare hands to phyical object outdoor for long, say, hold the pump when filling. I thought a bit about this and my thoughts are that solid are better conductor than air, so when you touch freezing object, the cold get to you more instantly. Much like falling into freezing water & get hypothemial (spelling) within a short time.

Actually is it normal for this, as above highlight in red?

i thought it is quite easy to align the nozzle to the valve, although sometimes need to try 2 or 3 times or the air will escape from the side. Then the air will start to pump to whatever amount you need? Sound quite funny as what simonsoh has mentioned ?? ??

Edited by Alvinhoo

Guys, i found that the tyre pump at the Shell station at junction of Geylang Rd and Mountbatten Rd is brand new! Go try it, if you're in the area. [sly]

what a funny statement...

to me, it doesnt matter if the pump is old or new...as long as the PSI is correct.... [laugh]

what a funny statement...

to me, it doesnt matter if the pump is old or new...as long as the PSI is correct.... [laugh]

Thats true pump old also never mind

as long as good plressure.

If u notice, how many cars have tires which are over pressured??? From my observation, most cars are not even riding on the right pressure, most are slightly under pressure.. And unfortunately, most drivers are not even aware of it and can still be travelling at a pretty "manageable" speed in those tires.. Cos the likelyhood of a burst tire is very very high..

burst tyres are my number one irrational fear when driving. sounds silly yes. i dun get what u saying. most people over pressure. but it is under pressure that can cause high likelihood of burst tyre?

Actually is it normal for this, as above highlight in red?

i thought it is quite easy to align the nozzle to the valve, although sometimes need to try 2 or 3 times or the air will escape from the side. Then the air will start to pump to whatever amount you need? Sound quite funny as what simonsoh has mentioned ?? ??

maybe that day i havent had breakfast? duno leh... or maybe new tyre i not used to alignment of nozzle vs tyre valve? but i am pretty sure i did not use less strength than previous times to connect. maybe some bros go past Jurong East SPC can try see is it me or the pump.. haha..

anyway now that i have found caltex bukit batok clip type and so many ppl assure its safe i think i will stick to caltex.. although i pump petrol at SPC. :D