PAP mood turns sour over pay cut

Without_a_car

Well, People are never contented. Oppo takes over, there will still be complaints. If I am an Oppo leader and takes over the govt, the first thing I will do is clamp down on social media. No more forums for people to make noise.

And any unhappy citizens can choose to leave. I will replace the head counts with milionaires from China.

I like China govt model of doing things to curb discontents. We should adopt that in some waySome sporeans are just an unhappy bunch, over small issues. not happy, leave lor.

Lucky for us, you are not in charge...

pls lah ... this is malaysian news leh ... why let others belittle or make fun of us ??

Seah's credentials

http://www.littlespeck.com/about/theEditor.html

Let me introduce a little about myself.

I have been a journalist for 40 years, a true-blooded Singaporean, born, bred and hope to die here.

I worked as a Reuters corespondent between 1960-70, based in Singapore but with various assignments in Southeast Asia, including a total of about 40 months in (then South) Vietnam between 1966-1970.

After working for the news agency for 10 years, I left to work for Singapore Herald in 1970, first as Malaysia Bureau Chief and later as News Editor before it was forced to close after a run-in with the Singapore Government.

I then left Singapore to work for The Asian, the world's first regional weekly newspaper, based in Bangkok to cover Thailand and Indochina - Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia - for two years between 1972-73.

Other jobs: -

1973-74 - News Editor of Hong Kong Standard.

1974-82 -- Foreign Editor, Straits Times, Singapore reporting assignments to Asia, Europe, Africa, the Middle East and The United States.

1982-85 -- Editor, Singapore Monitor.

1986-present - Columnist The Star, Malaysia.

Seah Chiang Nee

" KNN.....WHY CUT MY PAY???

I DO NUTHIN' WAT.....WHY ME?????

WWWWHHHHHHHHHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY.......................!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! "

[bigcry][bigcry][bigcry]

Hahaha

Precisely you are not doing anything!!!

Well, Current govt might just do ths one day if they feel SoCal meda is becoming a threat like in other countries

New govt who takes over might just do this to consolidate their power

Lucky for us, you are not in charge...

Well, Current govt might just do ths one day if they feel SoCal meda is becoming a threat like in other countries

Where have you been living all these while? Can't you the consequences if this going to happen? Look at Egypt Syria Libya. This is what going to happen here if out govt going to shut down social media.

The entire garment needs to learn what is called 'Social Responsibility'

And includes SMRT, LTA, Comfort Delgro, PUB, HDB.......

Might as well suspend the constitution.

As for "Minister without Portfolio", it's not that the office holder has no job scope - he probably has more work than any minister, simultaneously a Cabinet Minister, a labour movement leader, and CEO of one the largest "private" conglomerate in Singapore - it's downright schizophrenic to be this three headed monster... or what they call it "tripartite alliance". It is just inconvenient to admit that NTUC is a de facto government ministry, so an awkward job title is the compromise.

High pay is like a big car, a big house, or a big TV. When you get it, you will feel happy for a while, and then it becomes a normal thing and it won't make you happy any more. But if you are force to downgrade back to what you had, the pain will be many times worse than the initial happiness.

I may not be pro-PAP, but I still want Singapore to succeed. And demoralising our government leaders is hardly a good thing for Singapore. Not to mention, I still think the formula is meaningless and still elitist.

If the government can ensure Singaporeans as a whole get wealthier, I will gladly support paying them millions. The best paid 1000 is not even 1% of Singapore citizens. Even bulk of the wealthiest 1% will feel left out, let alone the 99%.

The PM should fire the salary review panel and assemble another one.... one with brains, balls and political insight. The current recommendation still bears the same problem as the old formula, eg incentivise the government to seek out short term quick fixes like flooding Singapore with foreigners.

wil the speaker suffer the party whip? if yes, then independence wil always b a talking point.

i stil dun understand why the need for a no portfolio minister when there are alr ministers of the respective dept. sounds uniquely singapore again. and i thk we have like 3 such ministers??

tats why i was saying pay cut sure sian but have to put things in perspective. sian abit is human but if it really turns them off then it jus proves they are in it for the money first public service second. and bear in mind even for totally non performers, they are stil highest paid in the world.

but of cos dun get me wrong. looking at the payscales in the corporate circle, i also agree to pay them millions if they are proven assets to the people. else the real loss wil b to us people over the haggling of 1-2M.

tats why i was saying pay cut sure sian but have to put things in perspective. sian abit is human but if it really turns them off then it jus proves they are in it for the money first public service second. and bear in mind even for totally non performers, they are stil highest paid in the world.

in the first place, since the review is started, they should already prepare for it. if they really put serving ppl as their top priority, they will not mind the pay cut. bear in mind that their pay still remain the highest and their life is still way better than a lot a lot of ppl in singapore.

but of cos dun get me wrong. looking at the payscales in the corporate circle, i also agree to pay them millions if they are proven assets to the people. else the real loss wil b to us people over the haggling of 1-2M.

this is the mindset they implanted to ppl like you and average singaporean. fortunately not all singaporean are so easily manipulated or psyco in this way. if not, there will not have any review going on in the first place.

Ppl are not happy is not becos of the ministers' pay, I agree to that. It's just that ppl are fed up with the promises but no results plus increasing inflation & high cost of living just make ppl more dulan. Seeing more & more tax payers' money ever increasingly end up as their pay makes ppl really upset. It's like hiring a person to do a job but not delivering results and he/she is getting pay raise every now & then.

Well, People are never contented. Oppo takes over, there will still be complaints. If I am an Oppo leader and takes over the govt, the first thing I will do is clamp down on social media. No more forums for people to make noise.

And any unhappy citizens can choose to leave. I will replace the head counts with milionaires from China.

I like China govt model of doing things to curb discontents. We should adopt that in some way

Some sporeans are just an unhappy bunch, over small issues. not happy, leave lor.

Any bros remember the movie "Enemy of the State" starring Will Smith & Gene Hackman?

I fear that in the name of national security one day we may end up like what was being portrayed in the show where a rogue team of the US govt's NSA tap into security cameras, cell phones, spy satellites & electronic equipment to do what they wanted according to their interpretation of national security.

Or have we already? [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Ppl are not happy is not becos of the ministers' pay, I agree to that. It's just that ppl are fed up with the promises but no results plus increasing inflation & high cost of living just make ppl more dulan. Seeing more & more tax payers' money ever increasingly end up as their pay makes ppl really upset. It's like hiring a person to do a job but not delivering results and he/she is getting pay raise every now & then.

yup pretty much that. if not the pay has been pegged since 94 why did the unhappiness waited till now to boil over?

Pay them millions if they have delivered like one leader mentioned to achieve the Swiss standard of living. But are we there yet?

We must put things in perspective.

And all the talk about giving up their present high-flying careers to enter politics is a big sacrifice does not sit well with most people.

First you enter an agreement, if we can use this term, with your eyes open. No one pointed a gun at their heads & they should know what it entails to be in public service & in this case a cabinet minister. So they should not bring up about this sort of "sacrifice" again.

It is also a known fact these ministers do not actually retire when they retire. Most ended up in cushy jobs as top honchos in GIC/TLC companies.

And in local context the new batch of office bearers do not even have to try hard to win any election themselves but simply be put into a GRC to ride on the coattails of one or more ministers anchored in that GRC to enter the exclusive circle of the executive branch of the govt. What hard fights they are talking about to enter politics?

Some say ministers job very tough & they deal with the daily running of this nation. What many didn't know is that the day-to-day running of this nation are done by tens of thousands of civil servants & public officers out there. Without them our entire nation will grind to a halt.

Let's be clear: Ministers FRONT the policies FORMULATED by the elite Administrative Service which include the PS & top scholars. They have limited power to change these policies & have to go along with their proposals most of the time.

Last but not least about personal sacrifices, please lah what about bus drivers, port/construction workers & social workers, some of whom work 7-day weeks including during public holidays? Are they paid miliions to do their jobs? Do they get recognitions? Don't they have families too?

Seriously think about it.

I like China govt model of doing things to curb discontents. We should adopt that in some way

Some sporeans are just an unhappy bunch, over small issues. not happy, leave lor.

You are a bloody communist. [laugh]