StefanK Supercharged January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 Hi guys, Am driving into JB for the first time today. Is there any safety practice that i should adhere to? Is there a certain type of car that is always targeted (Subaru/Honda/Toyota etc)? I hope that everyone can share their.experience here so we can all be safe when visiting JB with our 'wives/mistresses'. Cheers! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 Hi guys, Am driving into JB for the first time today. Is there any safety practice that i should adhere to? Is there a certain type of car that is always targeted (Subaru/Honda/Toyota etc)? I hope that everyone can share their.experience here so we can all be safe when visiting JB with our 'wives/mistresses'. Cheers! Dun be flashy, dun be too friendly and dun drive like driving in Sp, Give way and smile, say sorry even if it's not yr mistake. OPen your eyes wide, dun act rash, observe 1st and watch things happen, ( nothing will happen actually ), it s weekend so plenty of cars around, MY drivers driving style diff from us. enjoy your ride ! Drive safe 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 (edited) don leave anything seemly valuable in the car. especially a laptop bag even if it is empty. take out yr cash card holder(the one that conceals the cash card), take out the cash card. try to park head in with wheel turned all the way to left or right, best if park beside a pillar. i also always use a wheel lock. it might not seems useful to some(as it can also be break easily) but if u are a car thief, would u steal a car with wheel lock or without? Edited January 7, 2012 by Tom_kkh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged January 7, 2012 Author Share January 7, 2012 don leave anything seemly valuable in the car. especially a laptop bag even if it is empty. take out yr cash card holder(the one that conceals the cash card), take out the cash card. try to park head in with wheel turned all the way to left or right, best if park beside a pillar. i also always use a wheel lock. it might not seems useful to some(as it can also be break easily) but if u are a car thief, would u steal a car with wheel lock or without? I know it's important to park head in, but din realise must turn the wheels. Anyway, I don't have wheel lock and I sending my car in for grooming first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topspin 2nd Gear January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 One simple and golden rule...don't break any traffic law, especially the speed limit. If you do break it not on purpose, don't attempt to bribe the police. 2 wrongs don't make it right. Don't be influenced by everyone here who seems to be encouraging each other to out speed each other on the NSH then bribe the police if caught. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maka Neutral Newbie January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 Dun be flashy, dun be too friendly and dun drive like driving in Sp, Give way and smile, say sorry even if it's not yr mistake. OPen your eyes wide, dun act rash, observe 1st and watch things happen, ( nothing will happen actually ), it s weekend so plenty of cars around, MY drivers driving style diff from us. enjoy your ride ! Drive safe Another to add, stay away from kancil, keresa and Red "P" plate drivers. Remember to signal as well. Whatever you do in SG, dun bring over to JB unless you want to get killed there (if you are those super kuku driver that believe that "this is my lane, dun ever cut in" theory). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maka Neutral Newbie January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 I know it's important to park head in, but din realise must turn the wheels. Anyway, I don't have wheel lock and I sending my car in for grooming first. Bro, dun worry la.. I find JB drivers including cabbies are much more road educated compare to Singapore. The further u drive the more you will appreciate that JB drivers are better road users than Singapore drivers especially when you want to over take them with a proper signal, 99% of them will change lane let u pass. The 1% belongs to Singapore car plate drivers only which die die dun let u pass and continue their usual road hogging. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evilernie 4th Gear January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 Be patient and remain came at all times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 Bro, dun worry la.. I find JB drivers including cabbies are much more road educated compare to Singapore. The further u drive the more you will appreciate that JB drivers are better road users than Singapore drivers especially when you want to over take them with a proper signal, 99% of them will change lane let u pass. The 1% belongs to Singapore car plate drivers only which die die dun let u pass and continue their usual road hogging. He asking serious question, don't joke wif him lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged January 7, 2012 Author Share January 7, 2012 Bro, dun worry la.. I find JB drivers including cabbies are much more road educated compare to Singapore. The further u drive the more you will appreciate that JB drivers are better road users than Singapore drivers especially when you want to over take them with a proper signal, 99% of them will change lane let u pass. The 1% belongs to Singapore car plate drivers only which die die dun let u pass and continue their usual road hogging. In the end never go in, cos when I reach, the jam all the way until Woodlands Ave 3 exit, so in the end, make a U-turn. No need go in M'sia already meet Singaporean Road Hogger liao. Overtaking lane 75 - 80 all the way, flash no use, horn also no use. By the way, I hope everyone can add more tips about driving into M'sia so that everyone can be on the safe side! Tanks eberybody, tanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 (edited) Good reading the tips bros. Planning my 1st drive to MY for CNY. Plan on leaving on 30-Jan, early morning. Maybe reach Woodlands checkpoint before 0900. Is this too early / late? Drive all the way to KL for a wedding. But have to stop at Avis JB to pickup a rental car for my bro-in-law who is visiting from Dubai. BTW, do I need an Int'l licence or my SG licence good enough for MY? Also, don't know if anyone can help me. My bro-in-law with his wife and 1 toddler son. Myself, my wife and 4 kids (big family , my 3 year old twins were unplanned) So total 6 adults and 3 toddlers. We can fit in the Q7 upto Avis JB, but I don't know if I will get hassled at checkpoint. So I told him to get a cab from SG to JB for his family. What do you guys think? All go in my Q7 to pickup his rental or let him take a cab? Thanks for the tips guys. -HH- Edited January 13, 2014 by Habeebhashim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 Just drive the q7 to kl lar.... Park JB and rent a My car?... Pray when you come back, your q7 still around... What a waste... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 Just drive the q7 to kl lar.... Park JB and rent a My car?... Pray when you come back, your q7 still around... What a waste... 9 pax in a Q7 on NSHW? Accident and insurance company walks.... I think he needs another car and they are renting in JB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 Good reading the tips bros. Planning my 1st drive to MY for CNY. Plan on leaving on 30-Jan, early morning. Maybe reach Woodlands checkpoint before 0900. Is this too early / late? Drive all the way to KL for a wedding. But have to stop at Avis JB to pickup a rental car for my bro-in-law who is visiting from Dubai. BTW, do I need an Int'l licence or my SG licence good enough for MY? Also, don't know if anyone can help me. My bro-in-law with his wife and 1 toddler son. Myself, my wife and 4 kids (big family , my 3 year old twins were unplanned) So total 6 adults and 3 toddlers. We can fit in the Q7 upto Avis JB, but I don't know if I will get hassled at checkpoint. So I told him to get a cab from SG to JB for his family. What do you guys think? All go in my Q7 to pickup his rental or let him take a cab? Thanks for the tips guys. -HH- Just rental the car in Singapore solve all your problem..cost more but save all trouble.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LostInHeaven 1st Gear January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 sorry, but may i know why must park with head in and wheel turned all the way? don leave anything seemly valuable in the car. especially a laptop bag even if it is empty.take out yr cash card holder(the one that conceals the cash card), take out the cash card.try to park head in with wheel turned all the way to left or right, best if park beside a pillar.i also always use a wheel lock. it might not seems useful to some(as it can also be break easily) but if u are a car thief, would u steal a car with wheel lock or without? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic January 13, 2014 Share January 13, 2014 sorry, but may i know why must park with head in and wheel turned all the way? prevent getting towed Good reading the tips bros. Planning my 1st drive to MY for CNY. Plan on leaving on 30-Jan, early morning. Maybe reach Woodlands checkpoint before 0900. Is this too early / late? Drive all the way to KL for a wedding. But have to stop at Avis JB to pickup a rental car for my bro-in-law who is visiting from Dubai. BTW, do I need an Int'l licence or my SG licence good enough for MY? Also, don't know if anyone can help me. My bro-in-law with his wife and 1 toddler son. Myself, my wife and 4 kids (big family , my 3 year old twins were unplanned) So total 6 adults and 3 toddlers. We can fit in the Q7 upto Avis JB, but I don't know if I will get hassled at checkpoint. So I told him to get a cab from SG to JB for his family. What do you guys think? All go in my Q7 to pickup his rental or let him take a cab? Thanks for the tips guys. -HH- my suggestion for ur bro to take flight to KL and rent a car from there, meet them in KL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrathchild156 2nd Gear January 14, 2014 Share January 14, 2014 Bro; Keep these nos just in case. Plus Hotline – 1800 88 0000 Tow truck / Yap Yei Lai 012 682 6631 016 768 0570 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 14, 2014 Share January 14, 2014 Good reading the tips bros. Planning my 1st drive to MY for CNY. Plan on leaving on 30-Jan, early morning. Maybe reach Woodlands checkpoint before 0900. Is this too early / late? Drive all the way to KL for a wedding. But have to stop at Avis JB to pickup a rental car for my bro-in-law who is visiting from Dubai. BTW, do I need an Int'l licence or my SG licence good enough for MY? Also, don't know if anyone can help me. My bro-in-law with his wife and 1 toddler son. Myself, my wife and 4 kids (big family , my 3 year old twins were unplanned) So total 6 adults and 3 toddlers. We can fit in the Q7 upto Avis JB, but I don't know if I will get hassled at checkpoint. So I told him to get a cab from SG to JB for his family. What do you guys think? All go in my Q7 to pickup his rental or let him take a cab? Thanks for the tips guys. -HH- No you won't. Have seen overloaded cars many many times at both sides, in and out and there is never a problem. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...