CKP 3rd Gear January 6, 2012 Share January 6, 2012 (edited) From PM Lee gets 'star' welcome in Hunan PM Lee gets 'star' welcome in Hunan He walked onto the set of a variety show at the popular Hunan TV station for a look-see and was greeted by deafening screams. These came from about 100 teenage girls - many with highlights in their hair - who were there yesterday for the recording of the top-rated show, Tian Tian Xiang Shang (Day Day Up). Grinning, the special guest told them in Mandarin: 'I am not filming today, just here to take a look.' For that one minute or so, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong was accorded TV star treatment. He was visiting the famous media outfit as part of his tour of Hunan's provincial capital Changsha. Despite being a provincial station, Hunan TV has a national reach and is very popular in China for its entertainment and variety programmes. Ranked No. 1 in the country last year, it boasts hits such as period drama serial Huanzhu Gege (My Fair Princess) and the American Idol-esque show, Super Girl. But the Singapore leader is quite sure he is not the station's latest star. 'The students were all very enthusiastic, and they gave me a warm welcome. Not because of me, but because they were enjoying the show,' an amused Mr Lee told Hunan Acting Governor Xu Shousheng after the visit. 'I don't think they knew who I was, they were just enjoying themselves.' Anyone who followed local TV remembered when was the last time PM Lee and wife made such an appearance at local variety shows? Edited January 6, 2012 by CKP ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear January 6, 2012 Share January 6, 2012 9.30pm daily news counted? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CKP 3rd Gear January 6, 2012 Author Share January 6, 2012 (edited) I dont think daily daily news can be compared to a highly rated celebrity entertainment show like Hunan TV. Different class. News is obligatory, entertainment show is optional and ... beyond the call of duty? Edited January 6, 2012 by CKP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear January 6, 2012 Share January 6, 2012 China Hao(boleh)? Tripod china? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear January 6, 2012 Share January 6, 2012 Im nt too sure if he is a Hunan Changsha...if yes, the chinese girls there r one of the best I hv came across...Chio.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 Great foresight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cwong2910 2nd Gear January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 If LHL appear on local variety show, there will be people saying he waste tax payer money or something along the line of paid $2million to attend variety show. Please lah, even if he appear in China variety show, most probably is an invitation from the locals and it will be plain rude to turn them down. Besides it most prob is after official working hours and he still has to "entertain". Of course people will come running in and said that, because he is paid 2million, he needs to work his ass off. oh well...difficult to please.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 Im nt too sure if he is a Hunan Changsha...if yes, the chinese girls there r one of the best I hv came across...Chio.... Unfortunately, he has a very unique taste for woman... Wasted.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 He now realized how important wayang is, until 2016. Got to learn a few tricks from these shows. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 i doubt they even know who he is.... orders from the studio to scream i am sure Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 OMG Is Ho Ching on a shopping spree again? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 Unfortunately, he has a very unique taste for woman... Wasted.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falcon1668 Neutral Newbie January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 Im nt too sure if he is a Hunan Changsha...if yes, the chinese girls there r one of the best I hv came across...Chio.... think any gal u just pick there with eyes closed also chio-er than the one beside him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 (edited) Im nt too sure if he is a Hunan Changsha...if yes, the chinese girls there r one of the best I hv came across...Chio.... It is.... Heard the place is now what cp was 5-8 years ago Edited January 7, 2012 by Galantspeedz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 i doubt they even know who he is.... orders from the studio to scream i am sure You be surprised they know him more than you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryosuke 1st Gear January 7, 2012 Share January 7, 2012 Unfortunately, he has a very unique taste for woman... Wasted.. it was an imperial decree from the emperor. he have no choice but to concur. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 3, 2016 Share August 3, 2016 Our PM's wife definitely doesn't win any style awards but kudos to her promoting our local talent. http://mothership.sg/2016/08/ho-ching-brought-along-a-blue-pouch-to-white-house-designed-by-pathlight-school-student/ loved dinosaurs when i was young, this guy can draw their silhouettes quite well. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrmilktooth Supercharged August 3, 2016 Share August 3, 2016 Our PM's wife definitely doesn't win any style awards but kudos to her promoting our local talent. http://mothership.sg/2016/08/ho-ching-brought-along-a-blue-pouch-to-white-house-designed-by-pathlight-school-student/ loved dinosaurs when i was young, this guy can draw their silhouettes quite well. good share.. im gonna buy this for my girl.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...