PAP MP Grace Fu no happy with pay cut?

Mockngbrd

Got difference.

Actresses got to swallow, literally.

MIW Politicians makes it difficult for people to swallow.

[laugh][laugh] yeah man, makes us puke haha

she is not the first one to comment, last night another female MP already voice out the same when interviewed by 100.3 around 6pm. All worried about no one want to join politic with such low pay where they made 2-6 time in private sector.

Go ahead, see if they can keep up with the changes in private sector.

She was actually the CEO of singapore terminals in PSA before jumping into the politics bandwagon. So she was already quite up there in private sector.

Her father was a perm sec or something so network already establised long long time

Perm sec of that old man. Network swee swee lay for her by her dad.

like some companies experience, will the govt face mass resignation after CNY? [laugh] [laugh]

Now it is a time to show who is for money n who is for the people.... [laugh][laugh][laugh] This thing really rocks...a...if ppl still think it is wayang...then let see how long they can wayang... -_-

What "living standards" is she talking about, does she want meals at hawker centres, food courts or restaurants for her family? :D

I say again, if you can't have a VERY comfortable life on a politician's salary in Singapore, just how much do you want? Just how much is enough for you.

Once you are living in a bungalow, must it be a District 9 bungalow, once you already have a car, must it be an S600? Just how much does she really need for the family to be happy - the salary she is earning is already more than 20 times what many families have, and they still can buy houses and educate their kids - just how much is enough and when does it cross over into gluttony?

from some of the MIW comments, i only sense they want guaranty, they want security and a iron rice bowl even if the country is in crisis :D

I say again, if you can't have a VERY comfortable life on a politician's salary in Singapore, just how much do you want? Just how much is enough for you.

Once you are living in a bungalow, must it be a District 9 bungalow, once you already have a car, must it be an S600? Just how much does she really need for the family to be happy - the salary she is earning is already more than 20 times what many families have, and they still can buy houses and educate their kids - just how much is enough and when does it cross over into gluttony?

that is why if they are not happy, leave! Serving their own needs under the cover of serving the nation reeks of selfishness.. How can i trust my MPs to serve my needs then?

I feel her comments is fair and just. And her consideration that after joining politics, her family standard of living should not suffer is also logical and reasonable. Will you take on a new job that will cause your family standard of living to drop? Not likely tio bor?

Please don't flame me, I think those who are invited to the tea party are usually already doing quite well in their chosen profession. They already gave up their private life as well as that of their families once they decided to stand for election. I don't think you can put a price to privacy.

Seriously, if I am invited to tea party, I will turn it down flat... No ifs no buts. Privacy is priceless. I enjoy being a nobody wearing singlet & slipper to my favourite bak chor mee stall on weekends and jogging around parks in all corners without having to wave and smile at every single soul that runs besides me. If you are a politician, you can you can do that? Wave and smile can be tough especially when you try to push the old bones to the finishing line. Puff & puff still must said hello.....

then one needs to ask before joining politics..what is my objective? To maintain my family std or living or to serve the ppl. U can't have the best of both.... If she is nt ready..she shld nt take on the role...if she has doubt... I do not think this adjustment will lowered her std of living if she refers to meeting her daily expenses need...but if u say adding on more properties to her list...a...but it is gonna be cheaper soon isnt it? [laugh]

I think when the pay is too high, it attracts too much unwanted publicity and hence giving rise to privacy concerns. Therefore, in order to prevent this, suggest cut the salary further, till the extent that it is not attracting too much attention. Then, you won't have privacy issues. Gum bor???

One question..... What makes a good minister or MP? A person who can connect with people and good in talking but technically bo liao or those who are clearly a CEO calibre?

Frankly speaking, as much as I like the opposition, at the moment, I still feel that they are still at most keeping a check on the gahmen's policy. Given a minister position, can they really perform?

One question..... What makes a good minister or MP? A person who can connect with people and good in talking but technically bo liao or those who are clearly a CEO calibre?

Frankly speaking, as much as I like the opposition, at the moment, I still feel that they are still at most keeping a check on the gahmen's policy. Given a minister position, can they really perform?

I think it was mentioned that WP themselves said they are not able to run the country even if given the chance. They exist to give checks and balances to the incumbent at this point.

they joined politics is to get fat pay checks, be treated like vip, all the prestige...last thing on their minds is to serve the people...if they think they can command more in corporate world (not GIC hor), then go ahead

If you can connect w ppl n wasted this gift but being bo liao...then u waste ur life n didnt use ur gift properly....

Opposition, yes majority r just a bunch of clowns w a few good ones... but it takes time for them to build up the team. W recent GE, I cant be sure whether clowns will continue to flood them or it will be of better calibre...can only say WP has a good start n potential to be the next strong party... but need another 1-2 decades bah...

then one needs to ask before joining politics..what is my objective? To maintain my family std or living or to serve the ppl. U can't have the best of both.... If she is nt ready..she shld nt take on the role...if she has doubt... I do not think this adjustment will lowered her std of living if she refers to meeting her daily expenses need...but if u say adding on more properties to her list...a...but it is gonna be cheaper soon isnt it? [laugh]

i think she is saying:

if i make $20k a month... and i join as MP... and quit my job... i shld be compensated at $20k?

she has a point also...

just like we go serve NS