KARTer 2nd Gear January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 Ha ha ha ha.......' sai mug gong '....... must give it to him............ what a genuine smile, right from the bottom of his heart and... bank accounts, including one or two in switzhland?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 prease lah, pple high crass one sure hire private chef cook in her own bungalow one lah No matter how good the food is...one person has only one mouth ..opps...she is a woman....got 2 mouths.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 Maybe they waiting for bonus... like me... hahaha my bonus in july... cannot wait so long Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 So u mean she is machiam lika an actress lah . Model is definitely out of the equation hah i mean to say the pay is already good and enough to compensate any loss of privacy they speak about. don't keep citing the same reason of loss of privacy as a BIG impediment to take up the job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 (edited) ok ... firstly, i accept the fact that being a public figure (aka MP) you and your family is being scrutinised so call "you suffer and should be compensated" like i said, the statement is true but overrated lor unlike movie superstar or singner whom got photographer hiding in one corner and snapping pictures non stop and everyday newspaper front page somemore singapore media is sibei controlled ... unlike apple daily in hk/taiwan ... there is not much juicy news ... unless one make it ... like posting this in facebook or say something wrong in blogtv. where got big suffer after joining politic in singapore WP MP take public transport and jalan jalan on the street too leh ... do they wear mask ? what say you? Edited January 5, 2012 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 hah i mean to say the pay is already good and enough to compensate any loss of privacy they speak about. don't keep citing the same reason of loss of privacy as a BIG impediment to take up the job. First thing come to my mind "No wonder they are so good at wayanging" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 I feel her comments is fair and just. And her consideration that after joining politics, her family standard of living should not suffer is also logical and reasonable. Will you take on a new job that will cause your family standard of living to drop? Not likely tio bor? Please don't flame me, I think those who are invited to the tea party are usually already doing quite well in their chosen profession. They already gave up their private life as well as that of their families once they decided to stand for election. I don't think you can put a price to privacy. Seriously, if I am invited to tea party, I will turn it down flat... No ifs no buts. Privacy is priceless. I enjoy being a nobody wearing singlet & slipper to my favourite bak chor mee stall on weekends and jogging around parks in all corners without having to wave and smile at every single soul that runs besides me. If you are a politician, you can you can do that? Wave and smile can be tough especially when you try to push the old bones to the finishing line. Puff & puff still must said hello..... mai kong lanjiao wei la.. knn Not happy, just resign. Being an MP is a public service. It's so obvious from her post that she joined politics for the money. No other company in the private sector in Singapore will offer her a similar pay package, even after the pay cuts are confirmed. So, she can suck it up and take the pay cuts, OR resign and get even lower pay in the private sector. She may whine and whine, but she's not going to resign. Same lanjiao pattern as the SMRT CEO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Merks666 Neutral Newbie January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 This is an acid test for everyone in garment. This test will sniff out those who are in for the $$ or they are in to serve the people and country Time will tell and we will see those foxes showing their tails out soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 First thing come to my mind "No wonder they are so good at wayanging" hehe with actresses, it is part of their job to wallow and wayang. but with pap politicians, they have to take the wayang role to higher level. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 I feel her comments is fair and just. And her consideration that after joining politics, her family standard of living should not suffer is also logical and reasonable. Will you take on a new job that will cause your family standard of living to drop? Not likely tio bor? Please don't flame me, I think those who are invited to the tea party are usually already doing quite well in their chosen profession. They already gave up their private life as well as that of their families once they decided to stand for election. I don't think you can put a price to privacy. Seriously, if I am invited to tea party, I will turn it down flat... No ifs no buts. Privacy is priceless. I enjoy being a nobody wearing singlet & slipper to my favourite bak chor mee stall on weekends and jogging around parks in all corners without having to wave and smile at every single soul that runs besides me. If you are a politician, you can you can do that? Wave and smile can be tough especially when you try to push the old bones to the finishing line. Puff & puff still must said hello..... with the revised pay, i doubt she will be worst off compared with at least 80-90% of the pple here.... furthermore, still better than what she got before joining politics... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Versatile 1st Gear January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 I feel her comments is fair and just. And her consideration that after joining politics, her family standard of living should not suffer is also logical and reasonable. Will you take on a new job that will cause your family standard of living to drop? Not likely tio bor? Please don't flame me, I think those who are invited to the tea party are usually already doing quite well in their chosen profession. They already gave up their private life as well as that of their families once they decided to stand for election. I don't think you can put a price to privacy. Seriously, if I am invited to tea party, I will turn it down flat... No ifs no buts. Privacy is priceless. I enjoy being a nobody wearing singlet & slipper to my favourite bak chor mee stall on weekends and jogging around parks in all corners without having to wave and smile at every single soul that runs besides me. If you are a politician, you can you can do that? Wave and smile can be tough especially when you try to push the old bones to the finishing line. Puff & puff still must said hello..... I beg to differ. Look at CSM from WP. He still take public transport and wave/smile to the public. If CSM can do it, i don't see PAP's MPs can't. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 She was actually the CEO of singapore terminals in PSA before jumping into the politics bandwagon. So she was already quite up there in private sector. Her father was a perm sec or something so network already establised long long time Interesting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 I beg to differ. Look at CSM from WP. He still take public transport and wave/smile to the public. If CSM can do it, i don't see PAP's MPs can't. to be fair, it is usually easier to please people when you are the underdog Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 I beg to differ. Look at CSM from WP. He still take public transport and wave/smile to the public. If CSM can do it, i don't see PAP's MPs can't. for pap MPs, they must be paid well to do it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nonpareil 4th Gear January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 Think about it, the US president gets less than these people and yet the amount of scrutiny he goes through can move some of these people to commit suicide. So shut it about privacy when you enter the public space. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pokyman 1st Gear January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 I beg to differ. Look at CSM from WP. He still take public transport and wave/smile to the public. If CSM can do it, i don't see PAP's MPs can't. very true... anyway like what most put it.. PUBLIC SERVICE ... you should be proud of serving the interests of the people and wear ur heart on ur sleeve ... Country before everything else... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 hehe with actresses, it is part of their job to wallow and wayang. but with pap politicians, they have to take the wayang role to higher level. Got difference. Actresses got to swallow, literally. MIW Politicians makes it difficult for people to swallow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 I feel her comments is fair and just. And her consideration that after joining politics, her family standard of living should not suffer is also logical and reasonable. Will you take on a new job that will cause your family standard of living to drop? Not likely tio bor? Please don't flame me, I think those who are invited to the tea party are usually already doing quite well in their chosen profession. They already gave up their private life as well as that of their families once they decided to stand for election. I don't think you can put a price to privacy. Seriously, if I am invited to tea party, I will turn it down flat... No ifs no buts. Privacy is priceless. I enjoy being a nobody wearing singlet & slipper to my favourite bak chor mee stall on weekends and jogging around parks in all corners without having to wave and smile at every single soul that runs besides me. If you are a politician, you can you can do that? Wave and smile can be tough especially when you try to push the old bones to the finishing line. Puff & puff still must said hello..... Got to appreciate that she speaks her mind out. Having said that, it is not just a job if anyone would to talk about it. When the pay is high, its definitely not a considering factor.....but when the pay is not as high (but still high), the truth of willing to serve would surface, something that I think a nation needs. Having losing of privacy being a public figure, is just part of the package, some might enjoy it and some might take it a sacrifice, to each his best. I suppose we need the right leader who do not place monetary rewards as priority, else our nation would be run like an cooperation, and citizen may then be "retrenched" or ask to "retire".... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...