1fast1 Supersonic January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 (edited) for example, Tharman Shanmugaratnam is really quality one leh... he is chairing the IMF Asian committee of something like that... if like what some of you all hard cores had mentioned, 35k/mth... please lah, even surgeons earn more than that... Not all surgeons (not all of those in gahmen practice, anyway), but OK, even conceding your argument, *so what*?! Successful rock stars earn far more than pretty much any doctor, but that doesn't mean their job is more meaningful, or "deserving" from the perspective of social justice, now, does it? The market should determine the pay packet for any individual. These are gahmen jobs. There is a strong service element, and almost ironclad job security (unique to Sg politics, unlike true democracies where elected officials can easily lose their Office at the next GE) and an absolutely unique pension scheme (which is NOT accorded to Civil Servants, even). In addition to all these, MiniStars have numerous intangible perks and serious authority on many matters. And even if they leave Service, they're highly sought-after for many other positions. Aren't all these considerations enough to compensate for a reduction of pay to a reasonable level? So I stand by my original figure. Those who still want to serve, will serve. Those who're after money (and have no business being in *SERVICE* anyway) will find greener pastures. Edited January 4, 2012 by Turboflat4 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Wa...I got chance to earn more than speaker of parliament.......steady Good for you.... but how many scan do you need to see? He just sit there dig nose and money come.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Not all surgeons (not all of those in gahmen practice, anyway), but OK, even conceding your argument, *so what*?! Successful rock stars earn far more than pretty much any doctor, but that doesn't mean their job is more meaningful, or "deserving" from the perspective of social justice, now, does it? The market should determine the pay packet for any individual. These are gahmen jobs. There is a strong service element, and almost ironclad job security (unique to Sg politics, unlike true democracies where elected officials can easily lose their Office at the next GE) and an absolutely unique pension scheme (which is NOT accorded to Civil Servants, even). In addition to all these, MiniStars have numerous intangible perks and serious authority on many matters. And even if they leave Service, they're highly sought-after for many other positions. Aren't all these considerations enough to compensate for a reduction of pay to a reasonable level? Best reply at the end of the post!!! This is Govt job... meaning u serve the citizens of Singapore because u aspire to do so... not because of the pay... nobody ask to pay the MIW peanuts... but at a reasonable pay to make sure they can still live a comfortable life. In a way, i would think the fairer way would be to cut all pay to be median of all politicians and keep the pensions... the pensions will help ensure they live their old age comfortably... by paying them crazy money now... it will just ensure their future Generations will never have to sweat their whole life through... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Best reply at the end of the post!!! This is Govt job... meaning u serve the citizens of Singapore because u aspire to do so... not because of the pay... nobody ask to pay the MIW peanuts... but at a reasonable pay to make sure they can still live a comfortable life. In a way, i would think the fairer way would be to cut all pay to be median of all politicians and keep the pensions... the pensions will help ensure they live their old age comfortably... by paying them crazy money now... it will just ensure their future Generations will never have to sweat their whole life through... only politicans get pension? what about normal civil servants? teachers, govt doctors, etc. no pension? its either pension for all or pension for none. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falcon1668 Neutral Newbie January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 ya lah, i giving example... Say typical 10k, now left with 6.4k... you happy or not.. piangz.. all complainers... i saluate u all.. then what are you doing now? aren't you complaining too? double pengz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 only politicans get pension? what about normal civil servants? teachers, govt doctors, etc. no pension? its either pension for all or pension for none. Normal civil servants and others already have their own schemes leh... we are now on the MIW... dun OT pls... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Normal civil servants and others already have their own schemes leh... we are now on the MIW... dun OT pls... ya. i talking about pension. if u want give MIW pensions, pls give the normal civil servants pensions also. not other schemes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Next target is CEO of SMRT & the Board of Directors ............ Cut their salaries & bonus to pay back to the commuters .......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 ya. i talking about pension. if u want give MIW pensions, pls give the normal civil servants pensions also. not other schemes. The reccomendations are only for MIW... nothing changes for the other Govt jobs la bro... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Next target is CEO of SMRT & the Board of Directors ............ Cut their salaries & bonus to pay back to the commuters .......... like this, macchiam will cascade down to civil servants at the farmers level... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 (edited) The reccomendations are only for MIW... nothing changes for the other Govt jobs la bro... let me put it simply. normal civil servants NEVER had pensions. only had their own schemes pensions for MIW was only removed today. u suggest keeping MIW pensions. so why not bring back pensions for civil servants as well and remove their other schemes? that way, both sides win. MIW keep pensions Civil servants get back pensions Edited January 4, 2012 by Mllcg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 let me put it simply. normal civil servants NEVER had pensions. only had their own schemes pensions for MIW was only removed today. u suggest keeping MIW pensions. so why not bring back pensions for civil servants as well and remove their other schemes? They had pensions in the past when they retired from service...(eg.Army officers) eh hello, the topic is on MIW and i dun understand which part of u dun get it and need to keep invloving all others. Ur two statements contradicts though... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 tony tan must be feeling saboed......he could have earn much more elsewhere and only ran for presidency at the request/behest of you-know-how. and now his salary cut so much again......double whammy so much to bring to funeral? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 They had pensions in the past when they retired from service...(eg.Army officers) eh hello, the topic is on MIW and i dun understand which part of u dun get it and need to keep invloving all others. Ur two statements contradicts though... if i become a teacher now, do i get pension? NO. and your suggestions is to keep pensions for MIW. so if u keep pension for them, then if i apply for a teacher now, i expect a pension when i retire. coz MIW gets it, so must civil servants. but now MIW removed pension, im not complaining. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 The reccomendations are only for MIW... nothing changes for the other Govt jobs la bro... Lightning strikes everywhere and anywhere ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 so Tin Pei Ling earn how much now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JackRabbit 3rd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Lightning strikes everywhere and anywhere ..... especially in Singapore, lightning capital of the world! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Author Share January 4, 2012 Oh please...typical MCFers salary is more than 6k $6001 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...