Actan72 5th Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 IF REALLY THERE IS A CUT. DIGNITY WILL BE COMPROMISED WHEN MEETING LEADERS FROM COMPANY WHO IS HOLDING HIGHER PAY ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 for example, Tharman Shanmugaratnam is really quality one leh... he is chairing the IMF Asian committee of something like that... if like what some of you all hard cores had mentioned, 35k/mth... please lah, even surgeons earn more than that... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Author Share January 4, 2012 The last time PM's salary was increased by 30 % and now cut by 28 %....WHAT RUBBISH ! Actually u look like tat nt right leh... if PM initially earn $1m then increase 30% = $1.3m....so nw propose cut 36% or based on what u say 28%...$936K...like that he lagi more lugi... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 I voted "no" because I had previously envisaged that the PM (top job in Cabinet) should be earning no more than $35k/month all-in (bonuses, etc. all included). With the Ministers also being paid proportionately less. If that sort of *really drastic* reduction had been on the cards, then I would've been happy with it. As it stands, this is way too little, too late. These are *government* jobs, after all. But I fear this "drastic" pay reduction presages something ominous for the rest of us. The new year is likely to bring pay cuts for all the salaried folk here. think about it this way, say you are taking home 6k monthly after a salary review, your salary is now adjusted to 1k per month, same scale as people in india and china, afterall we live in a global economy and you should be paid a global wage how would you feel? lets not ask for too much, every $1 we cut from them is $1 that goes back into our national budget which effectively translates to $2 savings actually Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Author Share January 4, 2012 IF REALLY THERE IS A CUT. DIGNITY WILL BE COMPROMISED WHEN MEETING LEADERS FROM COMPANY WHO IS HOLDING HIGHER PAY Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 funny....the SG gahment thinks that if they are not paid well, there are high chances that they will corrupt? that is why they pay themselves high salaries??? i tot they joined parties to form gahment, to service the country out of their patriotism for the country, the love of the land ... tiu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 say for MCFers, your typical monthly salary is 6k... have a 36% pay cut, that means $3840 left... you not heart pain? i would say by accepting this and doing away with pensions is a very good move.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Hong kan liao lah~ If the ministars have already taken an average of 30% paycut for their salaries, we common folks and peasants had better be prepared to stomach at least a 30% pay cut for this gloomy 2012. Now, this is what the MIW meant by "Leading By Example" ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 think about it this way, say you are taking home 6k monthly after a salary review, your salary is now adjusted to 1k per month, same scale as people in india and china, afterall we live in a global economy and you should be paid a global wage how would you feel? lets not ask for too much, every $1 we cut from them is $1 that goes back into our national budget which effectively translates to $2 savings actually fully agreed!!! say you earn $6k, suddenly kena retrenchment... you were then remployed with 36% reduction from last pay... effective salary becomes $3.9k... not heart pain meh? MCFers really one kind... cut also say wayang, dun cut also kpkb... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Author Share January 4, 2012 think about it this way, say you are taking home 6k monthly after a salary review, your salary is now adjusted to 1k per month, same scale as people in india and china, afterall we live in a global economy and you should be paid a global wage how would you feel? lets not ask for too much, every $1 we cut from them is $1 that goes back into our national budget which effectively translates to $2 savings actually cut 1K hw to survive huh??? but if I earn 20K u cut 1k..I tell u cut lah...no sweat... Agree w u lah..got cut better than no cut...got cut or not cut..sure got ppl say nt enuff... like tat then got topic to talk mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 this pay cut is ok. one step forward. next question is when will we reach the pay of the US president? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 the new president pay cut by half, must be [furious] can ask the prata man cough out his pay for past 12 years? tony tan must be feeling saboed......he could have earn much more elsewhere and only ran for presidency at the request/behest of you-know-how. and now his salary cut so much again......double whammy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JackRabbit 3rd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 this pay cut is ok. one step forward. next question is when will we reach the pay of the US president? when we also have nuclear weapons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 If my boss cut my salary by 30%, I will do less 30% work. Yes, I'm calculative person. I know my gov will still serve with pride and passion after the cut. They will do well to bring us out of the gloomy economy in 2012. Lets see how. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 this pay cut is ok. one step forward. next question is when will we reach the pay of the US president? wait long long lah... for example, Dr Ng is a consultant surgeon in private practice in the past... Surgeons earn even more than US president lah... u so clever, why not u be minister? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 If my boss cut my salary by 30%, I will do less 30% work. Yes, I'm calculative person. I know my gov will still serve with pride and passion after the cut. They will do well to bring us out of the gloomy economy in 2012. Lets see how. You do less work, you get shown the door lah.. Not happy, you can quit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 tony tan must be feeling saboed......he could have earn much more elsewhere and only ran for presidency at the request/behest of you-know-how. and now his salary cut so much again......double whammy Now his confidence for the future has been reduced significantly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 when we also have nuclear weapons. good answer! Singapore so small, so land and human scare... want to compare with America... duhz... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...