Tom_kkh 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 (edited) My colleague just told me he got a $20 fine for driving at 65km/h at a 60km/h road. so it debunked the hearsay that cars speeding within 10km/h of the max road speed wont get fine........ no demerit points deducted... Edited January 4, 2012 by Tom_kkh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Pls post the fine ticket to convince everyone here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Tolerance speed limit is only practiced on expressways. Was your friend caught by speed cams? Personal experience, I have received 3x warning letters for exceeding the speed limit, but because it was within the 10km/h tolerance, I was given those warnings. All 3 times were mobile speed cams on roads not exceeding 70km/h, 80km/h, not expressways. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 My colleague just told me he got a $20 fine for driving at 65km/h at a 60km/h road. so it debunked the hearsay that cars speeding within 10km/h of the max road speed wont get fine........ no demerit points deducted... maybe he was driving at 65kmh.......in gostan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 maybe he was driving at 65kmh.......in gostan. S$20 for reckless driving and no points deduction. worth it leh! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 maybe the 10km-15km only apply to express way, or is he a repeat offender? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Author Share January 4, 2012 (edited) caught by speed cam on a normal road not expressway. sorry its $70 not $20 got speed warning letter for 2 times, third time kana. all previous 2 also within 10km/h of max road speed.. no need convincing la. don believe ones can carry lo. lol........ Edited January 4, 2012 by Tom_kkh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 My colleague just told me he got a $20 fine for driving at 65km/h at a 60km/h road. so it debunked the hearsay that cars speeding within 10km/h of the max road speed wont get fine........ no demerit points deducted... See heng suay one la.. the +10kph of the speed limit is due to differences in speedometer calibration settings from car manufacturers. Who knows, maybe your colleague's speedometer is zhun zhun already and he still speed, then bo pian if kena zap Anyway, NPNT. I've never heard of $20 speeding fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 The myth came about because the car speedo always report higher speed. Meaning if speedo shows 70km/hr,the actual car speed(from GPS or speedcam) will actually be 63km/hr. That is the 10% margin that was built into speedo readings. So most cases when drivers say they speed at 100km/hr (speedo resdings) pass the speed cam, and never get fined, its simply because they're actual speed is 90km/hr. that is within the speed limit, of course they will not receive any summon letter. In TS case,I am pretty sure the car speedo was showing 70-80km/hr, when he was 'caught' by the mobile speed cam. So in essence that friend was speeding and got caught. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 $20 sounded like parking with not enuff coupon.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 caught by speed cam on a normal road not expressway. sorry its $70 not $20 got speed warning letter for 2 times, third time kana. all previous 2 also within 10km/h of max road speed.. no need convincing la. don believe ones can carry lo. lol........ Guys, TS clarified as above. It's because the driver struck out after 3 times warning. Again, 10km/h tolerance for expressways only. Minor roads with speedcams (e.g. Holland Road - most famous liao) regulating speeds 70km/h and below do not practise the 10km/h tolerance. My friend drove at 61km/h at Lakeside, also kena stationary speedcam. And the speed limit was 60km/h! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nf0rc3r 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 The myth came about because the car speedo always report higher speed. Meaning if speedo shows 70km/hr,the actual car speed(from GPS or speedcam) will actually be 63km/hr. That is the 10% margin that was built into speedo readings. So most cases when drivers say they speed at 100km/hr (speedo resdings) pass the speed cam, and never get fined, its simply because they're actual speed is 90km/hr. that is within the speed limit, of course they will not receive any summon letter. In TS case,I am pretty sure the car speedo was showing 70-80km/hr, when he was 'caught' by the mobile speed cam. So in essence that friend was speeding and got caught. Actually its the other way round. The letters u rcv do STATE THE SPEED. and its mostly warnings for <10kmh exceeding. This is because TP have to take into inaccuracy FROM your speedo so that you cant say speedo not accurate and appeal. Not the other way round. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Author Share January 4, 2012 Guys, TS clarified as above. It's because the driver struck out after 3 times warning. Again, 10km/h tolerance for expressways only. Minor roads with speedcams (e.g. Holland Road - most famous liao) regulating speeds 70km/h and below do not practise the 10km/h tolerance. My friend drove at 61km/h at Lakeside, also kena stationary speedcam. And the speed limit was 60km/h! years back my papa kana fine for traveling 5km/h faster than the speed limit on Nicol highway... he also say can fine one mei, thought gib chance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 My colleague just told me he got a $20 fine for driving at 65km/h at a 60km/h road. so it debunked the hearsay that cars speeding within 10km/h of the max road speed wont get fine........ no demerit points deducted... i just kanna a $130 fine with 3 demerit points for speeding within the 1-10 km/h range. How can your colleague only kenna $20? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Author Share January 4, 2012 i just kanna a $130 fine with 3 demerit points for speeding within the 1-10 km/h range. How can your colleague only kenna $20? hehehe, i stated above was a mistake, its $70 not $20. pardon me la, as Indian English very difficult to understand..... but he insisted that no demerit points. not sure why..... he already converted his license.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 hehehe, i stated above was a mistake, its $70 not $20. pardon me la, as Indian English very difficult to understand..... but he insisted that no demerit points. not sure why..... he already converted his license.... :angry: best thing was the letter from TP didn't even indicate the speed I was driving. Just said I was caught for speeding and my infringement was the 1-10km/h range. Sigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Actually its the other way round. The letters u rcv do STATE THE SPEED. and its mostly warnings for <10kmh exceeding. This is because TP have to take into inaccuracy FROM your speedo so that you cant say speedo not accurate and appeal. Not the other way round. i remember some time ago a whole batch of speed guns were not calibrated due to some corrupted guy took the money but didn't do it? if u can prove it is from that gun... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patricklyb Clutched January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 My colleague just told me he got a $20 fine for driving at 65km/h at a 60km/h road. so it debunked the hearsay that cars speeding within 10km/h of the max road speed wont get fine........ no demerit points deducted... it will be a surprise that TP charges only $20 for sppeding! i got warning letter for driving at 85km on a 70km@kpe ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...