ST Forum: New Flat: Problems, Problems, Problems

Vulcann

Do you accept this response from HDB?

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_754520.html

New flat's problems

'These were localised incidents.'

MR NEO POH KOK, deputy director (building construction), Housing and Development Board: 'We thank Madam Shameem Basheer for her feedback ('New flat: Problems, problems, problems'; Jan 4). We are sorry to read about the inconveniences she reported experiencing. These were localised incidents, and HDB had responded immediately to her feedback. As part of the chrome coating of the shower sliding bar had worn off, we have since replaced it with a new one. The ceiling-mounted clothes drying rack was checked and found to be securely anchored and there is no danger of collapse. It became lopsided as the release mechanism had malfunctioned. We have replaced the rack in her flat. We have also rectified the water seepage in the living room, which was due to a hairline crack. Such hairline cracks are isolated cases.'

hmmmmm................ maybe, Mr Neo needs to be isolated also.

A crack is a crack and that is structural fault during construction. which owner would want to use a hammer to cause a crack line .... :blink:

If it happens in this unit, chances are at least other units at the same level will have the same problem as well, just that the defects have not surfaced or their owners have not noticed yet.

Bros Cerano or Goodcarbuyer would know since they are in this line... [lipsrsealed] [lipsrsealed]

hmmm......

A crack is a crack.... since when has a crack became a s structural fault?

hmmm......

A crack is a crack.... since when has a crack became a s structural fault?

The appearance of cracks is not a sure sign that the structural integrity of the column/corewall/beams/slab is compromised.

Many cracks are superficial in nature which happens on the external plastering coat, along the joints of brickwalls and lintols/stiffeners/corewalls/columns or between precast members like light-weight partition walls.

Pre-stressing/post-tensioning members like beam/slab may also exhibit some cracks but this is quite common and accounted for in design. Some grouting materials may need to be used to fill up the cracks if they are wide.

If it is a through crack on a structural member, however, then further investigations need to be conducted because this is usually a serioius concern. Normally it is a sign the structural integrity has been compromised and occupants may even be evacuated if BCA or the inspecting PE deem necessary.

Edited by Vulcann

[sly] Isolated????? [sly]

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1168146/1/.html

New Havelock flats encounter water seepage problems

By Ng Puay Leng | Posted: 28 November 2011 2126 hrs

SINGAPORE: Residents who have just moved into the five newly-completed blocks of flats at Havelock Road received a rude shock upon collecting their keys.

Since September, they have been putting up with water seepage problems that have stained the walls and floors of their units.

HDB said it received 44 complaints and rectification works have already been completed.

The only work that's still ongoing is the painting of the external wall which will be completed by mid-December.

Residents said they were satisfied with HDB's swift action to rectify the problem but remain concerned should the problem persist.

Residents interviewed had mixed views. One said: "I wonder when the contractor did this project, wasn't there any quality control? How could this happen?"

While another said: "I don't feel unlucky. As long as they rectify the problem I'm happy."

- CNA/ck

Question: Is 44 isolated? [sly]

Edited by Mustank

Question: Is 44 isolated? [sly]

the units that kena din form a vertical, horizontal or even diagonal line,

therefore they r "isolated".

all u r maths failz! [laugh]

Imagine spending almost 270k for a 3-room unit, excluding reno and furniture & stuff, you kena a lemon flat...

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_751520.html

New flat: Problems, problems, problems

Published on Jan 4, 2012

THREE months after I moved into my new HDB flat along Bendemeer Road, the supposedly stainless steel fixtures in my bathroom turned rusty.

Their replacements by the HDB also turned rusty and I did not pursue the matter again because I was in the thick of my pregnancy.

Four months later, one side of the indoor clothes rack collapsed as I was lowering it but thankfully, no one was hurt. That too was replaced.

Last month, or some 14 months after we moved in, the ceiling of my living room started leaking because of a crack.

Once again, the HDB contractors had to repair the damage. The repairs were major enough to require me to leave my flat with my baby for a few hours.

How can a brand new flat have such problems within such a short period, especially when it was not a cheap three-roomer at $268,000.

How does the HDB ensure the quality of the flats and fixtures? With the current volume of build-to-order (BTO) projects, I hope the HDB is not rushing to complete flats at the expense of its dwellers.

Shameem Basheer (Madam)

I hope this is not the result of lowest bid get the project. Our system needs to wake up and mature abit. Squeezing the contractor and expect quality product? Everytime want cheap and good.

Must wait till something major happen like an entire wall fall off then gahmen will form a COI to investigate this matter. Then HDB CEO will resign.

See the remarks made by HDB CEO which shows she could be another Saw in the making:

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC11...f-life--HDB-CEO

Must wait till something major happen like an entire wall fall off then gahmen will form a COI to investigate this matter. Then HDB CEO will resign.

See the remarks made by HDB CEO which shows she could be another Saw in the making:

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC11...f-life--HDB-CEO

Actually something did happen but the general public was not alarmed because it was played down...

One example was the bursting of some 1st sty columns at one block reported in the papers a year or two back but I could not remember if there was evacuation of the residents. They did some fibre-wrapping of these affected columns as reparation works.

Folks who are C&S engineers or main contractors will know that if the structural integrity of the heavily loaded 1st sty columns is compromised, it is a very, very serious matter... [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

Edited by Vulcann

Actually something did happen but the general public was not alarmed because it was played down...

One example was the bursting of some 1st sty columns at one block reported in the papers a year or two back but I could not rememeber if there was evacuation of the residents. They did some fibre-wrapping of these affected columns as reparation works.

Folks who are C&S engineers or main contractors will know that if the structural integrity of the heavily loaded 1st sty columns is compromised, it is a very, very serious matter... [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

Use cable ties?