TameDriver Twincharged May 19, 2014 Share May 19, 2014 0w or 5w does not matter for your long trips. It's the w40 that matters, bcuz that is the viscocity of that oil at operating temp, about 100 deg C. Thks for the info. I really noob when it comes to this. Only rely on the recommendation of the service pple. Been using this spec all along. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged May 19, 2014 Share May 19, 2014 Hahaha....yes I needed those bottles. There was once I brought the whole 4L bottle leftover from servicing for a long trip up north, thinking that there's 1L left inside (as informed by the service adviser). Turned out it wasn't sufficient. Now only trust the 1L size. Anyway, it'll cause damage to the engine if overfill. As for why 5W and not 0W, service adviser recommended according to my driving history of long trips To MY & Thailand. Continuous long distance drives gives higher temp, which is why he recommends 5W. 0W is too thin and it finishes faster too. Too chim explanation for me, so just follow lor. :) hmmm why trust the bottle capacity rather than dipstick reading? no dipstick? hmm the 1st number (5 vs 0 is for cold temperature viscosity) if sustained running at high temp, perhaps u can try a 50 oil such as mobil 15w50. This will lower oil consumption... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged May 19, 2014 Share May 19, 2014 (edited) hmmm why trust the bottle capacity rather than dipstick reading? no dipstick? hmm the 1st number (5 vs 0 is for cold temperature viscosity) if sustained running at high temp, perhaps u can try a 50 oil such as mobil 15w50. This will lower oil consumption... Re dipstick- brought back a laughable occasion. My driving mates didn't believe my explanation that OBC (on board computer ) prompted the 'top up engine oil' sign. They tried to look for the dipstick but couldn't find it! Started to diss my car. Ignoramus lot! Lol. I proceeded to pour EO and they still thought I was doing it the wrong way, checked on me frequently to make sure the car was functioning alright. Edited May 19, 2014 by TameDriver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic May 19, 2014 Share May 19, 2014 Hahaha....yes I needed those bottles. There was once I brought the whole 4L bottle leftover from servicing for a long trip up north, thinking that there's 1L left inside (as informed by the service adviser). Turned out it wasn't sufficient. Now only trust the 1L size. Anyway, it'll cause damage to the engine if overfill. As for why 5W and not 0W, service adviser recommended according to my driving history of long trips To MY & Thailand. Continuous long distance drives gives higher temp, which is why he recommends 5W. 0W is too thin and it finishes faster too. Too chim explanation for me, so just follow lor. :) The number before the W is for countries with winter or cold weather. Doesn't matter for us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glyuen 3rd Gear May 19, 2014 Share May 19, 2014 that's what many workshops tell me... oh your car mileage cannot use 5w40. too thin, need 10w40 oil. seems like mechanics don't study about engine oil and their ratings? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged May 19, 2014 Share May 19, 2014 that's what many workshops tell me... oh your car mileage cannot use 5w40. too thin, need 10w40 oil. seems like mechanics don't study about engine oil and their ratings? sometimes their advice is limited to what they carry in stock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic May 19, 2014 Share May 19, 2014 that's what many workshops tell me... oh your car mileage cannot use 5w40. too thin, need 10w40 oil. seems like mechanics don't study about engine oil and their ratings? Maybe to cheat you and get you to buy more rare/expensive oil from them. 5W won't be common here because there's no winter. The numbers 0, 5, 10, 15 and 25 are suffixed with the letter W, designating they are "winter" (not "weight") or cold-start viscosity, at lower temperature. The number 20 comes with or without a W, depending on whether it is being used to denote a cold or hot viscosity grade. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motor_oil Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glyuen 3rd Gear May 19, 2014 Share May 19, 2014 actually fully synthetic 10w-40 and 15w-40 are less common and more exp in sgp. that's why ws tend to like to upsell Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 19, 2014 Share May 19, 2014 seriously for 1L is not cheap at all.... Sshhhhhhhh.............She happy just let it b lah. Dun burst her bubble. Hahahaha. SGD22 for 1 L? vs SGD59 for the 4L bottle fm NTUC... a bit weird. (but still cheaper than wkshop price haha) unless u r planning to keep the 1L bottle in the car for top up during long road trips? I used to carry EO in my previous car cos it needed top up occasionally but I just carried a previously-used 4L bottle. If carrying EO back from Msia... not sure if such product is dutiable? I got questioned once but he waved me on when I told him it's opened bottle of EO. Not sure if it was because he initially suspected it was petrol inside lol Ive had empty n some with abt 1 lit of EO inside n never once did SG or MY customs ever check n ask me to pay duty. I even filled 2X5 lit EO bottles with MY petrol n brought back without issue but The whole car smelled of petrol for weeks so I wun b doing that again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 19, 2014 Share May 19, 2014 0w or 5w does not matter for your long trips. It's the w40 that matters, bcuz that is the viscocity of that oil at operating temp, about 100 deg C. Ya I wonder whay many pple here r concerned about the W number cos thats only for winter/cold starts near freezing which we never have in sunny Spore. I think the lowest we go here is abt 25Deg C. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 19, 2014 Share May 19, 2014 that's what many workshops tell me... oh your car mileage cannot use 5w40. too thin, need 10w40 oil. seems like mechanics don't study about engine oil and their ratings? Many wil b surprised how ignorant many mechanics really are. And the worst is they wil tell all sorts of rubbish to bluff their customers. Like they say "Its the blind leading the blind ". And then these customers wil spread these rubbish till many believe its the truth . Hahahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 Sshhhhhhhh.............She happy just let it b lah. Dun burst her bubble. Hahahaha. You so mean, laughing at my expense. One day your big mouth will freeze like the Joker from 'Batman'! Didn't mean to mislead others, but for me, I still feel that I got a better price than in SG because have never seen the 1L on offer here before. Different perception for different pocket depth it seems. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 that's what many workshops tell me... oh your car mileage cannot use 5w40. too thin, need 10w40 oil. seems like mechanics don't study about engine oil and their ratings? Mechanics are usually not taught about oil grades. They learn by themselves from hearsay or from seniors who also learn from hearsay. The boss is the one ordering the oil and they have to use what the boss ordered. And what the boss is ordering mostly depends on the price, the lower the better. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...