Apple-Tree 6th Gear April 7, 2020 Share April 7, 2020 On 2/18/2020 at 12:43 PM, Carer said: I was unable to jumpstart my fathers car last week even though my car's battery is new. The tow truck came and and we paid $30 for the jumpstart. My fren say i kena chopped and introduced an app i think its called instacrank. Is this safe? anyone familiar and tried? http://instacrank.com/ Expand Everytime I help people jumpstart, always start one. EXCEPT 1 case. The car gear is D or N, not park. The car will not crank lor. RPM until wire hot hot. Actually, not need to rpm one, just start engine running idle. After shift to P, crank up lor.... Best way is to buy a cheap voltmeter. If immediate after crank is < 11V, then battery dying. Or before cold crank <12V also. https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32898504515.html?spm=a2g0o.productlist.0.0.2045178dfIPEiW&algo_pvid=22c20fd4-22a4-4b13-90c8-6b62466e79d9&algo_expid=22c20fd4-22a4-4b13-90c8-6b62466e79d9-43&btsid=0ab6d69f15862364646115015e5cc3&ws_ab_test=searchweb0_0,searchweb201602_,searchweb201603_ ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soundphile 2nd Gear April 7, 2020 Share April 7, 2020 On 4/7/2020 at 2:50 AM, Volvobrick said: Yeah labour, fuel to get to the car park, tow truck depreciation, expenses... Etc. If not willing to let other make a living, then better buy one of those lithium battery jump starter with high ampere ratings. Expand I bought a jump starter battery pack too, good to have one of those! But mine has since been a white elephant sleeping in my boot, after using it once to help my neighbour start his Forester. Every 3-4 mths I will bring it up to my office to charge it to full. Now I am wondering if it still holds charge.😅 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic April 7, 2020 Share April 7, 2020 On 4/7/2020 at 5:53 AM, Soundphile said: I bought a jump starter battery pack too, good to have one of those! But mine has since been a white elephant sleeping in my boot, after using it once to help my neighbour start his Forester. Every 3-4 mths I will bring it up to my office to charge it to full. Now I am wondering if it still holds charge.😅 Expand i saw a hummer starter pack with power bank. like iphone + size. got the fool prove connector, mean how u connect also wont be wrong. ( but i dun understand the theory ) 100+sgd i didnt buy, my cable serve me well all these years lol 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 7, 2020 Share April 7, 2020 I have both inside my car. The cables is those really thick type but the rubber insulation has disintegrated. I taped it up for safety. Don't waste money on those $30+ dollar cable. They won't last after once or twice after used. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soundphile 2nd Gear April 7, 2020 Share April 7, 2020 On 4/7/2020 at 6:10 AM, Beregond said: i saw a hummer starter pack with power bank. like iphone + size. got the fool prove connector, mean how u connect also wont be wrong. ( but i dun understand the theory ) 100+sgd i didnt buy, my cable serve me well all these years lol Expand i agree. 100+ sgd is very expensive for an item that will probably be used once every 1.5 years. I bought mine at $89 and I already feel it is expensive. haven't used it for my own car yet, not even achieve ROI! i just installed the app Instacrank and realised that you can actually earn $5 each time you help others jumpstart. Maybe it's time for me to take out the jump starter from the bottom of my car boot. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carer 2nd Gear April 10, 2020 Share April 10, 2020 On 4/7/2020 at 3:12 PM, Soundphile said: i agree. 100+ sgd is very expensive for an item that will probably be used once every 1.5 years. I bought mine at $89 and I already feel it is expensive. haven't used it for my own car yet, not even achieve ROI! i just installed the app Instacrank and realised that you can actually earn $5 each time you help others jumpstart. Maybe it's time for me to take out the jump starter from the bottom of my car boot. lol Expand u mean each time u help to jumpstart for others u earn $5? meaning the driver has to pay you $5? how does instacrank earn money? sounds like a non profit work lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carer 2nd Gear April 10, 2020 Share April 10, 2020 On 4/7/2020 at 5:15 AM, Apple-Tree said: Everytime I help people jumpstart, always start one. EXCEPT 1 case. The car gear is D or N, not park. The car will not crank lor. RPM until wire hot hot. Actually, not need to rpm one, just start engine running idle. After shift to P, crank up lor.... Best way is to buy a cheap voltmeter. If immediate after crank is < 11V, then battery dying. Or before cold crank <12V also. https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32898504515.html?spm=a2g0o.productlist.0.0.2045178dfIPEiW&algo_pvid=22c20fd4-22a4-4b13-90c8-6b62466e79d9&algo_expid=22c20fd4-22a4-4b13-90c8-6b62466e79d9-43&btsid=0ab6d69f15862364646115015e5cc3&ws_ab_test=searchweb0_0,searchweb201602_,searchweb201603_ Expand this is really good input. could be his gear not in Parking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic April 10, 2020 Share April 10, 2020 Just received this. USD70 from Aliexpress. Hope I don't have to use on my own car. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear April 10, 2020 Share April 10, 2020 always good to have one stand by in car. if you car dont need can also help others if really in need. remember to charge it every 2 to 3 months once. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 10, 2020 Share April 10, 2020 It also act as a oversize power bank for oversea trips 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soundphile 2nd Gear April 10, 2020 Share April 10, 2020 On 4/10/2020 at 8:20 AM, Hamburger said: It also act as a oversize power bank for oversea trips Expand Now that you mention, I realised good to bring the jumpstarter overseas when renting car. Just in case couldn't start the car and stranded somewhere unfamiliar. Although rental company usually provides recovery, i doubt they will reach you within an hour (eg. great ocean road). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soundphile 2nd Gear April 10, 2020 Share April 10, 2020 On 4/10/2020 at 6:28 AM, Carer said: u mean each time u help to jumpstart for others u earn $5? meaning the driver has to pay you $5? how does instacrank earn money? sounds like a non profit work lol Expand yes, it seems like that is how the app works. you can download to try. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic April 10, 2020 Share April 10, 2020 On 4/10/2020 at 8:20 AM, Hamburger said: It also act as a oversize power bank for oversea trips Expand The capacity is too big to bring on board planes. Max 14000 mAH I think for the 5v power banks. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 10, 2020 Share April 10, 2020 On 4/10/2020 at 11:30 AM, Volvobrick said: The capacity is too big to bring on board planes. Max 14000 mAH I think for the 5v power banks. Expand Yes that was my concern too. Check in luggage also got issue I think? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic April 10, 2020 Share April 10, 2020 On 4/10/2020 at 2:54 PM, Hamburger said: Yes that was my concern too. Check in luggage also got issue I think? Expand Powerbank, spare lithium batteries cannot be checked in. They are afraid it would explode or catch fire! And make sure the Powerbank capacity is clearly visible to avoid being forced to throw away at the security (at least in some China airports). 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carer 2nd Gear April 11, 2020 Share April 11, 2020 On 4/10/2020 at 8:20 AM, Hamburger said: It also act as a oversize power bank for oversea trips Expand cannot go thru security. it will be confiscated. at least for my case. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carer 2nd Gear April 11, 2020 Share April 11, 2020 On 4/10/2020 at 11:11 AM, Soundphile said: yes, it seems like that is how the app works. you can download to try. Expand downloaded already. planning to refer someone to earn $5 instead of topping up myself lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 11, 2020 Share April 11, 2020 On 4/11/2020 at 9:40 AM, Carer said: cannot go thru security. it will be confiscated. at least for my case. Expand Guess it would be good for trip up north. Soon....soon.... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...