Career Advise ! :excl:

Cavver

Eh bros.. Trying to get some opinion... Do you all think its better to get a well paying job with good increment or a lower starting pay job with super slow increment but u get to learn alot more..

Am think of joining ST .. But heard stories of super slow increment of 3-4% per year.. Starting pay not that great too ( as compared to public sector)

Really? And I thought office work was tougher and longer, unpredictable hours, esp for degree holders and up... In office jobs, you got to deal with the higher management, no overtime (for exec level and higher), and worry about your job all the time even during weekends.

If working technical/hands-on, e.g. in the yard (? - no experience of shipyard, but have experienced manufacturing and tech service provider...), best to go for shift-hour jobs. For young, single people, shouldn't be a problem. Got shift allowance and overtime pay, and mandated working hours and rest days. Any problem occurring during your off-hours, another shift is there to handle.

Advantage of shift-hour jobs is that no need to worry about work during off-hours. Of course, the drawbacks are obvious, but to some people are ok with it.

I worked in technical/hands-on engineering for many years before making a switch, and found that the worst position to be in is as a graduate-level engineer. Everybody's problems are yours to solve, and last-minute stuff and "fire-fighting" hold you up on most days till long past official working hours. Technicians make mistakes... not their problem once their shift is over... left to the engineer to clean up and get things working again (because management pressure is on the engineer, not the techs). Only saving grace was that the first co had overtime pay, but not the second one!

every day so long hours...... after 2-3 years, superman also burn out liao.... haha

imagine waking up 5am plus everyday including sat.

with such working condition, does the staff there have higher divorce rate? heard last time motorola had many cos the spouse cannot tahan end up divorce (mostly had affair outside lah) [:(]

I was previously from Keppel Main Yard, seven yrs ago. Working 6.5 days a week is the norm.

For young ppl, u want to have family n frens time, avoid the shipyard. For those not worry abt gf or any other thing, welcome to the shipyard. BTW, management level, OT pay is very very little, sometimes none at all.

Working time was 7.30am till 4.30pm officially. Workers OT from 4.30pm to 6,30pm, they receive 1.5 times. But management level, 4.30pm to 6,30pm, no pay at all. Only work till 9.30pm then got 1.5 times OT pay.

Saturday, afternoon, 1pm to 4.30pm only S$20 OT pay, fix rate. Sunday is S$8/hr, but transport claimable on Sunday only cos company bus not working. Mileage claim was 50cents per km.

In 1998, my friend and i graduated from ntu accountacy. it was a very bad year to grad. asian financial crises. we were jobless for 5 months. we couldnt further our studies as we came from poor family. i managed to take on a job in accounting while my firend managed to get a job as a mgt trainee in a MNC. our pay were very very low then [:(] but hey we get by [cool] now it is very very different for my firend. he very the huat now! [sunny]

it was much worse in 1998 then now. if my friend and i can make it, you can make it too! [thumbsup]

What's your defination of make it?

in 2003 when I grad, it was the SARS crisis, I took on contract job at $1500 a month, quit after 2 months, then a permanent job at $1500 a month, then my current company at $2215 a month, at the time my car installment was $700, really cannot survive, but I took on a sales job and earned about $4000 to $5000 comm a month, so I managed to average 8K as a 1 year old grad and saved about 4K a month, due to my outstanding sales, I was fast tracked to management level with higher basic of 4K but no comm....I really died during those years as well as I couldn't manipulate myself though the corporate structure....but ok la....bought a few properties and earned about 40 to 50K each....unfortunately my expenses went up and nowdays can hardly save...sigh

My friend is working in the production workshop of one of Keppel's shipyard. Degree holder from NUS. Everyday work til ealiest 10pm. Weekend also gotta go back. Even the most junior management level need to stay. The general workers work 2 shifts, but the management level only has 1 shift, so boh pian, gotta stay until the night shift has started..

its 5 1/2 day work week for everyone.... you clock in not enuff hours, deduct salary..

office worker sometimes private arrangement for alternate sat. but you still must clock enuff hours.

with such working condition, does the staff there have higher divorce rate? heard last time motorola had many cos the spouse cannot tahan end up divorce (mostly had affair outside lah) [:(]

I dont know. But those contractors there always ask me go Bintan, Batam and Tanjong Pinang with them. [laugh]

For diploma holder actually if can get a job in wafer fab is not bad , OT can earn up to 4-6k /mth , very gd for diploma holder actually. Then save up. For 1st degree u can actually use ur cpf too after a few yr Of work, then see f u wan venture outside engineering

I dont know. But those contractors there always ask me go Bintan, Batam and Tanjong Pinang with them. [laugh]

hmmm....last time also go batam to see our two new barges launching....contractors also gave us a goot time....

Eh bros.. Trying to get some opinion... Do you all think its better to get a well paying job with good increment or a lower starting pay job with super slow increment but u get to learn alot more..

Am think of joining ST .. But heard stories of super slow increment of 3-4% per year.. Starting pay not that great too ( as compared to public sector)

personal opinion... lower starting pay job with super slow increment.... unless i'm above 40, where new jobs are harder to find... else, i think i'm still more open to learning

My friend is working in the production workshop of one of Keppel's shipyard. Degree holder from NUS. Everyday work til ealiest 10pm. Weekend also gotta go back. Even the most junior management level need to stay. The general workers work 2 shifts, but the management level only has 1 shift, so boh pian, gotta stay until the night shift has started..

And these are the sort of things that they should TELL you when still doing undergraduate engineering studies and choosing your career!!! [dead]

For me luckily, I've got out of the engineering rat-race after almost 9 years. Can't say I miss it - but it was a very good "school"!!

personal opinion... lower starting pay job with super slow increment.... unless i'm above 40, where new jobs are harder to find... else, i think i'm still more open to learning

Hmm but bro.. I am just worried tat i might be "stuck" inside.. And what i learn in ST might not be applicable outside as they are very technical and very specific to defence.. And might not have external market...

:excl: Going to ORD soon this year mid , would like to seek advise and tip from follow old birds. TIA !

Questions:

1) Looking at the job web (jobstreet, jobDB etc.) noticed that there are posts from direct employers, and those from agents like recruit express... What is the different ?

Anythings i hav to look out for ?

2) Am graduated with diploma in mechatronics engineering, Is advisable to take up sale engineer or service engineer position ? what is the remuneration ilike ?

When one enters a working world especially as a newbie, it is best to go in without high expectations.

Just go for a job / company you think will enhance your chances of pursuing a career which will enable you to stay and grow. You may or may not find an ideal job/company on your first attempt to begin your career but at least it provides you with the realities of the working world.

For a guide pertaining to remuneration of each job, you can obtain them through your peers, interviews etc., for the market rate. While this is secondary in the beginning, your primary concern would probably be the prospects of such jobs which you may wish to pursue for a career.

Unless you are willing to take up a job regardless its terms and conditions, you must be mentally prepared to be turned down for a job applied after an interview in view of your lack of working experience unless no working experience is required or you have some relevant working experience for the job you apply.

My POV to your questions are as follows:

1) Difference between direct employer and employment agency

a) Direct employers - Existence of vacancy is certain. Chances of obtaining the position is greater.

b) Employment agencies - Existence of the position is not necessarily certain. Some agents may advertise but use it to collate data to enhance their supply of potential employees for their potential customers (employers using their services). Having said that, some employers do not advertise direct but use employment agencies for their recruitment.

Anything to look out for: Do some homework on the potential employer and ask for information such as potential prospects for career advancement etc..

2) Service job or sales job - Like some advised, your chances of becoming more successful as a sales engineer can be better when you had hands on experience as a service engineer.

All the best in your pursuit for a successful career! [wave]

You are so young

Now I think back, last time when I ROD, I also got no slightest clue on what I wan to do, and last time got no internet, no forum, no job portal, no job street, no nothing. I don't even know who I can turn for advice.

Not even so many job agencies as today.

You are lucky that you got everything u need to succeed, everything on fingertips.

Having said this, my advice to you is not to have high expectations on your salary and job environment. Fresh diploma engineering starting pay not more than $2000. And you wont hold the Engineer title hor. Just assistant engineer or something like that

I got a relative also graduate with diploma engineer from ngee ann poly, his starting pay $1500, few years back. He joined marine company.

Don't be choosy coz there are tons of FTs waiting to do your job and they can work for lower pay

Although there are tons of FTs waiting to do our job, but dont think can pay them lower pay lo, since need to follow the min wage require to pay them if you are applying S-pass or above work pass for them. Unlike locals, you can pay them lower but i doubt there are locals wiling to take up the offer la.

While there may be over declared salaries of S-Passes / E-Passes employees, I don't think it is a surprise to find the number of locals workers (graduates or not) being paid lower than than such foreign employees.

There's never a straight forward situation since the variation is vast.

Have a nice day! [wave]

let me tell you a really true fact.

depends on your luck. no luck no matter what you do or try to look for a job or to build a career, no luck means no luck.

so...what to do if no luck? if able to land yourself with any jobs, just take it, then work from there slowly. low pay, nevermind...not your ideal job? nevermind....just get any job first.

if you're a lucky guy all your life, then dun worry.

I agree, it'a all about luck

My colleagues' brother get E pass even when his salary is way below the requirement.

If MOM really do some random check on the workers salary, and found out the employer over declared their salaries, then good luck to them. [rolleyes]

Looks like 2012 is not a good year to find job or switch job. Am thinking should i change job now or stay put until 2013?! [:/]