Cavver 4th Gear January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 Going to ORD soon this year mid , would like to seek advise and tip from follow old birds. TIA ! Questions: 1) Looking at the job web (jobstreet, jobDB etc.) noticed that there are posts from direct employers, and those from agents like recruit express... What is the different ? Anythings i hav to look out for ? 2) Am graduated with diploma in mechatronics engineering, Is advisable to take up sale engineer or service engineer position ? what is the remuneration ilike ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 Going to ORD soon this year mid , would like to seek advise and tip from follow old birds. TIA ! Questions: 1) Looking at the job web (jobstreet, jobDB etc.) noticed that there are posts from direct employers, and those from agents like recruit express... What is the different ? Anythings i hav to look out for ? 2) Am graduated with diploma in mechatronics engineering, Is advisable to take up sale engineer or service engineer position ? what is the remuneration ilike ? 2012 will be a bad year for the employment market. do u have the pre-requisite and financial capability to further ur studies? it will really help. and btw, i used to think that only NUS, NTU, SMU (of the local unis) degrees are recognized. SIM is also recognized, even by MOE. but i belong to the old bird batch, i grad from NUS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 Try not to waste time with recruitment agencies. My recent experiences in job searching............ out of the 15 or so applications I sent out, about 10 of them were from agencies and none even replied. Whereas 5 were directly to the hiring companies which 4 replied. I sometimes wonder if these ads are just for market info collections or for populating their database when in fact there's no current job availability. Some agencies mentioned to call... and when I did so, I was not able to get much info anyway. (Then I wonder why even bother to ask applicants to call for discussions) Not that going thru' agencies/agents don't work ( I know a few friends/colleagues who are happy with their services..... but if you ask me personally......... you think your interests come first or theirs??? ) My 2 cents Anyway, good luck on your search. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 Going to ORD soon this year mid , would like to seek advise and tip from follow old birds. TIA ! Questions: 1) Looking at the job web (jobstreet, jobDB etc.) noticed that there are posts from direct employers, and those from agents like recruit express... What is the different ? Anythings i hav to look out for ? 2) Am graduated with diploma in mechatronics engineering, Is advisable to take up sale engineer or service engineer position ? what is the remuneration ilike ? Friendstar is right. the market situation especially in some engineering sectors will be hit by recession, retrenchment in any time soonest. to answer your queries. 1) direct employers and agents are the same. just that direct employer might find it tough/troublesome (lack of HR headcount) for the recruiting. thus, HR will hire agents to look out for them instead. you don't have to worry much. if you are recruited which is recommended by agent, the direct employer will pay the agent, not you. basically, invisible to you. anyway, no harm just go for as many interviews as possible. it's like going for fishing. 2) if you intended to work in engineering field, i would suggest you to go for service first, gain sufficient ground technical experience then you move to sales engineering sector. that's my POV though. i would suggest you to further your studies since 2012-2013 will not be good years. if you want to work immediately, good luck in your job hunting! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 i would suggest you to further your studies since 2012-2013 will not be good years. if you want to work immediately, good luck in your job hunting! so the estimate for the downturn is only for a year only ar ?? ok lah ... seems can take a short break then. afterall, ppl like me, bo-tak-che wan ... do any job also the same. as for TS, since you are newbie to the working world, maybe if you dun want to continue studying, can use this one year to gain some real life working experience which will aid you when you are looking for a CAREER than a JOB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 Service engineer... with an equipment or machine manufacturer. Your job is to go to the customers (e.g. factories that bought your company's equipment or machine) when they summon you for repair jobs or to train their technicians. Can be quite nice job if you pride yourself on your technical and hands-on skills (seriously lacking nowadays, even the ITEs are not producing...), and you get satisfaction from seeing immediate results, your efforts make the machine functioning well again. On some days, can be quite free and flexible, when all the machines are behaving well, and you just make a routine call on your customers and chit-chat! Sales engineer... you are basically marketing products, parts, consumables, etc. to potential customers. Can be a tough job because why would the customer want to change from brand ABC to your brand XYZ?? In production operations, even changing something as simple as a o-ring seal can have repercussions on the product, and only huge cost savings can motivate customers to run tests on what you're selling, checking it out and qualifying it for their process. Most times you meet potential customers, talk talk talk, hand over brochures and souvenirs... but no orders! And as another person has said earlier, as sales engineer, you do need some technical knowledge to market the product - so it's best not to start off doing sales. Savvy customers will easily guess whether you know what you're selling... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relacklabrudder 1st Gear January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 Might be gd to join as intern or a management trainee program or even contract job In A reputed mnc to gain experience there.personally I will Not mind a contract job in say Google, Facebook etc. I know Bosch is recruiting management trainees. All the best Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 find a relaxing job that gives you some job experience while allowing you to further your studies part time...my cousin did that...starting pay was 2K, now about 3.2K.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 You are so young Now I think back, last time when I ROD, I also got no slightest clue on what I wan to do, and last time got no internet, no forum, no job portal, no job street, no nothing. I don't even know who I can turn for advice. Not even so many job agencies as today. You are lucky that you got everything u need to succeed, everything on fingertips. Having said this, my advice to you is not to have high expectations on your salary and job environment. Fresh diploma engineering starting pay not more than $2000. And you wont hold the Engineer title hor. Just assistant engineer or something like that I got a relative also graduate with diploma engineer from ngee ann poly, his starting pay $1500, few years back. He joined marine company. Don't be choosy coz there are tons of FTs waiting to do your job and they can work for lower pay Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 (edited) Might be gd to join as intern or a management trainee program or even contract job In A reputed mnc to gain experience there.personally I will Not mind a contract job in say Google, Facebook etc. I know Bosch is recruiting management trainees. All the best not to spoil the party.... but do u know how difficult it is to get into google/facebook etc? there was this article about a cleaning job in google that attracted more than 2000 applicants. even if u choose to work for free, they might not want u. thats how tough it is to get in. and u'r talking about a diploma holder only.... thats why further is better. Edited January 2, 2012 by Friendstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relacklabrudder 1st Gear January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 Just using Facebook , google as example ... not to spoil the party.... but do u know how difficult it is to get into google/facebook etc? there was this article about a cleaning job in google that attracted more than 2000 applicants. even if u choose to work for free, they might not want u. thats how tough it is to get in. and u'r talking about a diploma holder only.... thats why further is better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 you guys are so discouraging. anyone can succeed in life, even if you are a psle holder Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 you guys are so discouraging. anyone can succeed in life, even if you are a psle holder Its not we discourage, but to manage someone's expectation of his first job. Frankly I want this TS to succeed than to see another FT take the job........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 you guys are so discouraging. anyone can succeed in life, even if you are a psle holder of course any one can succeed in life the point is placing oneself in a position where you have the best odds you can get to succeed. if you ran a million iterations of a simulation life of someone holding a dentistry degree against someone with just a psle certificate; in how many iterations will the person holding the dentistry degree lead a more successful life than the person with the psle certificate? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 well said. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 well guys yes i do note your good natured reminders to him but he's a fresh grad with great idealistic perception of stepping into society I am sure he can go though the school of hard knocks like the rest of us, fyi I graduated during the recession and took up jobs offering 1.5K too for the 1st year....it was though alot of hard work and luck then I managed to reach when I am today and still far far from the elite in this forum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 Going to ORD soon this year mid , would like to seek advise and tip from follow old birds. TIA ! Questions: 1) Looking at the job web (jobstreet, jobDB etc.) noticed that there are posts from direct employers, and those from agents like recruit express... What is the different ? Anythings i hav to look out for ? 2) Am graduated with diploma in mechatronics engineering, Is advisable to take up sale engineer or service engineer position ? what is the remuneration ilike ? 1) Already answered by many here 2) If you're talking about the electronics industry, it's gonna be a rather bad year. But the mechanical side, if you're willing, the 2 big shipyards(Keppel and Sembawang group) in SG are always hiring because their turnover rate is quite high. But you must tahan shipyard life. Everyday work til 9-10pm. Next day reach yard at 730am. Not to mention the high noise and dusty environment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 2, 2012 Share January 2, 2012 well guys yes i do note your good natured reminders to him but he's a fresh grad with great idealistic perception of stepping into society I am sure he can go though the school of hard knocks like the rest of us, fyi I graduated during the recession and took up jobs offering 1.5K too for the 1st year....it was though alot of hard work and luck then I managed to reach when I am today and still far far from the elite in this forum Ok that doesn't sound encouraging at all <_< ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...