Leaking water from toilet ceiling

Cirruslogic

I live in an old 1960s apartment and I noticed in late December that water was leaking from the false ceiling in my toilet, right above the toilet bowl. Became worse 2 days later.

Called NTUC Home Income services. The contractor came 5 hours later and sliced the false ceiling.

He said it was bad. He found the concrete dislodged. The steel bars are exposed. Water is dripipping from the steel bar area.

The owner above told me a tenant is living above and he is overseas.

Anyone knows what are the next series of events I should expect?

I am thinking that their toilet floor and bottom wall tiles (20 cm) have to be hacked off. Toilet bowl, sink all have to be removed. And a contractor needs to apply the water proof membrane on the whole floor and 20 cm of the wall tiles. The whole process may take 4 days.

Should I alert the owner that her tenant would need to find an alternative place to stay for 4 days otherwise he will not be able to use the toilet and bath?

There should be another toilet in the apartment that the tenant can use? So no need to stay alternative place during the fixing period.

Either way, looks like no choice you got to get this fixed.

How come there is a leak from the toilet above, if the tenant supposedly staying up there is overseas??

i thot this kinda cases are handled by HDB ??

my colleague also had leaky flooring ... the neighbour downstairs complained and then they reported to HDB.

then the repair costs was HDB 50% and my colleague and his neighbour both 25%.

but it was a damn dirty job !!

That is why HDB is actively en-bloc old HDB. The concrete cannot last 99 years.

Just imagine the rebars are rusted for the ground foundations and other supporting structure.

Will the old HDB still be safe?

I did encounter this before, leaking at toilet ceiling. Need to rectify the problem in the toilet above your unit before your contractor work on your toilet ceiling. The root cause lies on the toilet above your unit. Need to inspect the toilet for the leakage..

I am not sure about HDB. But for private properties, if it is after developer's warranty, the unit above will have to cover the full cost of the repair. It is not 50-50. How I know? Because I kena before.

I dont have the exact link, but it is stated in SLA website. For HDB, it's best to check with HDB.

Hope it helps.

I have similar experience on an old condominium not too long ago. The unit above me was vacant for at least 10 years (reasons unknown). It was resold to a new owner two years ago and rented out last year.

The condition of the unit was unknown to most people as one has ever moved in before.

After just few months of tenants moving in, I saw signs of leaking on both the toilets as well as the utility balcony. About another few months later, the situation had deteriorated into dripping water. Only one word could describe the experience of using the toilets, unbearable.

I called the owner asking him to carry out the repair works asap, he was friendly. He would allow rectifications works to be carried out in his unit and provide all other assistance but the only trouble is that he is definitely not paying any money.

So I sought legal help from my regular lawyer. He explained the basis of who is liable after the defects liability period by the developer. The toilet floor/ceiling is about 100mm thick reinforced concrete. The upper floor will be liable for the upper 50mm and the lower 50mm is under my care. I would need to prove that it was the due to the upper 50mm

I have similar experience on an old condominium not too long ago. The unit above me was vacant for at least 10 years (reasons unknown). It was resold to a new owner two years ago and rented out last year.

The condition of the unit was unknown to most people as one has ever moved in before.

After just few months of tenants moving in, I saw signs of leaking on both the toilets as well as the utility balcony. About another few months later, the situation had deteriorated into dripping water. Only one word could describe the experience of using the toilets, unbearable.

I called the owner asking him to carry out the repair works asap, he was friendly. He would allow rectifications works to be carried out in his unit and provide all other assistance but the only trouble is that he is definitely not paying any money.

So I sought legal help from my regular lawyer. He explained the basis of who is liable after the defects liability period by the developer. The toilet floor/ceiling is about 100mm thick reinforced concrete. The upper floor will be liable for the upper 50mm and the lower 50mm is under my care. I would need to prove that it was the due to the upper 50mm

You have got a point there. But the $500 has saved me from at least 6 months of suffering. I have not ruled out going all out to claim against him. Also, I may be selling the house.

My current flat also have this same problem. It leaks down to the elderly uncle house directly below me.. I suspect the previous owner hack the tiles and didn't put the water-proof sealant properly, the poor uncle have to tahan for 3 years. Everytime he see me walking downstairs he will nag and nag and nag..!

Now my house en bloc already, heng ah.. [:p]

Happened to me in 2009, in fact earlier. Will need to have the tenant from the upper floor hack away and

lay waterproofing chemical on their floor prior to laying new tiles over. 4-5 days work. Your side, only action taken will be when works up there is done, paint and repair your ceiling.

I live in an old 1960s apartment and I noticed in late December that water was leaking from the false ceiling in my toilet, right above the toilet bowl. Became worse 2 days later.

Called NTUC Home Income services. The contractor came 5 hours later and sliced the false ceiling.

He said it was bad. He found the concrete dislodged. The steel bars are exposed. Water is dripipping from the steel bar area.

The owner above told me a tenant is living above and he is overseas.

Anyone knows what are the next series of events I should expect?

I am thinking that their toilet floor and bottom wall tiles (20 cm) have to be hacked off. Toilet bowl, sink all have to be removed. And a contractor needs to apply the water proof membrane on the whole floor and 20 cm of the wall tiles. The whole process may take 4 days.

Should I alert the owner that her tenant would need to find an alternative place to stay for 4 days otherwise he will not be able to use the toilet and bath?

I have a question, if toilet tiles have been hacked and changed before, how long will the water leaking problem surface to the unit below?

if done with proper waterproofing, it should not have happened unless poor workmanship. 

If condo, you can seek redress from bca & legal etc. Understand from court rulings, upstairs have to foot 100% of cost. There have been judgement in favour of lower units before in previous court cases n published.

If HDB, town council foot 50%, upper n lower each 25%.

:)

If condo, you can seek redress from bca & legal etc. Understand from court rulings, upstairs have to foot 100% of cost. There have been judgement in favour of lower units before in previous court cases n published.

If HDB, town council foot 50%, upper n lower each 25%.

:)

It means even the problem lies with the upper unit, lower unit still have to pay 25% for the total cost?

if done with proper waterproofing, it should not have happened unless poor workmanship. 

Could it be due to wear and tear? If due to poor workmanship, after how long will problem happen le?

Waterproofing if done properly and correctly will last till life time of the house. If not done correctly, it depends on the quality of works carried out. It can be immediate to a few years for poor workmanship.

In hdb case, upper and lower unit each share 25% of repair cost regardless of whose fault.

Waterproofing if done properly and correctly will last till life time of the house. If not done correctly, it depends on the quality of works carried out. It can be immediate to a few years for poor workmanship.

In hdb case, upper and lower unit each share 25% of repair cost regardless of whose fault.

Last life time of the house? Like 99 years? Lol. You mean if quality of works no good, you mean even after 10 or 20 years can also give problem ah?

Regardless whose fault still must share 25% of repair cost? So if total repair cost is $3k, if not my fault still needs to pay $750 for nothing? Lol.

Edited by 13177