Oneguy

Need a replacement car in 2012

Any recommendations for me?

Kids growing, current ride getting old

Requirements:

- sit 4 adults + 2 kids comfortably

- 3rd row must have air-con vents

- must be bigger than wish/stream, current ride is this size

- not stingy but lower capacity better lah, less road tax, better FC etc.

- SUV or MPV is ok

- must be AD, no PI

Thank you for your time :mellow:

Think toyota alphard best suit your needs

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_...p?CarCode=10757

Have a picasso... 3rd row aircon vents not very powerful unless full blast. But 2nd row can choose their individual fan speed. Spacious for a compact MPV. Not an automatic gearbox.. It's a manual with an automated gearbox ala selespeed.. So if u are used to Auto and not keen to " learn"., not a good choice.

I have no regrets though..

Get VW Sharan. Though that looks like a van and costs in excess of $200k, the 3rd row seats will probably be good for your kids.

Saw the pics and review online. Looks yummy. its the $200K that i am staring at :huh:

alphard? sure big enough

MSCP cannot go in leh. I stay in one that got height limit.

[i think possible][$129K] pisscaso

[i think possible][$149K] sorento

I think Picasso better buy. Third row has air con vent. Only problem is you must like the gear change. Not many people like it otherwise, it would definitely outsell VW Touran which I think is currently the best selling MPV. Touran overall abit small at 3rd row.

[i think possible][$170K] galaxy

[i think possible][$190K] mazda 8

[i think possible][$193K] previa

[i think possible][$204K] sharan

Galaxy is much cheaper than the other three. Worth considering. Beside it, i would think Sharan is a better buy for it price. It has much more features compared to Mazda 8 and Previa. Of course power wise, need less to say. You can get discount off the listed price. Hear Vw going to have a promotion on New Years day.

prices are approximate, obtained online.

with the prices added, it gets interesting

Thanks for the views. I like Sorento for the $$$. Galaxy, Previa and Sharan are tough to call.

VW - today's newspaper ... Sharan off $5K

With all those you have listed, I personally would choose between Ford Galaxy or VW Sharan.

These 2 are comparable in terms of power, fuel consumption, size and features (Sharan still is superior though).

Of course, maybe the Kia Sorento will interest you if you are still on a tight budget.

In the end, you should bring everyone along for a test drive since it's your family that will be sitting in it and I suppose their opinions matter most.

Thanks. Agree that family's viewpoints will be important.

Tomorrow is probably car shopping day.

You may want sliding rear doors too, for easy access in tight parking space, especially when you need to unbuckle children from child seats.

In this sense, the $30k extra for the VW Sharan works.

That's the advantage for the sliding doors. Only worry I have about the Sharan ... VW reliable? Seen and read a number of complains. My car ownership journey is fairly "safe". Hyundai -> Hyundai -> Honda -> Toyota -> Toyota. Never bought a conti.

Have a picasso... 3rd row aircon vents not very powerful unless full blast. But 2nd row can choose their individual fan speed. Spacious for a compact MPV. Not an automatic gearbox.. It's a manual with an automated gearbox ala selespeed.. So if u are used to Auto and not keen to " learn"., not a good choice.

I have no regrets though..

Nice to hear from a owner. Yes, read about the gearbox. Have my fears about it too. I should be fairly proficient with it after a while but wifey drives the car as well, though her usage is compared to mine is like 30/70 ... but I can see the rejection coming already. Nevertheless, this remains on the list until she does object.

Volvo XC90, sure safe

Now become CHIN-NAA brand liao.

LOL ... not meant to offend anyone.

XC90 safe, look goods but $271K ... cough,

though my ass is huge, my wallet not so big leh

money no enough.

current list so far

[possible][$129K] pisscaso

[possible][$149K] sorento

[possible][$170K] galaxy

[possible][$193K] previa

[possible][$204K] sharan

[out-of-budget] alphard

[out-of-budget] XC90

- took out mazda8 on advice of a cousin

guys, do you think any of these three can also make it to my list?

Chevrolet Captiva

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_...p?CarCode=11013

Toyota Fortuner

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_...p?CarCode=11053

Hyundai Santa Fe

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_...p?CarCode=10808

My Requirements Again:

- sit 4 adults + 2 kids comfortably

- 3rd row must have air-con vents

- must be bigger than wish/stream, current ride is this size

- not stingy but lower capacity better lah, less road tax, better FC etc.

- SUV or MPV is ok

- must be AD, no PI

Thank yoo

Ttaking this opportunity to wish everyone a very HAPPY NEW YEAR. MAY EVERYONE HUAT BIG BIG in 2012!

If only the Ford Galaxy had rear sliding doors.

That will make the buy much simpler =)

Well, the VW Sharan should do you fine. C4 GP is small to me IMO.

Agree agree. This car buying this is so darn complicated. Every time when I think about changing car, whoa liao, the brain thought process is going like 120km/hr. Think, calculate ... then realize, if

+5K more can get BBB instead of AAA

+5K more can get CCC instead of BBB

+5K more can get DDD instead of CCC

Endless man. I really envy people whom are able to buy cars based on their fancy rather than thinking about $$$. My friends tell me ... YOU THINK TOO MUCH! [:p]

Chevy Captiva and Santa Fe 3rd row same as Wish. Lol. Boot space worse with all 3 rows up as well.

Erm, Fortuner is 2.7L. Not worth paying the road tax as a family vehicle.

Plus Santa Fe coming out with new model soon.

Stick to the conventional MPV's bro!!

Previa going from $190,988.... That's a bomb man.

May as well get the Sharan. Haha. But VW Sharan looks more like a van, and interior not exactly well designed.

Previa is an old design le. Haha. But it still looks stylish, and thanks to the "Spaceship" design, doesn't look like a van. That's why it's still popular even till today, though most go for the Toyota Estima sold by PI cos it's cheaper.

Chevy Captiva and Santa Fe 3rd row same as Wish. Lol. Boot space worse with all 3 rows up as well.

Erm, Fortuner is 2.7L. Not worth paying the road tax as a family vehicle.

Plus Santa Fe coming out with new model soon.

Stick to the conventional MPV's bro!!

WHOA - Roger! Noted. Thanks!

I forgot.

The Peugeot 5008 has the same chassis as the C4GP, but it uses 6AT instead.

Can check it out too! But then, that's Wish/ Stream size.... Haha.

Wish/Stream size cannot leh. That's my present ride.

Previa going from $190,988.... That's a bomb man.

May as well get the Sharan. Haha. But VW Sharan looks more like a van, and interior not exactly well designed.

Previa is an old design le. Haha. But it still looks stylish, and thanks to the "Spaceship" design, doesn't look like a van. That's why it's still popular even till today, though most go for the Toyota Estima sold by PI cos it's cheaper.

Crap price right?

As compared to PI Estima - now we know why we see all the Estima's on the road. Argh. My current ride also PI one. Sigh - really don't know if I should go down the PI route again or not. Lucky not to get my fingers burnt when I got my current PI ride. Now go back to PI again, I scared kena problems. That's why going AD seems "safer" :D

Edited by Oneguy

That's the advantage for the sliding doors. Only worry I have about the Sharan ... VW reliable? Seen and read a number of complains. My car ownership journey is fairly "safe". Hyundai -> Hyundai -> Honda -> Toyota -> Toyota. Never bought a conti.

VW is pretty reliable. only issue with owners is the after-sales service. you probably have to hear from some VW owners themselves.

well, apart from that, the 6-speed DSG seemed to have problems previously. i suppose the problem should be fixed by now.

test driving is the best option!