Shox87 4th Gear December 29, 2011 Share December 29, 2011 Now on Holidays until new year. Tomorrow I will make a road trip to Berlin, a 550km (one direction journey beginning near Frankfurt in Central Germany). I will pass New year at Berlin. I hope the New year Firework do not disappoint. I did some minimum checks on Fluids, ( I bought a bottle of wiper fluid with antifreeze properties, but no use yet, as the fluid is still good level), & pump tires to Manufacturer specification at the petrol station. Stock up one big bottle of water, & a packet of Snicker, just in case (touch wood) something happen in the Journey. But I will be traveling in the day, & on major roads & Autobahn, so at least for the road trip, its ok. Thanks for asking. hey spiderman, got miss ur red riding hood in SG? sounds like u r having an awesome time in germany. enjoy ur road trip! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg2303 2nd Gear December 29, 2011 Share December 29, 2011 (edited) Wah, Bear bear got new car!! When do I get to sit in it??? Edited December 29, 2011 by Sg2303 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged December 29, 2011 Author Share December 29, 2011 Wah, Bear bear got new car!! When do I get to sit in it??? Didn't you sit in it the last time? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ril3k 1st Gear December 30, 2011 Share December 30, 2011 Combi, estate, wagon is the same thing. The Germans call it Combi, the Americans can it wagon, the British call it estate. In Western Europe, Combi is far more popular than Sedan/Saloon, as a lot of things are DIY. You buy a Chistmas tree, or a new sink or door frame you load it to the boot, on the roof, or trailer it. Its not uncommon to have trailers/Caravan behind the car. In America, they have trucks (Americans & their love of trucks...) to carry their stuff, so Combi not as popular. Like most Singaporeans, I used to dislike Combi, think they spoil the look of the car. Once I understand the practicality of a Combi, I learn to like them more. After driving 2 sedans, & a rent hatchback for my previous rides, now I have a Sport-back, which is almost a combi. yeah.. used to think it look fugy until i drove a hatchback and the appeal of being able to reach the furthest part of the boot appealed to me So it's gonna be wagons/combi/estates from now on:) Hence got myself a superb estate/wagon haha.. but now I cant reach all the way in coz the boot is too darn long :p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cowpeh 1st Gear December 30, 2011 Share December 30, 2011 is the odometer in miles or in km? You can select between both. I use km. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear December 30, 2011 Share December 30, 2011 You can select between both. I use km. technically you can have both at the same time... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear December 30, 2011 Share December 30, 2011 5,000 miles later, I am enjoying my daily 70km commute. The amount of kit SKODA threw into the car was tremendous. I am only missing the kitchen sink but that will fit easily into the boot if I so desire. 16 Speakers built-in Columbus system with auxiliary input and SD card reader, even 无言的结局 sounds like a happy song. GPS, active headlights, driver's multi-display, rain sensors, auto headlights comes as standard. Heck, it even closes the windows by itself when it rains. Now, if it would only bring me the slippers, I will scrap my dog. eh... cold bear, where you kapo the extra 4 speakers from? front is 3 speaker, including mid, rear for octy is also 3 speaker. both side add up 12 leh.. your boot also got component speakers coz it's a combi? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear December 30, 2011 Share December 30, 2011 If it really has resale issues (not sure about it), then buying one second hand should be the way to go.... unless the buyer intends to keep it long, then resale value doesnt really matter sadly most resale car nowadays, including Skoda, yes, a skoda, is holding up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear December 30, 2011 Share December 30, 2011 There's one on sale in sgcarmart now, who wants? Sgcarmart - Skoda Octavia Combi 2.0A VRS This one nice looking car meh ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 30, 2011 Share December 30, 2011 yeah.. used to think it look fugy until i drove a hatchback and the appeal of being able to reach the furthest part of the boot appealed to me So it's gonna be wagons/combi/estates from now on:) Hence got myself a superb estate/wagon haha.. but now I cant reach all the way in coz the boot is too darn long :p I really appreciated the flexibility of a wagon when i bought boxes of stuff from Ikea few months ago: the cargo area / backseat(folded down) / front passenger seat all the way forward were filled to the brim to hold funriture kits to do up a study room and part of living room!!! It was so filled up that I couldnt fit a pet dog in if I had one An sedan wont have the height and length inside to take all these boxes (some longer than man's height) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear December 30, 2011 Share December 30, 2011 This one nice looking car meh ? Skoda VRS Combi shd be this instead Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ril3k 1st Gear December 30, 2011 Share December 30, 2011 I really appreciated the flexibility of a wagon when i bought boxes of stuff from Ikea few months ago: the cargo area / backseat(folded down) / front passenger seat all the way forward were filled to the brim to hold funriture kits to do up a study room and part of living room!!! It was so filled up that I couldnt fit a pet dog in if I had one An sedan wont have the height and length inside to take all these boxes (some longer than man's height) Yah..as I grow older.. the space and flexibility become more impt my plan is to be able to fit my girls bicycle into the boot without having to fold or hook anything ;) Too bad SG skoda's don Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 30, 2011 Share December 30, 2011 (edited) Yah..as I grow older.. the space and flexibility become more impt my plan is to be able to fit my girls bicycle into the boot without having to fold or hook anything ;) Too bad SG skoda's don Edited December 30, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged December 30, 2011 Author Share December 30, 2011 eh... cold bear, where you kapo the extra 4 speakers from? front is 3 speaker, including mid, rear for octy is also 3 speaker. both side add up 12 leh.. your boot also got component speakers coz it's a combi? ah..12 speakers, i actually go and count. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear December 30, 2011 Share December 30, 2011 (edited) This one nice looking car meh ? Pai seh, wrong link. Edited December 30, 2011 by Alim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged December 30, 2011 Author Share December 30, 2011 This one nice looking car meh ? That is a Lexus ES300. Not too bad if you ask me. The new one is nicer. I prefer the ES over GS but Borneo stopped bringing in the ES. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear December 30, 2011 Share December 30, 2011 Ha.. nice one.. after I started driving my superb combi.. I too am looking forward to driving it everyday.. in fact I make excuses to bring my family out so that I can drive the car.. the further the better! Haha.. the equipment and ride quality really no horse run.. don Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ril3k 1st Gear December 30, 2011 Share December 30, 2011 Will try that next time.. heard adult sized bikes can fit but I lazy to take out front wheel haha I once saw someone fit a road bike into a Octy 1 hatch with backseats down.. no need to remove any wheels. Amazing Sorry should be variable loading floor not variable boot lid.. I think in Europe.. u can order this as option. How it works I think is there is one additional sheet like floor on the boot floor that you can pull outwards.. this enables things put on the inner most part of the boot to be accessible easily.. now I have to literally crawl into my boot to get things all the way in haha..pit falls of asian sizing ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...