Brightest LTA Legal headlight

Tigershark1976

This topic was discussed back in 2003 but most of the lightbulob was no longer in production liao [laugh] [laugh]

in SG, the street light its even brighter than my 55W H4 halogen so no issue actually but if i drive in malaysia at night. Its really terrible, i have to turn on my fog light as well in terms to have a better view at areas without street lamp.

im thinking to upgrade it to something legal, wondering there is any recomendation? Few of the affordable H4 bulb I could find are:

1) Osram Night Breaker Plus

2) Osram Silverstar

3) Philips X-treme Power

any comment for those who use these bulb before? is it muh brighter than factory fitted bulb? LTA friendly?

Edited by Tigershark1976

This topic was discussed back in 2003 but most of the lightbulob was no longer in production liao [laugh] [laugh]

in SG, the street light its even brighter than my 55W H4 halogen so no issue actually but if i drive in malaysia at night. Its really terrible, i have to turn on my fog light as well in terms to have a better view at areas without street lamp.

im thinking to upgrade it to something legal, wondering there is any recomendation? Few of the affordable H4 bulb I could find are:

2) Osram Silverstar

3) Philips X-treme Power

any comment for those who use these bulb before? is it muh brighter than factory fitted bulb? LTA friendly?

Bad encounter with night breaker. Blown within 3 months. Not sure about night breaker plus. Heard is more lasting.

Currently using X-treme. Quite good.

bad experience with these high-end bulbs (<S$50 for a pair)...they blow easily & i'm referring to item (3) which cost around S$80 H4 a pair....

now using low cost option S$28 a pair...difference is slightly lower only....

2) Osram Silverstar

3) Philips X-treme Power

hmmm... i forgot when is the last time i changed my Night Breaker.. i think >1yr liao.. [laugh]

Check E-mark & DOT approved = LTA approved.

what does the "E-mark & DOT approved " stands for??

when i check on LTA website, it doesnt says anything about colour or brightness ratting on a light bulb, only stated that the lightbulb use should not be more than the manufacturer specs and LTA accept light bulb recomended by manufacturer.

If this is the case, my vios owner manual stated H4 bulb, 55W rating. Does it means I can use any colour type? very confusing leh...

when i check on LTA website, it doesnt says anything about colour or brightness ratting on a light bulb, only stated that the lightbulb use should not be more than the manufacturer specs and LTA accept light bulb recomended by manufacturer.

If this is the case, my vios owner manual stated H4 bulb, 55W rating. Does it means I can use any colour type? very confusing leh...

the nightbreaker is a HIR H4 bulb right? i think thats the best you can go without going for a third party HID kit which is well, illegal.

Edited by Happily1986

I am using Philips Extreme Vision which claimed to be the brightest legal bulb which i am quite satisfied with . But sometimes on the road , saw some old cabs with even brighter light shines on the road , wondering wat bulbs they using . haha couldnt be HID !

they tilt the bloody build upwards to 'see' better at night for passengers.. now on Osram Night Breaker Plus, previously on extreme power... extreme power wins hand down... will try extreme vision next round...

Edited by Itsec

2) Osram Silverstar

3) Philips X-treme Power

The brightest are the Osrams, Nightbreaker Plus (+90%), Philips X-treme Vision (+100%), Philips Xtreme Power (+80%), and Ring Automotive Xenon Ultima (+120%)

All are E marked and thus road legal.

I did a comparison of Nightbreakers vs the Xenon Ultima's here

http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2672328

If you want to compare The Xtreme Power to Nightbreakers then just google. There are tons of comparisons. And if its Xtreme Power vs Nightbreakers, there isnt much although Trex thinks they're quite similar in output http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?s=&amp...t&p=4057445

And it has been said (though I don't know for sure) that the Xtreme Vision's sacrifice useage time for brightness vs their Power sibling. That being said, all are rated at about the same lifespan.

Edited by Elfenstar

Its how the light is projected. Your Extreme Visions have a longer throw, not to mention the reflectors, projectors etc arent exactly the same between makes and models.

If I compare my Punto with its regular bulbs to my Demio, you would think the regular bulbs are brighter due to the "hotspot" being brighter. However if I turn off the headlights on my Demio, I realise that the illuminated area on the Punto is far shorter. Even the hotspot distance is shorter than on my Demio.

Even when compared to my GF's Mz2 (which is a better comparison as it uses the same headlight assembly), the effect is the simlar though less pronounced as the hotspot is about the same brightness (mine is a little brighter and whiter).

Edited by Elfenstar

I emailed LTA about this ages back. They said there was a colour temp limit. You will have to check with them, but I think it was 4300K. Just get those that are E-Marked and/or Dot Approved, and you'll be fine.

E marked = The product has passed the Economic Commission for Europe certification for safety (in terms of usage in a vehicle).

DOT Approved = The product has been inspected and passed by the US Department of Transport for safety (in terms usage in a vehicle).

Edited by Elfenstar

they tilt the bloody build upwards to 'see' better at night for passengers.. now on Osram Night Breaker Plus, previously on extreme power... extreme power wins hand down... will try extreme vision next round...

He's talking about the light cast on the road lah, not how blinding misalighted taxi headlights can be [:p]

Its how the light is projected. Your Extreme Visions have a longer throw, not to mention the reflectors, projectors etc arent exactly the same between makes and models.

If I compare my Punto with its regular bulbs to my Demio, you would think the regular bulbs are brighter due to the "hotspot" being brighter. However if I turn off the headlights on my Demio, I realise that the illuminated area on the Punto is far shorter. Even the hotspot distance is shorter than on my Demio.

Even when compared to my GF's Mz2 (which is a better comparison as it uses the same headlight assembly), the effect is the same though less pronounced.

you prefer longer throw or greater intensity?

Its actually both. If you look headlong at the car, they are quite a bit brighter. Its just that the immediate area right in front of the car seems brighter. For me, I prefer the increased throw though. Made an amendment to clarify the Mazda 2 on regular bulbs vs my Demio on +120% ones.

Edited by Elfenstar

Its actually both. If you look headlong at the car, they are quite a bit brighter. Its just that the immediate area right in front of the car seems brighter. For me, I prefer the increased throw though. Made an amendment to clarify the Mazda 2 on regular bulbs vs my Demio on +120% ones.

sometimes from an engineering point of view, i wonder whether they should have paid more attention to the reflectors. Essentially much of the throw does not come from the bulb direct but from the reflector in general. This calls in question a redesign of the reflector housing. i mean there is a ceiling limit to how much photons we can throw out from a glowing element. How much we can reflect, how we can reflect, i think we can still work on that.

Edited by Happily1986

Even when compared to my GF's Mz2 (which is a better comparison as it uses the same headlight assembly), the effect is the simlar though less pronounced as the hotspot is about the same brightness (mine is a little brighter and whiter).

ya true, both have its own advantages .