Irritating experience at Shell Station

1fast1

On 12/27/2011 at 3:17 PM, Unltd said:

Wah, interesting thread... 2 things which hit me...

1) I a curious where to get those $3 off vouchers and when they expire...

They gave it to me unbidden the last time. I think they were just giving these out. Different stations have different gimmicks. Another station (I think the one in Geylang) had that 15% off thing, which is better (at least twice as good) as this $3 off $40 thing.

2) I never knew there was a diff in full tank and auto stop, so now it actually means fill to the brim meaning overspill and auto stop is when the clicker stops it... Darned now I know why sometimes there is some petrol spillage when I pump, I had always thought telling them full tank means when the auto mechanism kicks in the attendent automatically stop pumping or sometimes helps round off to the nearest dollar..

No, please say 'auto stop' and make sure the guy repeats it. Anyway, best to watch the chap. Never mind if you lose a place or two in the payment Q lah, paintwork more important. :D

On 12/27/2011 at 3:15 PM, JackRabbit said:

umm... so... like did you also get the free tissue box as well... [:p]

ha..ha... just kidding, bro...

Shell no tissue box leh, only SPC. :D

But if your post is code for a "happy ending" with tissues involved, no I did not get that either. Well, OK, I got a happy ending, but not a *happy ending*. [laugh]

On 12/27/2011 at 5:45 PM, Flykite said:

well honestly, you could just come back the next day and fill $10 and use the $8 voucher, there's no minimum anyway, and the expiry is on 29feb2012. or even $8.42, then dont even need to top up any cash at all....

OMG your rvf brings back memories 10yrs ago for me... same color.. same placement of cashcard iu... but sad girl on bike diff...

u poondeh lah......drive P and liddat wan.....no wonder we get baaaaaad name [laugh][laugh][laugh]

but you are right lah.....principle to be upheld

On 12/28/2011 at 1:24 AM, RadX said:

u poondeh lah......drive P and liddat wan.....no wonder we get baaaaaad name [laugh][laugh][laugh]

but you are right lah.....principle to be upheld

On 12/27/2011 at 5:46 PM, Flykite said:

the difference is different when u auto-stop on the fastest flow rate, the middle flow rate and the slow flow rate.

for me is 6.5L/4L/2L...

That's why i just pump myself all the time.. at least i can ensure auto-stop means auto-stop..

On 12/27/2011 at 7:01 PM, Mllcg said:

i normally auto stop on the slowest rate from be beginning when i pump

There was once, i used the slowest setting at this particular pump (forgot where), but the auto-stop sensor failed to activate.. [laugh]

On 12/28/2011 at 1:59 AM, Shull said:

There was once, i used the slowest setting at this particular pump (forgot where), but the auto-stop sensor failed to activate.. [laugh]

after that i add more till overflow ;)

Last time the pump attendent will try to fill up to a nice rounded-up $$ figure, say $41 dollars instead of $40.30. So payment at the cashier is easier. Those times, no one complain.

But now with credit cards payment and the crazy 11%-13% discount, it does not makes sense for the pump attendent to round up the $$ figure anymore.

If the rounded up figure is $41, after 13% discount will be $35.67, it created more hassle for the cashier.

If you pay by credit cards, then its not an issue.

Nowadays, I always insist on Auto-Stop.

Because each time I forgot to say, the pump attendent 101% will pump until it overflow!

Its funny why some people still like to pump to the brim!

On 12/28/2011 at 5:30 AM, SimonTan said:

Last time the pump attendent will try to fill up to a nice rounded-up $$ figure, say $41 dollars instead of $40.30. So payment at the cashier is easier. Those times, no one complain.

But now with credit cards payment and the crazy 11%-13% discount, it does not makes sense for the pump attendent to round up the $$ figure anymore.

If the rounded up figure is $41, after 13% discount will be $35.67, it created more hassle for the cashier.

If you pay by credit cards, then its not an issue.

Nowadays, I always insist on Auto-Stop.

Because each time I forgot to say, the pump attendent 101% will pump until it overflow!

Its funny why some people still like to pump to the brim!

i pump to the brim is for 1 reaason.

5 liters can bring me an extra 40-50km.

i may need it in emergencies

Doing it in Jbee i can think of many reasons.

But in spore......what ever for sia!!! :blink:

On 12/28/2011 at 5:47 AM, Mllcg said:

i pump to the brim is for 1 reaason.

5 liters can bring me an extra 40-50km.

i may need it in emergencies

Edited by Hiphiphoray

On 12/28/2011 at 5:24 AM, Neutrino said:

I see no reason to mention either PRC or girl.

OK lah, sorry lah, next time I start thread with "Sexless human of uncertain nationality and unmentionable race". Happy? [laugh]

Come on, lah, PRC is not even a racial epithet (AT would've been, but I didn't say that, right?). I've seen real racial epithets like APNN, and Ah Neh (yes, it's a racial epithet) and even worse being used against my racial group, and I don't recall you jumping to anyone's defence, to be honest. It's OK, I don't hold it against you, but please don't preach at me.

The reason I mentioned the PRC part was because I've had no issues with local sales people, even if I needed to "colour outside the lines" like in the case of these vouchers. Would it be unfair to draw an inference about the relative flexibility of locals?

And the girl part...sheesh. Do you really think I'm trying to be sexist here?

BTW, did you make a fuss when they printed your race on your IC? Do you refuse to fill in your race in the zillions of forms in Singapore that ask you this? In fact, I see no reason at all to ask one their race (or define someone by their race) in Singapore when we're all born and bred here, but we're all still official statistics tagged and filed by race, right? And don't even get me started on sex. If we weren't defined by sex, they wouldn't know who to call up for NS, which is another form of official discrimination against half the population.

Let me know when you want to start tilting at these windmills, I may just join you, Senor Quixote. :D

On 12/27/2011 at 11:30 PM, Turboflat4 said:

Shell no tissue box leh, only SPC. :D

But if your post is code for a "happy ending" with tissues involved, no I did not get that either. Well, OK, I got a happy ending, but not a *happy ending*. [laugh]

On 12/28/2011 at 9:02 AM, Neutrino said:

Don't think your equal to Sancho, maybe just about Rocinante [:p]:D

And you're Rocinante's rear end. [laugh]