How problematic is VW's 7 speed DSG?

Kar_lover

On 12/27/2011 at 5:41 AM, Bavarian said:

Monster is good. No problem so far. I kindof prefer it over the White Horse. ^_^

which one is more powderfull , the monster or the white horse?

On 12/27/2011 at 5:43 AM, Sleepy-T said:

u lich man loh,

koup to SSS now thinking of change car again ? wow

well coz u alway heard the bad thing,

those good things no one will voice out lol,

heard the 2nd services center will be up soon [laugh]

eh no la, am still a boy, and a relatively poor boy, compared to peers and forum pple.

My cars all bought cheap, no top up one.. [blush]

Hmm..but how's ur Golf holding up? How's the mod potential?

On 12/27/2011 at 5:40 AM, Sleepy-T said:

Bear u sure?

Skoda I thought is more expensive then VW

For the same specification.

VW Polo 1.2TSI 85hp - $105,800

Skoda Fabia 1.2T 102hp - $102,900

Octavia 5dr 1.4TSI 120hp - $117,900

VW Jetta 1.4TSI 122hp - $115,800 to $121,800

VW Jetta 1.4TSI 160hp - $132,300

Octavia 5dr VRS 197hp - $144,900

VW Golf GTI 210hp - $205,300

Superb 1.8 158hp - $131,900

Superb 2.0 197hp - $165,900

VW Passat 1.8 TSI 160hp - $179,300

VW CC 2.0T 200hp - $211,800

On 12/27/2011 at 5:47 AM, Lucaswh said:

eh no la, am still a boy, and a relatively poor boy, compared to peers and forum pple.

My cars all bought cheap, no top up one.. [blush]

Hmm..but how's ur Golf holding up? How's the mod potential?

ok lah litch boi lah happy ? [:p]

mine? everything OK running smoothly, there lot of mod potential but dun intent to go thou it.

V happy with it performance my tiny engine can push out [cool]

On 12/27/2011 at 5:43 AM, Sleepy-T said:

which one is more powderfull , the monster or the white horse?

Quite equal but the Black Monster more brutal while White Horse is more subtle in delivery. I think I prefer the kick.

On 12/27/2011 at 5:50 AM, Bavarian said:

For the same specification.

VW Polo 1.2TSI 85hp - $105,800

Skoda Fabia 1.2T 102hp - $102,900

Octavia 5dr 1.4TSI 120hp - $117,900

VW Jetta 1.4TSI 122hp - $115,800 to $121,800

VW Jetta 1.4TSI 160hp - $132,300

Octavia 5dr VRS 197hp - $144,900

VW Golf GTI 210hp - $205,300

Superb 1.8 158hp - $131,900

Superb 2.0 197hp - $165,900

VW Passat 1.8 TSI 160hp - $179,300

VW CC 2.0T 200hp - $211,800

wow the drop the price,

when I purchase my car, skoda is 20% more then VW lol

On 12/27/2011 at 5:50 AM, Sleepy-T said:

mine? everything OK running smoothly, there lot of mod potential but dun intent to go thou it.

Damn, quick lup stage 1 let me test drive.

Saw a lot of Rocs on the road and they are quick indeed. I only can envy la.. seriously. [:/]

On 12/27/2011 at 5:52 AM, Bavarian said:

Quite equal but the Black Monster more brutal while White Horse is more subtle in delivery. I think I prefer the kick.

so ur prefer to live ur life at the edge [laugh][laugh]

On 12/27/2011 at 5:54 AM, Sleepy-T said:

wow the drop the price,

when I purchase my car, skoda is 20% more then VW lol

Funny, Skoda is position below VW by VAG so it does not make sense to price it higher than a comparable VW. It is like pricing the E classe over the S Classe.

On 12/27/2011 at 5:54 AM, Lucaswh said:

Damn, quick lup stage 1 let me test drive.

Saw a lot of Rocs on the road and they are quick indeed. I only can envy la.. seriously. [:/]

dun want [:p]

what the point to stage 1 then reach the next traffic light 3 secs ahead of other car?

if need the extra kick just switch the gear shift to sport can already.

so what u mod on ur SSS?

my friend SSS is damn fast

On 12/27/2011 at 5:50 AM, Sleepy-T said:

I am thinking of sending my car to MTM for some happy stuffs but I dunno if that'll void the warranty (apparently so) but Audi can MTM and MTM is one the authorized tuners for VAG.

On 12/27/2011 at 5:57 AM, Bavarian said:

Funny, Skoda is position below VW by VAG so it does not make sense to price it higher than a comparable VW. It is like pricing the E classe over the S Classe.

I dun know,

when i went car hunting back in 2010, i went there their price lists is more then VW.

maybe their chairman finally wake up [laugh][laugh]

On 12/27/2011 at 5:59 AM, Sleepy-T said:

I dun know,

when i went car hunting back in 2010, i went there their price lists is more then VW.

maybe their chairman finally wake up [laugh][laugh]

That one I also dunno. But VW buyers should drop by Skoda and take a look. They offer more toys in the cars too. Pity the exterior takes abit of getting used to. [laugh][laugh]

Edited by Bavarian

On 12/27/2011 at 5:59 AM, Bavarian said:

I am thinking of sending my car to MTM for some happy stuffs but I dunno if that'll void the warranty (apparently so) but Audi can MTM and MTM is one the authorized tuners for VAG.

I think MTM is based in Premium Automobiles,

I heard that any Audi who want MTMed have to sign on agreement that stated warrienty is void b4 the mod.

On 12/27/2011 at 6:03 AM, Bavarian said:

That one I also dunno. But VW buyers should drop by Skoda and take a look. They offer more toys in the cars too. Pity the exterior takes abit of getting used to. [laugh][laugh]

yap , their OMV is higher,

On 12/27/2011 at 6:03 AM, Sleepy-T said:

I think MTM is based in Premium Automobiles,

I heard that any Audi who want MTMed have to sign on agreement that stated warrienty is void b4 the mod.

Chipping up with mtm at PA, will void the factory warranty. But they will provide their own equivalent warranty

On 12/27/2011 at 2:20 AM, Kar_lover said:

Hi

Been contemplating getting a VW jetta but quite concerned about how serious the 7 speed DSG problem is. I would say its the only thing stopping me now. VW sales guy said its those ppl who mod (chip) the car. But what i heard from others is even not chipped also have problem. Every 1 or 2 month have to visit workshop. And their after sales is not fantastic either.

Anyone here can share?

Don't get sucked into this VW onslaught...

All those i know who's driving with the 7-spd dry clutch DSG kpkb.

On 12/27/2011 at 5:43 AM, Lucaswh said:

Hmm. I wouldn't do that..last time I felt my 1.6 Koup was let down by the weight of the car, I don't think the 2.0 will be any better in terms of performance, plus the resale of a 2.0 Koup isn't much higher than the 1.6.

I guess if you have the budget for VW, there are certainly many options you can consider out there. :wub:

Err...Where got other options that can give 160/240 @ < $130k?

Peugeot 308? I believe cheaper than Jetta but also have some reliability issue and not sure whether discon in SG cos go to sgcarmart under new cars -> peugeot, they only list 308cc, no 308. Maybe can consider 3008, only slightly more ex than jetta but again, have some reliability issue.

Citreon DS3 THP dun like and i want 4 door, tired of 2 door liao. Opel not even listed anymore. Skoda, dun like.