JC student questions why ITEs have such good facilities

Ahtong

Simple, the thinking then was now or never. At 37, I took the plunge, giving myself 3 years. If failed, I can still crawl back to corporate world. Although at 40 years old, it can be difficult to look for a good job. But with my previous experience and big enough toilet paper getting a decent job should be ok if my expectation is realistic enough. But if I take the plunge at 40 and failed, hard to get any decent job as a mid 40s job seeker.

Somehow, I realise the bigger the toilet paper, the smaller the balls. My buddy got much much bigger balls than me. So under his influence for 3 years, my balls now has grown in size. I used to take project when I am 100% or 101% sure I can do it. Now, as long as close to 50% I can do it, I will grab the projects. Kanna [rifle] a few times but survived. And we become stronger. In biz, you need a lot of guts. Cause once you hesitate, there will be people around who will grab the opportunity and you are left with nothing.

And to answer the question --- I hope to enjoy what I am doing and decides my own destine. 3 years on my own and I had worked much harder than 10 years in corporate world. And I am much happier although I work harder and more. And yah, one very important point on email. In corporate world, I hate email. The email is always about submitting reports, answer to this and answer to that. Now, most email is making $$$$ opportunity. You see the difference?

one man's meat is another's poison... everything is subjective.... the difference between own biz and coporate world and govt agencies r all diff ball games.

for me the thrill is to start a biz then sell it... repeat this process for a couple of times and soon u will be bored. then return to coporate life

talking about balls i think it takes very big balls to be able to sell off the existing goose that lays gold eggs and start over again.

i think the concept on having big balls should be on foresight and risk taking ability considering the investment outlay versus the success rate vs the roi...

but in all, i still respect your profession and courage to make that move.

p.s maybe i am preaching to someone older aka teaching my grandmother how to suck eggs, but still lucky stars don't always shine.. it all boils down to hard work. i am amazed of your 1 time success in building a company... many i have known came a long way before having a taste of success..

I agree with everything you said. But do not forget that you are one of the successful statistics. For every one of you, there were 9 that failed and had to go back to corporate job. I have friends: professional accountants, engineers, bank managers, even one doctor who were sick of professional and corporate life and saw doing business thru rose tinted glasses. They finally could do what they really wanted to do: importing auto performance parts, luxury watches, clothes/fashion business, etc.

Within 3 years most of them went back to their old jobs. They realised that working for people is less tough, more certain, easier money and less responsibility, nevermind the daily grind of working at a job they disliked.

I am sure people like throttle2 would like to set up their own cigar bar or car workshop. End of the day, they did their sums and realise their current job still better in terms of security.

agreed with you on working for people is less tough, more certain, easier money and less reponsibility. For 3 years, I also kanna go lim kopi in IRAS for making mistakes in GST submission, CPF for making mistakes in contribution, MOM to appeal for my WP holders to renew WP etc and many many little things too many to mention. All these govt rules and regulations can be daunting for technocrat like us. And we can't afford to employ a finance and admin manager to help us manage this initially. I can honestly tell you each time I receive letter from govt authority, I sweat cold sweat. I don't where and when I broke the regulations. But I must said the official that I met usually sympathise with us. They know we are not out to cheat the govt and will help us to get them right. But all these are birth pain. Our philiosophy is as long as sales is healthy and coming in, we will push on no matter how tough the going.

IRAS, CPF, MOM, all these considered trivial but irritating matters. The real headache is cash flow: money no enough!

one man's meat is another's poison... everything is subjective.... the difference between own biz and coporate world and govt agencies r all diff ball games.

for me the thrill is to start a biz then sell it... repeat this process for a couple of times and soon u will be bored. then return to coporate life

talking about balls i think it takes very big balls to be able to sell off the existing goose that lays gold eggs and start over again.

i think the concept on having big balls should be on foresight and risk taking ability considering the investment outlay versus the success rate vs the roi...

but in all, i still respect your profession and courage to make that move.

p.s maybe i am preaching to someone older aka teaching my grandmother how to suck eggs, but still lucky stars don't always shine.. it all boils down to hard work. i am amazed of your 1 time success in building a company... many i have known came a long way before having a taste of success..

Haha, bro, you just mentioned what my partner and I are thinking..... Biz is to build and sell and then to build again. We are looking for people to buy our biz. People who have the contact and financial muscle to bring it to next level. We already know what biz we want to do next if we can successfully sold our current biz. Upcoming Airshow is where we are hunting for interested parties.

IRAS, CPF, MOM, all these considered trivial but irritating matters. The real headache is cash flow: money no enough!

yes, thats why customers are important. We are not in retail trade hence don't depends on walk in. We have to seek out potential customers, convince them what we can do, provide a service beyond their expectations and good value for their bucks.

Choose to work only with clients who are good pay master. We will not do deals with clients who have very bad credit history even though the margin may seen to be very good. Market intelligent will allow you to know who are these clients to avoid.

And watch the expenses. We also practice very strict discipline with cash flow. What some people said delay gratification. We will always look at what company needs for upcoming projects before deciding how much to cash out as bonus. Even with this strict discipline, I still taking home much more than my ex-colleagues. So I always says I am poor but my company is not bad.

ITE, Poly, JC, Ptivate...

All will be given a shot in the great market equalizer, Tekong Exchange of Singapore (TKEx:SG) where

true men will be made, wimpies found out and gengsters groomed for future leadership.

Haha, bro, you just mentioned what my partner and I are thinking..... Biz is to build and sell and then to build again. We are looking for people to buy our biz. People who have the contact and financial muscle to bring it to next level. We already know what biz we want to do next if we can successfully sold our current biz. Upcoming Airshow is where we are hunting for interested parties.

Great minds think alike I presume. Not Tat I am extremely successful but I had my fair share of ups n downs. After meeting with numerous setbacks, I had too sold off a number of businesses which were all built from scratch. Only diff is I'm all by myself.

I am able to understand what u have been thru however it's up to individuals the next course n direction. For me I have chosen to return to coporate despite the downsides u have mentioned. I feel in order to survive in coporate delegation skills r impt. Using the right pple at the right instances. With such I enjoy work life balance better than being self employed.

ITE, Poly, JC, Ptivate...

All will be given a shot in the great market equalizer, Tekong Exchange of Singapore (TKEx:SG) where

true men will be made, wimpies found out and gengsters groomed for future leadership.

only poly & jc go to tekong... uneducated only mono intake

Everyone will go to University... sooner or later....... University of Society (UOS).... where some make it big, many just same same and some don't make it..... but eventually, whether good or bad..... everyone will graduate with a Certificate..... sign for by a certified doctor..... and Bro RADx will be busy..... [:p][laugh]

[laugh][laugh] correction, bro Turboflat4 sign, I need to verify before I tabao..... [:p]

cannot give fake one hor this wan

Logically, that also means the best teachers/lecturers work and teach in second-rate physical environments. :D

You're right. I was once informed that in Scandinavian countries (can't remember which), pre-school teachers need the higher teaching qualifications.

The more difficult the students, the more qualified and talented the teachers must be. Makes sense.

When the students are capable and self-motivated, they depend less on teachers. So even CMI teacher just follow the syllabus also can turn out a class of top students.

In ideal situation, the very best students do not need teachers! [laugh]

Edited by Sosaria

Things to note, is that these Mega ITEs are built to cater for thousands of students from different faculties, and hold big scale event like national level sport competition and exhibitions. Erm , the JCs got the scale or needs to have such facilities ?

err... not that i looking down but ITE got the calibre for national level sports or exhibitions? [laugh]

You say Sports School I believe la. [laugh]

err... not that i looking down but ITE got the calibre for national level sports or exhibitions? [laugh]

You say Sports School I believe la. [laugh]

World skill, inter-tertiary sch sport like volleyball, basketball and netballs, cheerleading etc. just some of the example. pls dont confuse with the sport school, although it got compete with other schs, but the age group are different, they are mainly the seeds players of sec sch level (U-15/17), ITE/poly one mainly dont really that dedicated and 'old' players as compare to those from the sport sch (or innova JC).

haha dont look down lah, time change different generation got different way to growth/ develop... but people tense to perceive because of 'brand' n 'label'.

Edited by Cavver

standard batch? i thought tekong only for enhanced bmt?

standard as in non leadership. btw also got PTP , obese batch and 'modified' pes C n E which sgt treat recruits like vips.

Edited by Cavver