National Service in Singapore

Scb11980

Singapore lang really can hiam

Give also wrong, don't give also wrong, give a lot also wrong, give a bit also wrong

  On 4/7/2016 at 2:25 PM, Enye said:

Give also wrong, don't give also wrong, give a lot also wrong, give a bit also wrong

On 4/7/2016 at 11:47 AM, Ktglfc said:

I don't get anything as I have already ROD many years ago ...

Still, I am happy for our current NSmen ... any $ from garmen better take... don't take, also must return somewhere somehow sometime ...

So in the meantime, besides BB bonus, an extra $100 can be used for a dinner with love ones and propose to start a family or get married ... oh ya, $100 probably can't get a good engagement ring... :D

Then some minister will come out ask if you want a perlini silver wedding ring, poh heng wedding ring or a cartier wedding ring......

On 4/7/2016 at 11:58 PM, Mustank said:

Got perlini very goot liao

I was going say taobao [laugh]

http://m.intl.taobao.com/detail/detail.html?spm=a1z5f.7632060.0.0&id=521135453279

cannot lah... later people follow advice go buy liao, get nickel allergic contact dermatitis sure complain about the minister one... haha [laugh]

Eh dun pray pray, Perlini is my saviour during my pocket money funded school days for skirt chasing okaaayyy.

I have served in NS and I support that all citizens must serve the nation. We serve not because of that extra $100 or perks but because it is our duty to serve.

However, just because citizens have to serve does not mean the time spent are not properly utilized. Don't treat NS as free serve and make these young men performance tasks that you would have engage cheap labour.

For events, you may want to consider mobilizing schools rather than NS. If NS men have too much time, then shorten their NS duties not just to clock that 24 months.

The other issue I have with NS is, nobody should be given deferment. All deferments must be published. If it is your duty, why should individual be given special treatment?

If we don't protect our own nation, who will? The sensitive question is PR. Do they need to serve in NS? I am in the opinion, NO. But they could serve in other forms.

On 4/8/2016 at 12:18 AM, Victor68 said:

I have served in NS and I support that all citizens must serve the nation. We serve not because of that extra $100 or perks but because it is our duty to serve.

However, just because citizens have to serve does not mean the time spent are not properly utilized. Don't treat NS as free serve and make these young men performance tasks that you would have engage cheap labour.

For events, you may want to consider mobilizing schools rather than NS. If NS men have too much time, then shorten their NS duties not just to clock that 24 months.

The other issue I have with NS is, nobody should be given deferment. All deferments must be published. If it is your duty, why should individual be given special treatment?

If we don't protect our own nation, who will? The sensitive question is PR. Do they need to serve in NS? I am in the opinion, NO. But they could serve in other forms.

Personally I feel PR should be treated as transient labour. Use them for what they are intended for. Give suitable amount of incentive to keep them engaged. That's it. there is no need for them to serve in any other form other than economic contribution.

If you want further benefits, consider downgrading to the citizen class. that comes with the responsibility to serve.

On 4/7/2016 at 2:10 PM, Kangadrool said:

give just take lah...

those dun wan, transfer $100 into my sister island offshore bank account. :D

Wow, you got offshore bank account?

I only have one last time ... in pulau tekong during BMT :D

  On 4/8/2016 at 12:04 AM, Vratenza said:

cannot lah... later people follow advice go buy liao, get nickel allergic contact dermatitis sure complain about the minister one... haha [laugh]

Eh dun pray pray, Perlini is my saviour during my pocket money funded school days for skirt chasing okaaayyy.

How much is a perlini ring and what is it made of?

On 4/8/2016 at 1:16 AM, Kusje said:

How much is a perlini ring and what is it made of?

perlini is silver. dunnoe about ring but their necklaces and pendants are pocket friendly for a limited budget school kid... [:p]

My wedding ring....

Made from wolfram (also known by the uninitiated as tungsten :D)

Cost 110 per pair few years back so if they give 100 dollars, gotta downgrade leh :a-m1524:  

post-27068-0-19707800-1460078535_thumb.jpg

Edited by Kusje

  On 4/8/2016 at 1:22 AM, Vratenza said:

perlini is silver. dunnoe about ring but their necklaces and pendants are pocket friendly for a limited budget school kid... [:p]

What is pocket friendly?

The place look so expensive, I dare not step in as a student   :blink:  

On 4/7/2016 at 12:14 PM, Kusje said:

Boss..... 100 dollar can get a good engagement ring la.

My engagement ring (which also doubles up as the wedding ring) is 110 per set.

I think he nv pay tax  [sly]

Income from outside sg.

I think for those stationed overseas they can get exemption thus no need to do ICT. It's fair lah, if no serve nothing to receive.

On 4/8/2016 at 1:24 AM, Kusje said:

My wedding ring....

Made from wolfram (also known by the uninitiated as tungsten :D)

Cost 110 per pair few years back so if they give 100 dollars, gotta downgrade leh :a-m1524:  

nice sheen and color.

tungsten material is tough...from my rudimentary understanding, they are used to strengthen drill bits etc. Also the famous tungsten filament bulbs.

I guess it has more meaning than the usual soft gold or platinum.

On 4/8/2016 at 1:25 AM, Kusje said:

What is pocket friendly?

The place look so expensive, I dare not step in as a student   :blink:  

IIRC $50-$80 got change for a set of pendant and chain.

forgive my memory...it was more than 2 decades away.... :D

Your pocket money must be a lot... :D

The stuff I buy during student days (JC) are like 20 dollars or 40 dollars per set.

On 4/8/2016 at 1:45 AM, Kusje said:

Your pocket money must be a lot... :D

The stuff I buy during student days (JC) are like 20 dollars or 40 dollars per set.

save for months.....jiak loh ti lim gun zui  [laugh]

  On 4/8/2016 at 1:47 AM, Vratenza said:

save for months.....jiak loh ti lim gun zui  [laugh]

uh... save so many months... by then maybe change girl already how?

On 4/7/2016 at 2:25 PM, Enye said: