Kusje Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 yah, (almost) same here. except as i was finishing my 9-high, 4-low, 13-yr cycle, having done 8 highs and 2 lows, kanna played out by govt (this seems like a norm). they changed to 7-high, 3-low, 10-yr cycle. Having done 8 highs, we did more than required. But they said we only did 2 lows, so still owed one more low!!! The extra high key cannot compensate for one low key bloody hell, last low key still got forced march, which ended with stand-down parade in parade square. everybody just strolled slowly instead... I think it depends on unit commander (in your case, that guy is damn garang). My unit (obsolete vocation) has just RODed a bunch of folks who have only completed 5 HK.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 yah, (almost) same here. except as i was finishing my 9-high, 4-low, 13-yr cycle, having done 8 highs and 2 lows, kanna played out by govt (this seems like a norm). they changed to 7-high, 3-low, 10-yr cycle. Having done 8 highs, we did more than required. But they said we only did 2 lows, so still owed one more low!!! The extra high key cannot compensate for one low key bloody hell, last low key still got forced march, which ended with stand-down parade in parade square. everybody just strolled slowly instead... wah....reservist kana force march....cialak! My unit kana do 24km×3 days before roc trip. Everyweek 1 time do the march for 3 consecutive week. Lucky i didnt go as i had just had surgery on my wrist....1 week report with cast...no need go....2nd week must still report but with hospital letter....3rd one i din go but then still must go for ex-starlight....only trained for 1 week and i kenged due to injury the remaining 3-4 weeks while waiting for medical board. I think each unit have different types of training package.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 yah, (almost) same here. except as i was finishing my 9-high, 4-low, 13-yr cycle, having done 8 highs and 2 lows, kanna played out by govt (this seems like a norm). they changed to 7-high, 3-low, 10-yr cycle. Having done 8 highs, we did more than required. But they said we only did 2 lows, so still owed one more low!!! The extra high key cannot compensate for one low key bloody hell, last low key still got forced march, which ended with stand-down parade in parade square. everybody just strolled slowly instead... You red beret izzit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 Land near themselves that's their problem la. Imagine you stand behind him and he throws it at you.... Or imagine if you are the officer - SOP (i believe) is for you to shield the idiot.... Talk about officer, or specifically safety officer during live firing. During a bangalore torpedo live firing, the safety officer sprinted back towards cover way ahead of the firer, the NCO and supervising officer... we see already all shake heads... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 Talk about officer, or specifically safety officer during live firing. During a bangalore torpedo live firing, the safety officer sprinted back towards cover way ahead of the firer, the NCO and supervising officer... we see already all shake heads... No need to shake head la. All are NSF - just because you are designated an officer doesn't mean your life is less valuable than a recruit (and vice versa). I won't put my life on the line for someone else's stupidity (thankfully my vocation don't need otherwise I will need to think of 1001 ways to keng) and I certainly won't expect someone to put their life on the line for mine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 I think it depends on unit commander (in your case, that guy is damn garang). My unit (obsolete vocation) has just RODed a bunch of folks who have only completed 5 HK.... mai gong liao... my unit pai-miah lah... unit kanna Y2K NDP. spent 14 full sundays rehearsing. Then actual day parade commander cock-up'ed. Lucky i siam'ed that one and made up with overseas ex. For the NDP, the brigade S3 assured the unit that it's considered one high-key. Then by the time we almost MR, that S3 posted out liao, and the new team said those who went NDP needed to do one more high-key. Almost rioted, then finally dunno how, they relented. Then got one guy joined our batch after i think 3-4 cycles. Up till the end when we MR'ed, he still short of 1 high-key. One week before he was due to go for that last high-key, received a letter to say it was waived, and can MR liao... si bey bo-huah lah, we all... You red beret izzit? Nah, red beret only i think 5 yr hor... they know 5 yr after ROD, your fragile body cannot take it anymore i blue-beret (combat engr) turned black-beret. really is kanna blue-black all the way... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 (edited) mai gong liao... my unit pai-miah lah... unit kanna Y2K NDP. spent 14 full sundays rehearsing. Then actual day parade commander cock-up'ed. Lucky i siam'ed that one and made up with overseas ex. For the NDP, the brigade S3 assured the unit that it's considered one high-key. Then by the time we almost MR, that S3 posted out liao, and the new team said those who went NDP needed to do one more high-key. Almost rioted, then finally dunno how, they relented. LTC adam hamzah looks like we have much more in common.. Edited January 19, 2017 by SuPerBoRed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 You mean reservist still must perform NDP and across so many Sundays? What did the SAF 100s say? Siao lang unit indeed. Training to defend the country still can discuss but to waste 14 weekends on ndp wayang? I will issue them 14 MCs instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 safety officers are there for that purpose....today newspaper there was this sg guy that died in a shooting range apparently from a stray bullet. I think blurfarks are not only confined to Singapore! if not mistaken , the stray is at another range. it rebounce off a wall or metal object then hit the guy. the chance is even lower then act of god... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 mai gong liao... my unit pai-miah lah... unit kanna Y2K NDP. spent 14 full sundays rehearsing. Then actual day parade commander cock-up'ed. Lucky i siam'ed that one and made up with overseas ex. For the NDP, the brigade S3 assured the unit that it's considered one high-key. Then by the time we almost MR, that S3 posted out liao, and the new team said those who went NDP needed to do one more high-key. Almost rioted, then finally dunno how, they relented. Then got one guy joined our batch after i think 3-4 cycles. Up till the end when we MR'ed, he still short of 1 high-key. One week before he was due to go for that last high-key, received a letter to say it was waived, and can MR liao... si bey bo-huah lah, we all... Nah, red beret only i think 5 yr hor... they know 5 yr after ROD, your fragile body cannot take it anymore i blue-beret (combat engr) turned black-beret. really is kanna blue-black all the way... haha, I was also black beret. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 Depends what kind of war. I will fight a war to protect my family but not the land. where you raise your family if you don't protect the land......... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 No need to shake head la. All are NSF - just because you are designated an officer doesn't mean your life is less valuable than a recruit (and vice versa). I won't put my life on the line for someone else's stupidity (thankfully my vocation don't need otherwise I will need to think of 1001 ways to keng) and I certainly won't expect someone to put their life on the line for mine. I agree should not risk own life unnecessarily, definitely. That's the time when I became si bey kiasu and kiasi. my vocation is not the most dangerous, but already much more than most. whenever got any potential risks ones, must make sure everyone around all take sufficient precautions. Will really F people big time if anyone is not serious. but that case hor, really CMI hor. We were armoured pioneer, all trained in demolition, and that one was not on course all blur Fs... It was a routine part of the training program, and it was inserting a safety fuse with detonator into the BT, light the safety fuse, then retreat to under cover. The safety fuse was not super long, but got at least 20 sec to 'run' to cover that was only 20 m away. Imagine the SO who's supposed to ensure safety of all, then first one to zao! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 I agree should not risk own life unnecessarily, definitely. That's the time when I became si bey kiasu and kiasi. my vocation is not the most dangerous, but already much more than most. whenever got any potential risks ones, must make sure everyone around all take sufficient precautions. Will really F people big time if anyone is not serious. but that case hor, really CMI hor. We were armoured pioneer, all trained in demolition, and that one was not on course all blur Fs... It was a routine part of the training program, and it was inserting a safety fuse with detonator into the BT, light the safety fuse, then retreat to under cover. The safety fuse was not super long, but got at least 20 sec to 'run' to cover that was only 20 m away. Imagine the SO who's supposed to ensure safety of all, then first one to zao! Maybe he is a slow runner... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 LTC adam hamzah looks like we have much more in common.. ha ha... how were you involved? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 I agree should not risk own life unnecessarily, definitely. That's the time when I became si bey kiasu and kiasi. my vocation is not the most dangerous, but already much more than most. whenever got any potential risks ones, must make sure everyone around all take sufficient precautions. Will really F people big time if anyone is not serious. but that case hor, really CMI hor. We were armoured pioneer, all trained in demolition, and that one was not on course all blur Fs... It was a routine part of the training program, and it was inserting a safety fuse with detonator into the BT, light the safety fuse, then retreat to under cover. The safety fuse was not super long, but got at least 20 sec to 'run' to cover that was only 20 m away. Imagine the SO who's supposed to ensure safety of all, then first one to zao! We have artillery general who covers his eyes as if the world is ending in front of some fireworks so what's new? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 (edited) ha ha... how were you involved? he was my direct boss.. For guys who want to hear the true story... There was a fly past that arrived a tad late during the gun salute. The ear piece told him to go ahead and take the 3rd shot.. he made the decision to not take that shot. He faced a disciplinary inquiry after that which cleared him of any wrong doing. He didnt henta taki on rank... he was already going to maxed out LTC in the first place! Edited January 19, 2017 by SuPerBoRed 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 where you raise your family if you don't protect the land......... For me, anywhere also can as long as they will have me. I can honestly say I don't care if we are called Singapore or Malaysia. All sama sama to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 You mean reservist still must perform NDP and across so many Sundays? What did the SAF 100s say? Siao lang unit indeed. Training to defend the country still can discuss but to waste 14 weekends on ndp wayang? I will issue them 14 MCs instead. if i write a book on the salty-veggie life of my unit, i think sure can sell. Or minimally, Jack Neo can engage us to make ah boys to men for many more episodes... yes, NDP. Those bloody rehearsals meant early morning on sunday will report to sungei gedong camp, draw that stupid M16, then later go padang practice. Finished liao go back camp send arms then afterwards you get ready for Monday already The first SAF100A was to go to selarang camp for a briefing, where the S3 shared that piece of 'good news' lor. Subsequently no letter liao. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...