Atrecord Supersonic April 22, 2025 Share April 22, 2025 On 4/22/2025 at 8:19 AM, therock said: We didn’t complete a single lesson.. all we did was a lot of touching touch that tree push ups touch that bench push ups rifle overhead lots and lots of running 😅 Yes, my brother told me about it too. so when we saw it on our training program, i was like shit... still remember the instructor's logic/rationale to justify it: if you need to use your bayonet to fight enemy, that can only mean it's the last resort, you're prob gone through a tough battle and out of bullets and going to die liao. so must simulate the realistic conditions... 😓 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged April 22, 2025 Share April 22, 2025 On 4/22/2025 at 10:54 AM, Atrecord said: i've never been inside 16 before... must be shiok... inside vehicle not bad actually. so many full packs to use as cushion/pillow. not cold also. If it's not too long after cut engine, then top of vehicle in front near the engine grille there can indeed keep warm. In wallaby, we had no choice but to take out sleeping bag and sleep inside on the ground outside of vehicle - night time was really cold... talk about sleep, reminds me of one thing: within SAF, different formations the estabs/SOPs don't tally cos they dun talk. I was in combat engr, and was posted to armour engr unit, where i did the armour conversion course and started my long association with m113. during the course, we were taught to sleep inside the vehicle, anywhere, as long as not outside. Even on the ramp also can. Logic was that in event of emergency move-out (e.g. contacted or arty), no need to run about, just start engine, ramp up and off we go... then when we were posted out to armour formation, i think 2nd wk only got battalion ex, and we were involved. Night time, we did what we were taught during our course (in Engr), and slept inside/on top of vehicle, on the ramp, etc. And becos we were support coy attached to coy line, my vehicle was near to OC & 2IC vehicle in the middle of the larguer site. Night time CO came to see OC and passed by my vehicle. He saw my section men sleeping on the ramp, and straight asked who is the section/vehicle commander. Lucky we got one guy awake manning the weapon, and he (without knowing/seeing who was asking) called me (i was sleeping on top of the m113). i was tired after whole day's ex, and didn't know what was happening, but still climbed down. My eyes were still not fully opened, and then this fella (whom i didn't even recognise in full darkness) just pulled my collars and yelled 'why did you allow your men to sleep in the vehicle'? Then he promptly turned to his side and told BSO to take down my name!!! at that moment, i finally became awake but still didn't react much, being stunned by the happening. After ex, went back camp, my PC asked me what happened in the field, and told me that it was the CO who pulled my collar, cos apparently in armour formation, estab was must sleep in marked up (using white tape) area behind/to side of vehicle, and cannot sleep inside... So CO was angry when he saw my section sleeping inside vehicle, and wanted to punish me !#@$%&?> Heng my PC after hearing that, explained to CO that we were just posted over from Engr and Engr teachings/estab is opp to Armour's (which we were just only made aware of), so i was let off the hook... TMD, never even apologised for scaring me in the middle of the night and pulling my collar... 😅 Similar happen in my unit during battalion exercise to my friend who was a PC. In the dark, he was doing his checks when he saw someone no helmet weapon etc walking around... so he pulled the fella and demanded in typical army language who the duck walk around like that, only to get the reply :"commander..". End up was Brigade 2IC He just said sorry sir and left... nothing more was heard. 😂 Things just happen in the field la... 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 22, 2025 Share April 22, 2025 (edited) On 4/22/2025 at 11:26 AM, Playtime said: Similar happen in my unit during battalion exercise to my friend who was a PC. In the dark, he was doing his checks when he saw someone no helmet weapon etc walking around... so he pulled the fella and demanded in typical army language who the duck walk around like that, only to get the reply :"commander..". End up was Brigade 2IC He just said sorry sir and left... nothing more was heard. 😂 Things just happen in the field la... thats good, he did his job well. nothing to be sorry about. Edited April 22, 2025 by Throttle2 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic April 22, 2025 Share April 22, 2025 On 4/22/2025 at 11:26 AM, Playtime said: Similar happen in my unit during battalion exercise to my friend who was a PC. In the dark, he was doing his checks when he saw someone no helmet weapon etc walking around... so he pulled the fella and demanded in typical army language who the duck walk around like that, only to get the reply :"commander..". End up was Brigade 2IC He just said sorry sir and left... nothing more was heard. 😂 Things just happen in the field la... This one a bit different lah. in my case, it was a 2-crab pull the collar of a 2-stripe leh... heng i was still semi awake and didn't know it was CO then, if not sure balls shrink... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic April 22, 2025 Share April 22, 2025 On 4/22/2025 at 11:53 AM, Throttle2 said: thats good, he did his job well. nothing to be sorry about. exactly. another time, i was on guard duty, and lucky it was my rest period. The guard commander at the gate kena... it was wee hours and got one rover with a Major in the passenger seat came and said wanted to come into camp. sentry looked at guard commander, and they saluted the Maj, then let him in... Think he was looking for toilet and our camp was nearest Area D, so chose us... Rover left a while later. Next morning, RSM asked to see the guard cmdr and sentry and gave them extras... asked them why anyhow let outsiders in... 😖 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged April 22, 2025 Share April 22, 2025 On 4/22/2025 at 11:26 AM, Playtime said: Similar happen in my unit during battalion exercise to my friend who was a PC. In the dark, he was doing his checks when he saw someone no helmet weapon etc walking around... so he pulled the fella and demanded in typical army language who the duck walk around like that, only to get the reply :"commander..". End up was Brigade 2IC He just said sorry sir and left... nothing more was heard. 😂 Things just happen in the field la... never ask to authenticate? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic April 22, 2025 Share April 22, 2025 (edited) On 4/22/2025 at 10:54 AM, Atrecord said: i've never been inside 16 before... must be shiok... inside vehicle not bad actually. so many full packs to use as cushion/pillow. not cold also. If it's not too long after cut engine, then top of vehicle in front near the engine grille there can indeed keep warm. In wallaby, we had no choice but to take out sleeping bag and sleep inside on the ground outside of vehicle - night time was really cold... talk about sleep, reminds me of one thing: within SAF, different formations the estabs/SOPs don't tally cos they dun talk. I was in combat engr, and was posted to armour engr unit, where i did the armour conversion course and started my long association with m113. during the course, we were taught to sleep inside the vehicle, anywhere, as long as not outside. Even on the ramp also can. Logic was that in event of emergency move-out (e.g. contacted or arty), no need to run about, just start engine, ramp up and off we go... then when we were posted out to armour formation, i think 2nd wk only got battalion ex, and we were involved. Night time, we did what we were taught during our course (in Engr), and slept inside/on top of vehicle, on the ramp, etc. And becos we were support coy attached to coy line, my vehicle was near to OC & 2IC vehicle in the middle of the larguer site. Night time CO came to see OC and passed by my vehicle. He saw my section men sleeping on the ramp, and straight asked who is the section/vehicle commander. Lucky we got one guy awake manning the weapon, and he (without knowing/seeing who was asking) called me (i was sleeping on top of the m113). i was tired after whole day's ex, and didn't know what was happening, but still climbed down. My eyes were still not fully opened, and then this fella (whom i didn't even recognise in full darkness) just pulled my collars and yelled 'why did you allow your men to sleep in the vehicle'? Then he promptly turned to his side and told BSO to take down my name!!! at that moment, i finally became awake but still didn't react much, being stunned by the happening. After ex, went back camp, my PC asked me what happened in the field, and told me that it was the CO who pulled my collar, cos apparently in armour formation, estab was must sleep in marked up (using white tape) area behind/to side of vehicle, and cannot sleep inside... So CO was angry when he saw my section sleeping inside vehicle, and wanted to punish me !#@$%&?> Heng my PC after hearing that, explained to CO that we were just posted over from Engr and Engr teachings/estab is opp to Armour's (which we were just only made aware of), so i was let off the hook... TMD, never even apologised for scaring me in the middle of the night and pulling my collar... 😅 Armour people very funny one. Got vehicles don't want to use. Sleep inside is much safer - from vehicles running you over at night, snakes, scorpions and also ticks (in Wallaby). And during actual ops got protection from fire don't want? White tape if no light also cannot see. He could have stepped on your soldiers. who's that stupid CO? Edited April 22, 2025 by Volvobrick 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic April 22, 2025 Share April 22, 2025 On 4/22/2025 at 11:26 AM, Playtime said: Similar happen in my unit during battalion exercise to my friend who was a PC. In the dark, he was doing his checks when he saw someone no helmet weapon etc walking around... so he pulled the fella and demanded in typical army language who the duck walk around like that, only to get the reply :"commander..". End up was Brigade 2IC He just said sorry sir and left... nothing more was heard. 😂 Things just happen in the field la... Never took the opportunity to smack his head first. Wasted! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic April 22, 2025 Share April 22, 2025 On 4/21/2025 at 4:49 PM, mersaylee said: The batch before mine the G coy got the best coy award...then all my up and down the 6 floor ITD penthouse for 3 mths contributed to K coy to get the award...well...kilo in hokkien...😂 My platoon sergeant really a sadistic fellow...saw him when we as recruits were picking up our barang barang bags before going onto the RPL...scolded almost everyone he cum acrossed...even the instructors also macam mouse sees a cat liddat...i oredi prayed hard not to have him as my sergeant...then at parade square of camp 3...he proudly announced he's the deputy sergeant major for kilo coy cum my platoon sergeant...i nearly cry insai me...true enuf...siao on kilo platoons the entire time...even G coy also wondered why we more siao on than them...always sang the loudest...marched the most in parade square...went up and down the stairs ever so often as punishment in the form of change parade training...where got vest and slacks with helmet and SBO one...? Well, we did that...and looked comical...maybe we got the comedy award instead...😅 My BMT time, I was foxtrot slightly better... Told my platoon mates we were luckier than those 5th and 6th floor guys🤣. Especially during change parade...🤦... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 22, 2025 Share April 22, 2025 On 4/22/2025 at 7:11 PM, Atonchia said: My BMT time, I was foxtrot slightly better... Told my platoon mates we were luckier than those 5th and 6th floor guys🤣. Especially during change parade...🤦... My batch F and M coy most shiok...F with a lot of senior recruits...M all obese...my fren the slimmest of entire M coy kena ocs...😂 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic April 25, 2025 Share April 25, 2025 @Ender my son....ROD lo 😆 . 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged April 25, 2025 Share April 25, 2025 On 4/25/2025 at 8:06 AM, TangoCharlie said: @Ender my son....ROD lo 😆 . what unit is that? the banner say 9 SIR? half in berret? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic April 25, 2025 Share April 25, 2025 On 4/25/2025 at 10:39 AM, Playtime said: what unit is that? the banner say 9 SIR? half in berret? Cap ones are MP specs, berret are infantry trained. All under 9 SIR. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged April 25, 2025 Share April 25, 2025 On 4/25/2025 at 11:00 AM, TangoCharlie said: Cap ones are MP specs, berret are infantry trained. All under 9 SIR. huh? tot only commando and guards will berret? noe infantry also berret liao? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic April 25, 2025 Share April 25, 2025 On 4/25/2025 at 11:02 AM, Playtime said: huh? tot only commando and guards will berret? noe infantry also berret liao? Your time got such parade? Mine just collect signatures on clearance firm, collect IC and bye bye. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged April 25, 2025 Share April 25, 2025 On 4/25/2025 at 11:33 AM, TangoCharlie said: Your time got such parade? Mine just collect signatures on clearance firm, collect IC and bye bye. dont have also la.... own time own target go aorund get signatures from all the relevant department. then leave quietly. im just surprise to see those infantry also wear berret. my time infantry in No1 uniform dont wear berret one leh. only guard and commando. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 25, 2025 Share April 25, 2025 On 4/25/2025 at 11:37 AM, Playtime said: dont have also la.... own time own target go aorund get signatures from all the relevant department. then leave quietly. im just surprise to see those infantry also wear berret. my time infantry in No1 uniform dont wear berret one leh. only guard and commando. your time your time, your time is what time? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 25, 2025 Share April 25, 2025 (edited) On 4/25/2025 at 11:33 AM, TangoCharlie said: Your time got such parade? Mine just collect signatures on clearance firm, collect IC and bye bye. My whole company was on block leave the last month of service, some started school, some started working before ROD. On the day all went back and reported to chief clerk, signed all papers and gathered at parade sq collect IC from PS. Once last IC collected, we formed one round ard our CB PS, and on count of 3, all showed him the middle finger and left. The lanlan smile on his face was priceless. Edited April 25, 2025 by Tianmo ↡ Advertisement 1 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...