National Service in Singapore

Scb11980

On 11/3/2024 at 10:53 PM, therock said:

Off season la so only four of us

they each used one tent so I was very busy helping them

but eventually they set it up themselves 

it was my first outdoor camping trip in USA and pretty fun 

cold at night but sleeping on grass was really soft and with the right gear it was not unpleasant 

I hope to bring my baby there and do it again in future if they’ll take an old foggy 

or wait for your baby to become a young adult, then go. not sure how lao kok kok you will be by then.  😁

On 11/4/2024 at 8:44 AM, Mkl22 said:

or wait for your baby to become a young adult, then go. not sure how lao kok kok you will be by then.  😁

I might be old liao… 😢 

I will try for just before primary school 

was running about yesterday 

my meatball has good legs and strong muscles 💪 

I reckon I did my day’s cardio flying kites together 😮‍💨 

On 11/3/2024 at 11:44 PM, Shibadog said:

u are absolutely right

i joined a mountaineering/tramping club in my university in New Zealand. The uni guys/gals are very passionate and fit, and were mostly decked out in premium gear (Goretex, goosedown) for the terrain and weather while i had to hurriedly buy cheap (read heavy) gear for the trips. i managed to keep up - with full effort - despite carrying much heavier backpack and had a great time with them. A great way to see the national parks. Stayed mostly in the govt-built huts along the trekking routes. i joined the uni club's regular treks and skipped the alpine ones lol

i wouldn't be able to do this now, for various reasons. Fitness level being a key one.

interesting location for your Uni. nice.

I started visiting national parks only when i was nearing mid 30s. fitness wasnt that good liao... and was with wifey too. I was more the driver, food, water, camera, camera tripot carrier, look a bit like FBO going mission actually 😆 NZ, Aus, Canada, US, no campings, but lotsa treks.

At the risk of offending local girls, i found the ladies there a lot more into outdoors. Met quite a few who were on tough multi day trips through mountains with very heavy packs.

In fact, met many elderly folks too in rather remote locations. They are a lot healthier than our average old folks here. Guess its a national past time to them.

Most ridiculous... did a very tough 3-4 hour hike up a steep canadian mountain where many turn back, after reaching top, behind us came a young couple, lady was heavily pregnant, easily 8 months.😱... damn tough chicks.

On 11/4/2024 at 10:00 AM, Playtime said:

interesting location for your Uni. nice.

I started visiting national parks only when i was nearing mid 30s. fitness wasnt that good liao... and was with wifey too. I was more the driver, food, water, camera, camera tripot carrier, look a bit like FBO going mission actually 😆 NZ, Aus, Canada, US, no campings, but lotsa treks.

At the risk of offending local girls, i found the ladies there a lot more into outdoors. Met quite a few who were on tough multi day trips through mountains with very heavy packs.

In fact, met many elderly folks too in rather remote locations. They are a lot healthier than our average old folks here. Guess its a national past time to them.

Most ridiculous... did a very tough 3-4 hour hike up a steep canadian mountain where many turn back, after reaching top, behind us came a young couple, lady was heavily pregnant, easily 8 months.😱... damn tough chicks.

i'd do a lot more trekking if i lived in a location with such easy access to mountains and national parks. 

i was only there for 6mths but felt i learned more there than in my 2yr+ in SG uni

i did a half marathon whilst i was there. i was quite confident as i had been running a lot in SG before that and had also done a full marathon in SG just before moving there. I also had been running around the hills in my NZ uni. The half marathon knocked me out... it was very hilly as it went into one of the national parks lol. but quite fun as the people manning the drink stations were very encouraging to the runners. The awesome scenery also helped with motivation.

On 11/11/2024 at 12:08 PM, Lala81 said:

Before my time. 

This is my time. 

Before my time. 

This was the first army song I learned in NS, and the very first song we sang on the first day of enlistment, recruit led recruits. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

u are absolutely right

i joined a mountaineering/tramping club in my university in New Zealand. The uni guys/gals are very passionate and fit, and were mostly decked out in premium gear (Goretex, goosedown) for the terrain and weather while i had to hurriedly buy cheap (read heavy) gear for the trips. i managed to keep up - with full effort - despite carrying much heavier backpack and had a great time with them. A great way to see the national parks. Stayed mostly in the govt-built huts along the trekking routes. i joined the uni club's regular treks and skipped the alpine ones lol

i wouldn't be able to do this now, for various reasons. Fitness level being a key one.

I did my first NZ trek when I turned 60. I foolishly signed up for the Milford Track deep in SI, thinking it was a touristy Milford Sound. Ha ha. It was a happy mistake to trek for 5 days with a 8kg pack and going uphill. Unforgettable scenery of virgin forests, rivers, lakes and waterfalls. I was not at my fittest, but still made it to the end unaided and without injury. Being a sportsman all my life helped my overall fitness and strength. What kept me going everyday on the trek was what waited for me at the end of each day. Hot shower, heated en-suite rooms, 3-course meals served to me at my table, wine and chatting with 30 fellow trekkers from around the world. Not exactly hardship trekking, but at my age, why subject myself to hardship trekking when I can afford the luxury.

Since then, I have been bitten by the trekking bug and have gone to do solo treks in NZ  and Tasmania.

Before my time. 

wah temesek grenn...i can only claim to use steelpot helmet.

u are absolutely right

Here hiking in the wild means heat, humidity, sweat and stickiness, and beating off mosquitoes [laugh]

Overseas temperate climate so good for hiking and trekking .

On 11/11/2024 at 1:21 PM, serenade said:

I did my first NZ trek when I turned 60. I foolishly signed up for the Milford Track deep in SI, thinking it was a touristy Milford Sound. Ha ha. It was a happy mistake to trek for 5 days with a 8kg pack and going uphill. Unforgettable scenery of virgin forests, rivers, lakes and waterfalls. I was not at my fittest, but still made it to the end unaided and without injury. Being a sportsman all my life helped my overall fitness and strength. What kept me going everyday on the trek was what waited for me at the end of each day. Hot shower, heated en-suite rooms, 3-course meals served to me at my table, wine and chatting with 30 fellow trekkers from around the world. Not exactly hardship trekking, but at my age, why subject myself to hardship trekking when I can afford the luxury.

Since then, I have been bitten by the trekking bug and have gone to do solo treks in NZ  and Tasmania.

How many km/hrs of walking each day?

Have you done the Craddle Mountain 200km one? 

On 11/11/2024 at 2:01 PM, Volvobrick said:

How many km/hrs of walking each day?

Have you done the Craddle Mountain 200km one? 

I can only do easy treks. No shame. Lol. 

10-12 hrs walking each day, including side excursions to waterfalls and lakes.

I did not do full Cradle Mountain in Tassie. I did the start at Cradle, then the end at Lake St Clair. Cradle Mountain the scenery is quite the same throughout. Unlike Milford where day by day it changes. The nicest animal to see along Cradle Mtn is the cute wombat. 

Tasmania is full of beautiful same day walks that are easily accessible but deserted. Many times I was the only trekker on non-tourist trails. E.g Cradle Mountain fern gulley, Levern Valley, The Nut and Macquarie Harbour.

On 11/11/2024 at 1:59 PM, Volvobrick said:

Steel pot - worn that during BMT.... 

Many have their necks shortened by 2cm...😅

On 11/11/2024 at 1:55 PM, Sosaria said:

Here hiking in the wild means heat, humidity, sweat and stickiness, and beating off mosquitoes [laugh]

Overseas temperate climate so good for hiking and trekking .

Not really hor.... outside of cold season, the temperature and sun also terrible. 

You go say Alaska Canada,  their mosquitos are many times more numerous,  aggressive  and bigger than anything I had in Tekong. They literally whole cloud follow behind as you walk. And once you stop, you can have platoon level landing on you 😱

On 11/11/2024 at 2:52 PM, Playtime said:

Not really hor.... outside of cold season, the temperature and sun also terrible. 

You go say Alaska Canada,  their mosquitos are many times more numerous,  aggressive  and bigger than anything I had in Tekong. They literally whole cloud follow behind as you walk. And once you stop, you can have platoon level landing on you 😱

Literally AMDK...angmoh mosquito dua kee 😅

Before my time. 

My time some verses were a bit different...i tink my instructors altered them to suit our kilo company on the 6th floor...

"zah kee kee lai sian gee gee, kio liao taxi loh cmpb"

"ITD see luc(six) lao chu, see goon siao dee geh jiak hong chu..." etc