Tianmo Hypersonic October 30, 2024 Share October 30, 2024 On 10/29/2024 at 4:55 PM, Rayleigh said: Last year, i went for 12 day walk from Portugal to Spain. Everyday, i was wearing SAF Airforce Tees cos it is light and easy to dry. One fine day, an Ang Mo Bu came up to me and chatted with me cos she recognize me from the Airforce Tee i has been wearing. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Did she end up helping you take off the t shirt? ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic October 30, 2024 Share October 30, 2024 My regret was not buying the gortex jacket back then only $130 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged October 31, 2024 Share October 31, 2024 On 10/30/2024 at 6:58 PM, therock said: My regret was not buying the gortex jacket back then only $130 But unless you are really into hard-core outdoor, camping activities etc, it really isn't that great to have. Plus... during my time... it was bulky and not that convenient to pack around, just hang in the rover. Better commercial options available lor.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged November 1, 2024 Share November 1, 2024 I cut up goretex jacket before. and the survivor thanked me later at a random meet at a different time and country. i strongly believe in the Holy Ghost. dun pray pray ah. smack you when you least expect it ah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged November 1, 2024 Share November 1, 2024 On 11/1/2024 at 10:01 AM, Datsun366 said: I cut up goretex jacket before. and the survivor thanked me later at a random meet at a different time and country. i strongly believe in the Holy Ghost. dun pray pray ah. smack you when you least expect it ah. ou cut for what??? no matter where u buy, its not exactly cheap leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged November 1, 2024 Share November 1, 2024 (edited) Needed to cut. the life more expensive. Ntu grad that one. imagine that batu wearing the goretex, Batu more valuable. Edited November 1, 2024 by Datsun366 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged November 1, 2024 Share November 1, 2024 On 11/1/2024 at 11:00 AM, Datsun366 said: Needed to cut. the life more expensive. Ntu grad that one. imagine that batu wearing the goretex, Batu more valuable. i know u always very cryptic one... but tell the proper story for once leh 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged November 1, 2024 Share November 1, 2024 The story, neverending. Atreyu managed to get Atarax completely out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic November 1, 2024 Share November 1, 2024 On 11/1/2024 at 7:41 AM, Playtime said: But unless you are really into hard-core outdoor, camping activities etc, it really isn't that great to have. Plus... during my time... it was bulky and not that convenient to pack around, just hang in the rover. Better commercial options available lor.. Oh, in my younger days, I did some serious hiking... Denver to LA, SF to Seattle, Nepal etc etc.. This was cheap - I wasn't able to afford those Arcterex stuff... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged November 1, 2024 Share November 1, 2024 On 11/1/2024 at 7:45 PM, therock said: Oh, in my younger days, I did some serious hiking... Denver to LA, SF to Seattle, Nepal etc etc.. This was cheap - I wasn't able to afford those Arcterex stuff... 😳... Denver to LA... according to Google that about 1000 miles??? WOW!!!... that's a bucket list item.👍... wish I had that kinda memories. Who u went with if I may ask? I always felt just after NS would been the best time to take a long hiking holiday with army buddies while still fit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic November 1, 2024 Share November 1, 2024 I joined a group called Trek America.. You pay to go with a group of up to 13 pax, cook your own meals but the guide is provided, and tents and such are also provided.. I was the oldest by far even back then, haha I cook well so I did most of the cooking, they wash up... I did my tent set up quickly, army trained... and it was not hardship, just cold at nights.. Very unforgettable seeing the sunrise at Monument Valley for example.. 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged November 3, 2024 Share November 3, 2024 On 11/1/2024 at 9:42 PM, therock said: I joined a group called Trek America.. You pay to go with a group of up to 13 pax, cook your own meals but the guide is provided, and tents and such are also provided.. I was the oldest by far even back then, haha I cook well so I did most of the cooking, they wash up... I did my tent set up quickly, army trained... and it was not hardship, just cold at nights.. Very unforgettable seeing the sunrise at Monument Valley for example.. Very nice! Is indeed difficult to find like-minded friends to do these things, that's why there are such organised groups. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic November 3, 2024 Share November 3, 2024 On 11/3/2024 at 8:56 PM, Sosaria said: Very nice! Is indeed difficult to find like-minded friends to do these things, that's why there are such organised groups. Well the first group I joined consisted of three gals one Olympic rower, one triathlete and an au pair the last cooked the most and I just helped clean up and set up tents for that trip 🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic November 3, 2024 Share November 3, 2024 At least very much less humid to trek. And cool weather. The heat and humidity here is horrible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged November 3, 2024 Share November 3, 2024 On 11/3/2024 at 9:43 PM, therock said: Well the first group I joined consisted of three gals one Olympic rower, one triathlete and an au pair the last cooked the most and I just helped clean up and set up tents for that trip 🤣 Wah.... 3 girls go camping with you.. you must be very rocky for them to agree 😂 Sounds like a slasher movie script... or Japanese documentary 🤣 But seriously, why did they group like that? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic November 3, 2024 Share November 3, 2024 On 11/3/2024 at 10:14 PM, Playtime said: Wah.... 3 girls go camping with you.. you must be very rocky for them to agree 😂 Sounds like a slasher movie script... or Japanese documentary 🤣 But seriously, why did they group like that? Off season la so only four of us they each used one tent so I was very busy helping them but eventually they set it up themselves it was my first outdoor camping trip in USA and pretty fun cold at night but sleeping on grass was really soft and with the right gear it was not unpleasant I hope to bring my baby there and do it again in future if they’ll take an old foggy 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged November 3, 2024 Share November 3, 2024 On 11/1/2024 at 9:32 PM, Playtime said: I always felt just after NS would been the best time to take a long hiking holiday with army buddies while still fit. u are absolutely right i joined a mountaineering/tramping club in my university in New Zealand. The uni guys/gals are very passionate and fit, and were mostly decked out in premium gear (Goretex, goosedown) for the terrain and weather while i had to hurriedly buy cheap (read heavy) gear for the trips. i managed to keep up - with full effort - despite carrying much heavier backpack and had a great time with them. A great way to see the national parks. Stayed mostly in the govt-built huts along the trekking routes. i joined the uni club's regular treks and skipped the alpine ones lol i wouldn't be able to do this now, for various reasons. Fitness level being a key one. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic November 3, 2024 Share November 3, 2024 Here’s the funny thing in sg camping is associated with NS but I thoroughly enjoyed it and that smell of grass and its softness… with the sound of a stream or better yet the ocean best experience was waking up to see sunrise at monument valley 👍 ↡ Advertisement 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...