Tianmo Hypersonic September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/12/2023 at 1:28 PM, 13177 said: Many guys are physical unfit before enlisted but become very fit after end of BMT. My pull-up was zero before enlisted, but end of BMT with pull-up easily can do above 10. 😅 Now leh? ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/12/2023 at 2:05 PM, Tianmo said: Now leh? You bad lah ... 😂 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/12/2023 at 2:05 PM, Tianmo said: Now leh? spare tire more than number of pull ups 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/12/2023 at 2:05 PM, Tianmo said: Now leh? Errr...... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/12/2023 at 11:53 AM, Mkl22 said: ya, my good friend plays rugby in secondary and JC. end up as pes C2 signal storeman, who can book out for SAFSA training. same here bro, my coy OC runner is also SAFSA rugby player, stay out and goes for SAFSA training, seldom see him at company line at all.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/12/2023 at 1:28 PM, 13177 said: Many guys are physical unfit before enlisted but become very fit after end of BMT. My pull-up was zero before enlisted, but end of BMT with pull-up easily can do above 10. 😅 agree, zero fighters will do more push ups and pull ups while others can rest in bunks, so naturally can do at least 6 by end of bmt unless is really sibeh unfit or gengster 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/12/2023 at 10:57 AM, Tianmo said: I was talking to my son the other day, and he said he had a discussion with a senior recently. They agree that NS challenge now is how to work about medical fit and physical fit. Firstly more are educated now, and more are wearing glasses. And then because more students gets into sports more competitively, there are more sports injuries leading to more medically unfit guys who are physical very fit. To Mindef, medically fit but physical unfit can be push and train, and those physically fit but medically unfit is not worth the risk. So we now see more physical unfit guys in physically demanding vocations. But then that would also mean could be more injuries during training. The selection pool is getting smaller. during my time i think the pool of none spec guys is already small, even SOF came to our unit to do recruitment 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/12/2023 at 3:14 PM, Gunzy said: agree, zero fighters will do more push ups and pull ups while others can rest in bunks, so naturally can do at least 6 by end of bmt unless is really sibeh unfit or gengster Ya lo, back then all my platoon mates can rest in bunks after dinner, but those who cannot do pull-up at all like me, need to do extra training almost every night. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/12/2023 at 3:16 PM, Gunzy said: during my time i think the pool of none spec guys is already small, even SOF came to our unit to do recruitment What about fighter pilot? Nowadays there are barely any kids without specs😅 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/12/2023 at 3:49 PM, Beregond said: What about fighter pilot? Nowadays there are barely any kids without specs😅 Those who can LASIK will be recruited. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/11/2023 at 3:24 PM, Gunzy said: lol, i saw a pretty beefed up guy who always do extra for the static stations and end up failed the balancing test...sob sob i rem my time need to fill in the form after the end of the whole test n interview, and i foolishly filled in engineer as the 1st choice...thought can do some interesting engineering stuffs🤪 you also engineer? another name for it is pioneer, but of course when we first started NS, didn't know any of these terms anyway... And i remember during BMT posting, when those read out said posted to pioneer, they could have been thinking posted to go be writer/editor/reporter for the Pioneer magazine (how many here remember this magazine??)... 🤣 quite sure they were in for a shock at the reality later when found out need to build bridge, do minefield, play explosives, deal with concentina wires, etc... 😂 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/12/2023 at 11:53 AM, Mkl22 said: ya, my good friend plays rugby in secondary and JC. end up as pes C2 signal storeman, who can book out for SAFSA training. my senior in JC represented the college in football, rugby, tennis and softball. then when i was on course during NS, saw him sitting in training shed with a stretcher and medic pouch besides him... became a medic 😆 said his body full of injury so was downgraded... but later both him and his elder brother apparently represented SG for softball also... and he became PE teacher... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Columbian78 6th Gear September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 Haha, share my experience 20+ years ago. I received a letter to attend vocational assignment thing in cmpb before my enlistment. Only when I was there then I knew it was for cdo screening. First time I saw healthy fit looking males suddenly cannot do any push-ups, pull ups etc. Yes, some really is zero. Felt sibei dulan and disgusted. There was a list of vocations for us to indicate our interest so I put cdo first and told the captain (incoming OC) during the interview I want. I was a young and aggressive man then. So there was basic rank pay. On top of that there is +$250 allowance for cdo that have turned ops (gotten red beret). I was nsf 3sg and it was around 700+ a mth i think. Of cos now it must be alot higher. 5 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/12/2023 at 4:01 PM, Atrecord said: you also engineer? another name for it is pioneer, but of course when we first started NS, didn't know any of these terms anyway... And i remember during BMT posting, when those read out said posted to pioneer, they could have been thinking posted to go be writer/editor/reporter for the Pioneer magazine (how many here remember this magazine??)... 🤣 quite sure they were in for a shock at the reality later when found out need to build bridge, do minefield, play explosives, deal with concentina wires, etc... 😂 Pioneer most stress job. Dig and dig and dig. Fill endless sand bags. And lay con wires. 😅 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/12/2023 at 4:28 PM, Beregond said: Pioneer most stress job. Dig and dig and dig. Fill endless sand bags. And lay con wires. 😅 Lay con wires super siong. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/10/2023 at 10:30 PM, Atrecord said: talking of CDO, i am quite shocked that nowadays so many young kids choose it... during my time, all siam'ed CDO like anything... i even went to sign up airforce (but failed checkup) after going CDO interview... 😓 How the thinking has changed over 30 years. During my time, the older folks will tell me, bo geng buay chut peng. Now, I tell my kids, before enlistment, aim for command school, if possible, and learn something while serving the nation. What doesn't kill you will make you stronger. But noone got into OCS. 😂 1 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/12/2023 at 6:44 PM, Voodooman said: How the thinking has changed over 30 years. During my time, the older folks will tell me, bo geng buay chut peng. Now, I tell my kids, before enlistment, aim for command school, if possible, and learn something while serving the nation. What doesn't kill you will make you stronger. But noone got into OCS. 😂 It is true that getting into OCS must be some elite then can make it? Like people say must be someone who is 文武双全. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic September 12, 2023 Share September 12, 2023 On 9/12/2023 at 4:43 PM, 13177 said: Lay con wires super siong. My No 4 pants kana cut many hole by it. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...