Ender Hypersonic September 9, 2023 Share September 9, 2023 On 9/9/2023 at 3:28 PM, Tianmo said: See? NS now is quite different liao. My younger daughter's friends her age all enlisted, and they come over to my place quite offen, and talk to them and feel so jealous. Now army don't keep their IC and passport anymore, during NS can still go holiday, and can apply leave during BMT, last time think also never think can like that. I mean if you spoke to him and already understand, you also need to understand that he has grown up. He was a young boy back then, maybe now he looked back he might be laughing at the silly young boy. Maybe he has left it behind and moved on, but he can't do that if you refuse to. You know, sometimes I would fark my son and remain him of stubborn decisions he made against my advice when he was younger, which were obviously wrong. His replies were always, come on man, I was a boy, let's not talk about it, now pls leave me alone. And then I killed that subject totally, never brought up again. I know such conversation won't happen to you and your son, but maybe the same answer he has for you? In case most of you guys doesn't notice, I haven't been in control or influence in his life choices.. I believe he has to live his own life. But that doesn't mean that I let go of my concern. I think as a parent, when you child utter those words of gloom and doom, it's like a shock I can never recover from. He will always has my extreme concern for life. And it's because of this, he also has my complete non interference of his choices in life. I more liberal than what you guys would think. His choice of culinary path is something I disagree, but never voiced out. He doesn't even know silently I wish he had chosen a path that is more academic, and he thought I supported him whole heartily. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 9, 2023 Share September 9, 2023 On 9/9/2023 at 3:46 PM, Ender said: In case most of you guys doesn't notice, I haven't been in control or influence in his life choices.. I believe he has to live his own life. But that doesn't mean that I let go of my concern. I think as a parent, when you child utter those words of gloom and doom, it's like a shock I can never recover from. He will always has my extreme concern for life. And it's because of this, he also has my complete non interference of his choices in life. I more liberal than what you guys would think. His choice of culinary path is something I disagree, but never voiced out. He doesn't even know silently I wish he had chosen a path that is more academic, and he thought I supported him whole heartily. Yah, we spoke about it, and I understand. 家家有本难念的经, you are his father, you rightfully know him better. Do what you think and feel is right and good for him. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 9, 2023 Share September 9, 2023 On 9/9/2023 at 3:34 PM, Tianmo said: My son's friend, "A" level fellow act blur kena driver, now in NTU year 2 already, cannot speak Hokkien one. Can la. Basic Hokkien also counted. Everyone knows “jiak png”… and the ubiquitous “KNNBCCB” used by all races! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 9, 2023 Share September 9, 2023 On 9/9/2023 at 3:34 PM, Tianmo said: My son's friend, "A" level fellow act blur kena driver, now in NTU year 2 already, cannot speak Hokkien one. Can la. Basic Hokkien also counted. Everyone knows “jiak png”… and the ubiquitous “KNNBCCB” used by all races! if one completes NS without this ringing in their ears, then must be a PES E clerk in mindef! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zipping Supersonic September 9, 2023 Share September 9, 2023 iirc for cdo/ndu, u will get a letter inviting u to their camp for "testing" b4 cmpb letter. If u tio cmpb letter alr, no more cdo/ndu unless u go request 4 it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 9, 2023 Share September 9, 2023 On 9/9/2023 at 3:08 PM, Beregond said: now no hokkien peng liao la. esp if he is tekong bmt, all AM peng nia😂 No AM...unless new citizen offspring...locals are now potato peng 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic September 9, 2023 Share September 9, 2023 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic September 9, 2023 Share September 9, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 11:53 AM, Ender said: Google review suggest that Stgmont camp has one of the best cook house food. Also training not as siong, mostly lectures in aircon room from what I read on Reddit. Basic training for first few months is not siong, then depends on your assigned vocation. Majority get a permanent posting at Stagmont after completion of basic course. Some better than others but all are stayed in Monday to Friday. Booked in Sunday night. Don't think it is an easy posting but probably better than SIR units. My son is there. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged September 10, 2023 Share September 10, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 7:48 PM, Tianmo said: I always believe that as long as you are combat, nobody will say they had an easy life, every combat NSF taught they had the worst, but in reality I believe every combat went through 80% similar shit. My thought has always been, if I really want to go in peace, my son must first be proven to be better than me age to age, and that he can at least handle my duty, better if he can do it better. NS is one big milestone to prove it, if I protect him to much, I am doing him more harm later. I already told my son, when I am gone, he will have to take over the role of man of the family, and already he is getting into position slowly, making his own bed, washing his own dishes and scolding his elder sister for not washing her own cups, and strangely the girls listen to him. So we talked about NS, and I support his thoughts, that if there is no choice but to go through, do something fun, do something meaningful, and do something useful, don't just waste the 2 yrs. OCS, CDO, NDU, go ahead, and do better than his old man. I think the sweetest thing I received is everytime he beats me in something age to age, when my son is better than me, I feel great ! I keep telling him, you want a fun and enjoyable NS life, maintain your fitness and strength. As long as you are fit and strong, NS will be fun and easy. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged September 10, 2023 Share September 10, 2023 On 9/9/2023 at 9:32 AM, TangoCharlie said: Mine going to command school.... something he indicated his interest. Lost 13 kg and got silver, barely. He like his new look. Haha💪😅 Many SYT will like it too 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged September 10, 2023 Share September 10, 2023 On 9/9/2023 at 12:58 PM, Tohto said: Since I have 2 girls, did not follow up on the current NS training nowadays. Must follow cos got to select men who went through NS 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic September 10, 2023 Share September 10, 2023 On 9/9/2023 at 12:58 PM, Tohto said: Since I have 2 girls, did not follow up on the current NS training nowadays. You might want to.. your gals may one day date some of these boys.. You know they like them when they can stand the ordor they emit and still want to go out with them once they book out 😉 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic September 10, 2023 Share September 10, 2023 (edited) On 9/10/2023 at 9:09 PM, therock said: You might want to.. your gals may one day date some of these boys.. You know they like them when they can stand the ordor they emit and still want to go out with them once they book out 😉 Their same age all in Uni or working already lah 😁😁😂 Edited September 10, 2023 by Tohto 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic September 10, 2023 Share September 10, 2023 On 9/10/2023 at 9:37 PM, Tohto said: Their same age all in Uni or working already lah 😁😁😂 Could be a MO ma... or one of those disruptees... or army scholar like SAF / President scholar leh... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged September 10, 2023 Share September 10, 2023 On 9/10/2023 at 9:09 PM, therock said: You might want to.. your gals may one day date some of these boys.. You know they like them when they can stand the ordor they emit and still want to go out with them once they book out 😉 That smell is special, it's call 男人味 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 10, 2023 Share September 10, 2023 On 9/10/2023 at 9:37 PM, Tohto said: Their same age all in Uni or working already lah 😁😁😂 KNN, all the more I must ask you, what the fark you doing here? Report grandson go NS still far far away leh. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 10, 2023 Share September 10, 2023 On 9/9/2023 at 2:21 PM, Beregond said: Althought every child is different. But i think if at the age any guys enter NS, and he is worry about BGR, I think his life too good liao. U think back our time, when i enter NS, all my concern was income, work after ns , how to help the family, etc etc, BGR is the least of the concern. BGR issue during NS?? it did not start to become an issue for me till much later leh... and it started as an issue of how come got nothing... 😅 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 10, 2023 Share September 10, 2023 On 9/9/2023 at 4:27 PM, zipping said: iirc for cdo/ndu, u will get a letter inviting u to their camp for "testing" b4 cmpb letter. If u tio cmpb letter alr, no more cdo/ndu unless u go request 4 it. talking of CDO, i am quite shocked that nowadays so many young kids choose it... during my time, all siam'ed CDO like anything... i even went to sign up airforce (but failed checkup) after going CDO interview... 😓 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...