National Service in Singapore

Scb11980

On 9/9/2023 at 12:49 PM, Beregond said:

Tianmo say 1 thing is very correct.

Whether u rot inside camp 2 year grow nua and fat.

Or u make full use of 2 years train up physically and mentally. 

It's gonna be 2 years. 

Why not let your son make full use of it.

Dun be too over protective 😒 

@Tianmoshould know why I am overly concerned with his stress. NS and BGR are known trigger points for some events.

On 9/9/2023 at 1:32 PM, Tianmo said:

Perform well enough can still be commissioned. Tell him to work hard and cross over to OCS. [thumbsup][laugh][laugh]

I leave it to him. Am pleased he adapted well as he not outdoorsy type, besides the weight loss. 

On 9/9/2023 at 1:50 PM, Ender said:

@Tianmoshould know why I am overly concerned with his stress. NS and BGR are known trigger points for some events.

Have you spoken to him about his NS life and how he is dealing with it? BGR too sensitive to ask directly, but I think 头头尾尾 can sense how it is going. 

Most unpresent events happened during BMT because of the culture shock, but if he can pull through BMT, maybe not as bad as you think. 

But the most important thing I think, is ask him and find out from him. Maybe he enjoying it while you ownself worry ownself. [:p][laugh][laugh]

On 9/9/2023 at 12:58 PM, Tohto said:

Since I have 2 girls, did not follow up on the current NS training nowadays.

What you doing here? [:p][laugh][laugh]

On 9/9/2023 at 12:17 PM, Lala81 said:

Knew your wife's cooking had to go somewhere. 

On 9/9/2023 at 12:23 PM, TangoCharlie said:

Haha yeah. I put on 3 kg now that my kids not around at home most of the time. 🥲

Simple solution...just activate MCF mobilisation code - Makan Ready and we will report outside your doorstep without full battle order but with only our own mess tin...i tink Lala81 has his ever operational ready tabao tins in the car...😁

On 9/9/2023 at 1:50 PM, Ender said:

Althought every child is different.

But i think if at the age any guys enter NS, and he is worry about BGR, I think his life too good liao.

U think back our time, when i enter NS, all my concern was income, work after ns , how to help the family, etc etc, BGR is the least of the concern.

On 9/9/2023 at 2:15 PM, mersaylee said:

Simple solution...just activate MCF mobilisation code - Makan Ready and we will report outside your doorstep without full battle order but with only our own mess tin...i tink Lala81 has his ever operational ready tabao tins in the car...😁

Lai lack ah? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

1571667507_Screenshot_2023-09-09-14-19-29-57_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b122.jpg.f84657c1d6b8c7cd683fff9a7e13de52.jpg

On 9/9/2023 at 2:15 PM, mersaylee said:

Aiyah, not as if she cook so much a meal to feed you guys.... every meal a bit more, every day, every week.... siao liao. 

On 9/9/2023 at 2:39 PM, TangoCharlie said:

Aiyah, not as if she cook so much a meal to feed you guys.... every meal a bit more, every day, every week.... siao liao. 

If it's easier for her to cook in larger portion...we are ever ready to help a comrade out...you maintain weight while we gain...both makan and weight...😂

On 9/9/2023 at 2:12 PM, Tianmo said:

Have you spoken to him about his NS life and how he is dealing with it? BGR too sensitive to ask directly, but I think 头头尾尾 can sense how it is going. 

Most unpresent events happened during BMT because of the culture shock, but if he can pull through BMT, maybe not as bad as you think. 

But the most important thing I think, is ask him and find out from him. Maybe he enjoying it while you ownself worry ownself. [:p][laugh][laugh]

You know, one  mistake of not being observant is one big regret in life.  So far I checked with him, he said BMT is not siong at all, made new friends , enjoying himself too..

One funny thing I found out from him, there is no such term for hokkien peng any more. I wanted to test his hokkien, apparently he failed.  For me, army is the place I became a fluent hokkien speaker. Prior to army, I can't speak, only can understand.

On 9/9/2023 at 2:14 PM, Tianmo said:

What you doing here? [:p][laugh][laugh]

TCSS lor... 😂😂

Edited by Tohto

On 9/9/2023 at 2:39 PM, TangoCharlie said:

Yah lor, KNN one,  thick skin ask you to feed whole MCF. One go NS of course is at most 1 replace only lah, like you know I am one person right? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

But seriously, you offer also I must think and think again, I scare wait I cannot stop. [:p][laugh][laugh]

On 9/9/2023 at 3:00 PM, Ender said:

You know, one  mistake of not being observant is one big regret in life.  So far I checked with him, he said BMT is not siong at all, made new friends , enjoying himself too..

One funny thing I found out from him, there is no such term for hokkien peng any more. I wanted to test his hokkien, apparently he failed.  For me, army is the place I became a fluent hokkien speaker. Prior to army, I can't speak, only can understand.

now no hokkien peng liao la. esp if he is tekong bmt,

all  AM peng nia😂

Everyone well educated these days. 
I hung out a lot with drivers and storemen. Much less use of Hokkien during my time already. 

See? NS now is quite different liao. My younger daughter's friends her age all enlisted, they come over to my place quite offen, I talk to them and feel so jealous. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Now army don't keep their IC and passport anymore, during NS can still go holiday, and can apply leave during BMT, last time think also never think can like that. 

I mean if you spoke to him and already understand, you also need to understand that he has grown up. He was a young boy back then, maybe now he look back he might be laughing at the silly young boy. Maybe he has left it behind and moved on, but he can't do that if you refuse to. 

You know, sometimes I would fark my son and remain him of stubborn decisions he made against my advice when he was younger, which were obviously wrong. His replies were always, come on man, I was a boy, let's not talk about it, now pls leave me alone. And then I killed that subject totally, never brought up again. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I know such conversation won't happen to you and your son, but maybe the same answer he has for you? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

On 9/9/2023 at 3:24 PM, Mkl22 said:

Everyone well educated these days. 
I hung out a lot with drivers and storemen. Much less use of Hokkien during my time already. 

My son's friend, "A" level fellow act blur kena driver, now in NTU year 2 already, cannot speak Hokkien one. [laugh][laugh][laugh]