National Service in Singapore

Scb11980

On 9/8/2023 at 7:48 PM, Tianmo said:

I always believe that as long as you are combat, nobody will say they had an easy life, every combat NSF taught they had the worst, but in reality I believe every combat went through 80% similar shit. 

My thought has always been, if I really want to go in peace, my son must first be proven to be better than me age to age, and that he can at least  handle my duty, better if he can do it better.  NS is one big milestone to prove it, if I protect him to much, I am doing him more harm later. 

I already told my son, when I am gone, he will have to take over the role of man of the family, and already he is getting into position slowly, making his own bed, washing his own dishes and scolding his elder sister for not washing her own cups, and strangely the girls listen to him. 

So we talked about NS, and I support his thoughts, that if there is no choice but to go through, do something fun, do something meaningful, and do something useful, don't just waste the 2 yrs.  OCS, CDO, NDU, go ahead, and do better than his old man. 

I think the sweetest thing I received is everytime he beats me in something age to age, when my son is better than me, I feel great !  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I keep telling him, you want a fun and enjoyable NS life, maintain your fitness and strength. As long as you are fit and strong, NS will be fun and easy. [:p]

Hope he stays safe. 
I still have an injury from doing a stupid performance during BMT POP. Not worth it in the end. 

On 9/8/2023 at 8:06 PM, Mkl22 said:

Best time during my NS was in Taiwan as support for OCS exercise. Pity the poor cadets cheong suah! 🤣

Was in rover with 2ic and signaler, driving here and there in the hills. So spectacular scenery. Almost got crushed by a speeding prime mover with a trailer late in the night, who cut into our lane from the opposite side and clipped the rover on my side, a bit of metal got torn off. Everyone’s balls shrank. 

Over there once out of the city or even town area is no man's land...our then local boh licence taxi driver said one...😅

On 9/8/2023 at 7:48 PM, Tianmo said:

I always believe that as long as you are combat, nobody will say they had an easy life, every combat NSF taught they had the worst, but in reality I believe every combat went through 80% similar shit. 

My thought has always been, if I really want to go in peace, my son must first be proven to be better than me age to age, and that he can at least  handle my duty, better if he can do it better.  NS is one big milestone to prove it, if I protect him to much, I am doing him more harm later. 

I already told my son, when I am gone, he will have to take over the role of man of the family, and already he is getting into position slowly, making his own bed, washing his own dishes and scolding his elder sister for not washing her own cups, and strangely the girls listen to him. 

So we talked about NS, and I support his thoughts, that if there is no choice but to go through, do something fun, do something meaningful, and do something useful, don't just waste the 2 yrs.  OCS, CDO, NDU, go ahead, and do better than his old man. 

I think the sweetest thing I received is everytime he beats me in something age to age, when my son is better than me, I feel great !  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I keep telling him, you want a fun and enjoyable NS life, maintain your fitness and strength. As long as you are fit and strong, NS will be fun and easy. [:p]

Remember our talk, using computer analogy. I told my son that his grandpa is v1, then grandpa did the neccessary so that I am updated to v2, and I hope I have done enough to make sure he is update to v3.

It also easier to explain why my results is lousier than him when compared by same age. 🤣🤣🤣

SATCOM. Not to sure what kind of training they have. Hope it's not those carry signal set and clear obstacle course type.

Googled, commercial side is satellite communication. SAF should be similarities set up bah? 

On 9/8/2023 at 9:11 PM, Ender said:

SATCOM. Not to sure what kind of training they have. Hope it's not those carry signal set and clear obstacle course type.

Googled, commercial side is satellite communication. SAF should be similarities set up bah? 

Bro, he is a soldier  and a boyfriend already, you really have to learn to let go a little. 

Telling him you know what he is going through is not as caring as asking him what he is going through.  Ask him what he did when he comes home, and let him tell you. Young men hates it when father monitoring him hor. 

Mai kan cheong. Can survive BMT can survive many combat courses liao [:p][laugh][laugh]

Okok, I think we behave very differently in many things. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

On 9/8/2023 at 8:36 PM, Ender said:

Remember our talk, using computer analogy. I told my son that his grandpa is v1, then grandpa did the neccessary so that I am updated to v2, and I hope I have done enough to make sure he is update to v3.

It also easier to explain why my results is lousier than him when compared by same age. 🤣🤣🤣

Yah, same here. 

All level up, and he is the best among us so far, hopefully remain like that. 

From my view, I can tell you, you boy might not be very similar to you. To you he might appear quiet like you, but I think he is not. I have seen him in school a few times, very active actually, and the last time I spoke to him at the coffeeshop, he actually sounded very independent. ^_^[laugh][laugh]

On 9/8/2023 at 8:09 PM, Mkl22 said:

Hope he stays safe. 
I still have an injury from doing a stupid performance during BMT POP. Not worth it in the end. 

So far so good. He was a top student athlete, although stopped competitive running, still strength training regularly. I am sure he can survive CDO/NDU. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 9/8/2023 at 11:38 AM, Ender said:

He is going to signal school...

Mine going to command school.... something he indicated his interest. Lost 13 kg and got silver, barely.

He like his new look. Haha💪😅

Edited by TangoCharlie

On 9/9/2023 at 9:32 AM, TangoCharlie said:

Mine going to command school.... something he indicated his interest. Lost 13 kg and got silver, barely.

He like his new look. Haha💪😅

That is OCS... congrats to him to be otw to become an officer.

13kg no loss, think he can run faster than his father liao.

On 9/9/2023 at 12:09 PM, Ender said:

That is OCS... congrats to him to be otw to become an officer.

13kg no loss, think he can run faster than his father liao.

Officer of a non commissioned one. 😂... close to 80kg plus minus still on heavy side. 

On 9/9/2023 at 12:16 PM, TangoCharlie said:

Officer of a non commissioned one. 😂... close to 80kg plus minus still on heavy side. 

Knew your wife's cooking had to go somewhere. 

? He's going sispec u mean. 

On 9/9/2023 at 12:20 PM, Lala81 said:

? He's going sispec u mean. 

Yes. He told me Sgt course at command school. 

Just saw letter....Posted to SCS and SWAS, infantry leader. 

Edited by TangoCharlie

Tianmo say 1 thing is very correct.

Whether u rot inside camp 2 year grow nua and fat.

Or u make full use of 2 years train up physically and mentally. 

It's gonna be 2 years. 

Why not let your son make full use of it.

Dun be too over protective 😒 

On 9/9/2023 at 12:25 PM, TangoCharlie said:

Yes. He told me Sgt course at command school. 

Just saw letter....Posted to SCS and SWAS, infantry leader. 

Perform well enough can still be commissioned. Tell him to work hard and cross over to OCS. [thumbsup][laugh][laugh]

On 9/9/2023 at 12:49 PM, Beregond said:

Tianmo say 1 thing is very correct.

Whether u rot inside camp 2 year grow nua and fat.

Or u make full use of 2 years train up physically and mentally. 

It's gonna be 2 years. 

Why not let your son make full use of it.

Dun be too over protective 😒 

@Tianmoshould know why I am overly concerned with his stress.

Edited by Ender