Windwaver Turbocharged September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 12:38 PM, Ender said: I opposite form you.. I am a typical Singapore parent, just hope he goes thru NS with the least suffering as possible. 😅 Ok lah, NS these days very different from before 2000. My time nobody dare to call SAF hotline ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 3:29 PM, Atrecord said: or connection... when i was posted to combat engineer... after one week, one guy didn't book in with us anymore, and heard those who knew him, said he got transferred to signal... one year later, our men (1 yr younger) who told us how good their BMT life was (never did more than 20 push-ups, cos Winston Choo's son was in the same company), said that Warren Choo went to become signal officer... oh, one univ mate went with my unit to wallaby during reservist. he was a signal NCO. told me he just need to be relay station. Parked his rover at a very high knoll in the middle of the vast training ground, set up long long antennae, so that the exercise troops like us on the flat ground can stay connected to others far far away, blocked by the knolls... He said he basically changed to PT shorts and suntanned there throughout duration of the exercise... 😆 Rain will kena lightning leh, happened before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 9:41 AM, Atrecord said: me armour, but me not tankee... we 养 M113 APC instead of 养 AMX13 tank, at that time. Now all these phased out and replaced by much newer vehicles... got aircon apparently somemore... good life... Nowadays 🐆 4 liao😂😂😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 4:03 PM, Windwaver said: Ok lah, NS these days very different from before 2000. My time nobody dare to call SAF hotline My time my platoon mate go complain our oc for ill torture. In the end co scold oc, oc come back tekan more. We all diam diam happily ever after. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strat 6th Gear September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 5:42 PM, Stratovarius said: My time my platoon mate go complain our oc for ill torture. In the end co scold oc, oc come back tekan more. We all diam diam happily ever after. Cos everyone know once you call SAF hotline, it will become HellTme for the rest of the platoon mates.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 11:47 AM, Beregond said: Last time I go bslc and aslc at old camp. It's really mo lian. They literally grind u. No gov there. Tough training most ppl can take. Even lack of sleep. Young man can tahan. But the f--king and tekan. Its really hard last time anything goes... We were told that for one (sibey) siong exercise for EOCC - it was a bridging ex - just before the completion part, the instructors asked all to stop work. With the bridge just about to be boomed across the gap (can then complete, after that is dismantling liao), the instructors asked all the cadets to gather, then singled out one guy who was very religious and up till then refused to utter a word of vulgarity... and forced him to scold bad words... wah, he initially hesitated, but the whole platoon pressured him to just do it, so that everybody can finish the exercise early and then go rest... If such things happen now, very sure the instructors will bye bye already... 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 12:38 PM, Ender said: I opposite form you.. I am a typical Singapore parent, just hope he goes thru NS with the least suffering as possible. 😅 having gone through hell myself, i also hope my son can ease through NS... and he unfortunately fractured both wrists when he just started JC. I've been asking him whether wanna geng and get his surgeon to write something to downgrade or not, but he kept hesitating... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 12:45 PM, Mkl22 said: The Siao on ones, volunteer to extend their ROD. I simply cannot fanthom why! 🙄 i was shocked that this is now allowed. but prob a good way to keep the boys occupied if they are waiting for univ to start after ORD... rather than everyday play computer games... 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 1:54 PM, mersaylee said: Who knows...at that rate...one day you might sibeh satki jump at NDP...roar!!! 😁 mai lah... i scared of height 😆 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 3:51 PM, Windwaver said: Got la M113 my time, river crossing. oh yah... RCO... before that must go underneath vehicle to ensure that all the base plates and drain plugs are all in place... else the sitting duck m113 will become submarine... oh yah... i tied white tape on my helmet for RCO - non-swimmer... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 4:04 PM, Windwaver said: Rain will kena lightning leh, happened before. better than us lah... posted to SCE 2nd day, showed us photos of explosion accidents... can't recognise anything much... then stressed to us the danger of the explosives, esp electric detonators... told us go near signal sets, will ka-boom... then later when in unit, during missions supposed to carry so many of such things inside our M113... which also has signal set, ha ha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 5:55 PM, Strat said: Cos everyone know once you call SAF hotline, it will become HellTme for the rest of the platoon mates.. Now everybody calls SAF hotline Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 6:52 PM, Windwaver said: Now everybody calls SAF hotline i remember last time, my camp 1 guy call. f--king hell, just because of that. all the companys kenna, all go theater listen to talk, and lecture bababa, they purposely delay book out for whole camp. and they single out the 1 that call the hotline. si bei gao lat, they didnt point him out, but alot alot of hint etc etc. not my company, but same same kenna, remember until now😂 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 (edited) On 9/8/2023 at 7:05 PM, Beregond said: i remember last time, my camp 1 guy call. f--king hell, just because of that. all the companys kenna, all go theater listen to talk, and lecture bababa, they purposely delay book out for whole camp. and they single out the 1 that call the hotline. si bei gao lat, they didnt point him out, but alot alot of hint etc etc. not my company, but same same kenna, remember until now😂 Same shit with any whistle blower anywhere. Always say they are transparent. My foot. Humans are all vindictive! I got extra duty during BMT to stay over and not book out on Friday night to be water boy for Saturday morning training as I was attend B and could not participate on thur and friday activities. I swore never to behave like this ever to anyone. Maybe except to non NSF and NSmen. 🤣 Edited September 8, 2023 by Mkl22 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 3:29 PM, Atrecord said: or connection... when i was posted to combat engineer... after one week, one guy didn't book in with us anymore, and heard those who knew him, said he got transferred to signal... one year later, our men (1 yr younger) who told us how good their BMT life was (never did more than 20 push-ups, cos Winston Choo's son was in the same company), said that Warren Choo went to become signal officer... oh, one univ mate went with my unit to wallaby during reservist. he was a signal NCO. told me he just need to be relay station. Parked his rover at a very high knoll in the middle of the vast training ground, set up long long antennae, so that the exercise troops like us on the flat ground can stay connected to others far far away, blocked by the knolls... He said he basically changed to PT shorts and suntanned there throughout duration of the exercise... 😆 Rebro station signaller the best...but the driver the happiest of the detachment...becos signaller still have to setup comms...once vehicle was parked...the driver's number 4 boots and socks off the body...😂 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 6:14 PM, Atrecord said: having gone through hell myself, i also hope my son can ease through NS... and he unfortunately fractured both wrists when he just started JC. I've been asking him whether wanna geng and get his surgeon to write something to downgrade or not, but he kept hesitating... I always believe that as long as you are combat, nobody will say they had an easy life, every combat NSF taught they had the worst, but in reality I believe every combat went through 80% similar shit. My thought has always been, if I really want to go in peace, my son must first be proven to be better than me age to age, and that he can at least handle my duty, better if he can do it better. NS is one big milestone to prove it, if I protect him to much, I am doing him more harm later. I already told my son, when I am gone, he will have to take over the role of man of the family, and already he is getting into position slowly, making his own bed, washing his own dishes and scolding his elder sister for not washing her own cups, and strangely the girls listen to him. So we talked about NS, and I support his thoughts, that if there is no choice but to go through, do something fun, do something meaningful, and do something useful, don't just waste the 2 yrs. OCS, CDO, NDU, go ahead, and do better than his old man. I think the sweetest thing I received is everytime he beats me in something age to age, when my son is better than me, I feel great ! I keep telling him, you want a fun and enjoyable NS life, maintain your fitness and strength. As long as you are fit and strong, NS will be fun and easy. 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 7:48 PM, mersaylee said: Rebro station signaller the best...but the driver the happiest of the detachment...becos signaller still have to setup comms...once vehicle was parked...the driver's number 4 boots and socks off the body...😂 Best time during my NS was in Taiwan as support for OCS exercise. Pity the poor cadets cheong suah! 🤣 Was in rover with 2ic and signaler, driving here and there in the hills. So spectacular scenery. Almost got crushed by a speeding prime mover with a trailer late in the night, who cut into our lane from the opposite side and clipped the rover on my side, a bit of metal got torn off. Everyone’s balls shrank. 1 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 8, 2023 Share September 8, 2023 On 9/8/2023 at 7:48 PM, Tianmo said: I always believe that as long as you are combat, nobody will say they had an easy life, every combat NSF taught they had the worst, but in reality I believe every combat went through 80% similar shit. My thought has always been, if I really want to go in peace, my son must first be proven to be better than me age to age, and that he can at least handle my duty, better if he can do it better. NS is one big milestone to prove it, if I protect him to much, I am doing him more harm later. I already told my son, when I am gone, he will have to take over the role of man of the family, and already he is getting into position slowly, making his own bed, washing his own dishes and scolding his elder sister for not washing her own cups, and strangely the girls listen to him. So we talked about NS, and I support his thoughts, that if there is no choice but to go through, do something fun, do something meaningful, and do something useful, don't just waste the 2 yrs. OCS, CDO, NDU, go ahead, and do better than his old man. I think the sweetest thing I received is everytime he beats me in something age to age, when my son is better than me, I feel great ! I keep telling him, you want a fun and enjoyable NS life, maintain your fitness and strength. As long as you are fit and strong, NS will be fun and easy. One question...age to age...he got "break fast" earlier than you ornot? 😁 ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...