Ender Hypersonic September 14, 2023 Share September 14, 2023 On 9/14/2023 at 10:21 PM, Atrecord said: alamak... army so siong/dangerous, also survived intact... then civilian tio'ed... 😅 got long-term damage or have to go op or not? that time still young, should be ok right? Actually doesn't impact my life. No need ops, coz it's minor, only on/off pain on the leg initially. After took up running, no longer an issue. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged September 14, 2023 Share September 14, 2023 On 9/14/2023 at 7:44 PM, Lala81 said: Heard some stories about 84mm gunners going up mount biang in Brunei is one of the worst missions. yup my friend hugged his 84 all the way for the 3D2N. But he CDO, so no worries lol. luckily i was only assigned GPMG. For some reason i always kena GPMG for the longer overseas missions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged September 14, 2023 Share September 14, 2023 On 9/14/2023 at 10:49 PM, Windwaver said: Self propelled. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 14, 2023 Share September 14, 2023 On 9/14/2023 at 8:50 PM, Tianmo said: Yes, you are totally right. Because up mount biang at one point nearer to the peak there was this area where we have to move like spiderman on all fours, anything drop is 1206. And the walk up biang is really not a walk in the park. If you can survive exercises buaya, I think the trip to lancer is consider worth already. There was only one 84mm first gunner made it up all by himself with his gun ( OC gave him 7 off days when back in SG), all the rest of the guns and canisters were passed up. Guns and round reached before gunners arrived, same to the GPMG teams, all the guns and belts of bullets separated from gunners. I carried the big gun on the way down all the way till the chief controller (a commando LTC) caught me, and asked why am I with the 84mm, and can I fire it. I told him our 1st gunner is down, I am cross trained, and my unit SOP is always carry the weapon with the stronger fire power, so I took the 84mm with me. I can fire the gun if need to sir. He just looked at me, and I looked at him, he smile and didn't say anything. I got 3 off days from my PC. wah you good... my experience with those big bosses, was not so pleasant. we think our CO was condemned one... LTC and only a CO... a week or 2 after we were posted from SCE to SAR, during a overnight field ex, CO went around all the coys to look see look see... in the middle of the night when i was kooning on my vehicle (with someone on duty manning the weapon, luckily), heard someone shouting for the sec commander to come out... so my men called me and i blur blur woke up and went down to see what's happening. Before i knew what was happening, a pair of hands pulled my collars, and shouted why i let my men sleep on the ramp of the M113, endangering their lives!! in the darkness i didn't even know who it was initially, then he turned to his side, and asked the other guy (whom he called 'BSO') to take down my name! TMD, apparently Armour had different doctrine from Engineer, where the M113 is concerned. Engr said all troops must sleep inside or on vehicle, and not outside, and we were told to sleep that way when on course. But Armour got different teaching. They need all troops to lay white tape besides the M113, and the troops sleep inside the area... and since we just got posted from Engr to Armour, of course we didn't know. After we went back camp, my PC told me that actually CO wanted to punish me, but lucky my PC explained to him... talk about consistency... confirm someone at Mindef level never do his job properly... almost got me into trouble... oh, the same CO later on spoke out for our platoon, when brigade commander commented pioneer platoon v vulgar during ex crescendo. CO said we need aggressive soldiers 🤣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged September 14, 2023 Share September 14, 2023 FH-2000 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 14, 2023 Share September 14, 2023 On 9/14/2023 at 9:29 PM, Atrecord said: during my time, for armour, it is inside the m113... and talking of mortar, their calculation once screwed up, can be dangerous. when we were in safincos doing m203 live firing at area dunno A or B live firing area, some distance away was target area of mortar live firing. at some point, some rounds landed closer to us than they should have, and our OC (who was v fat) reacted... first time saw him run, and he sprinted towards his rover, screamed loudly (later i learnt all exercise units can contact safti ops room on the signal sets - those days were pre-handphone) over the air, then after that shouted for whole company to run (from the open ground where we were queuing to do live firing) to the perimeter of the ex area where our tonners were parked inside the trees/vegetation... and mounted the tonners that then retreated further back... 1+ yr later when we were posted to armour, heard that it was our support OC who was in charge of that cock-up mortar live firing that caused us to (no-duff) evacuate... 🤦♂️ close call... I heard of this incident before. 😂. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged September 14, 2023 Share September 14, 2023 On 9/14/2023 at 11:01 PM, Atrecord said: TMD, apparently Armour had different doctrine from Engineer, where the M113 is concerned. Engr said all troops must sleep inside or on vehicle, and not outside, and we were told to sleep that way when on course. That's true. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic September 16, 2023 Share September 16, 2023 Just found Band of Brothers on Netflix and it's such a wonderful series.. never tire of it.. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear September 17, 2023 Share September 17, 2023 (edited) On 9/14/2023 at 9:29 PM, Atrecord said: during my time, for armour, it is inside the m113... and talking of mortar, their calculation once screwed up, can be dangerous. when we were in safincos doing m203 live firing at area dunno A or B live firing area, some distance away was target area of mortar live firing. at some point, some rounds landed closer to us than they should have, and our OC (who was v fat) reacted... first time saw him run, and he sprinted towards his rover, screamed loudly (later i learnt all exercise units can contact safti ops room on the signal sets - those days were pre-handphone) over the air, then after that shouted for whole company to run (from the open ground where we were queuing to do live firing) to the perimeter of the ex area where our tonners were parked inside the trees/vegetation... and mounted the tonners that then retreated further back... 1+ yr later when we were posted to armour, heard that it was our support OC who was in charge of that cock-up mortar live firing that caused us to (no-duff) evacuate... 🤦♂️ close call... My time was LTA Bryan Lok if I remember the name correctly. LTA pick up blind behind Pasir Laba live firing range, dunno why cow Brain want to clean the blind and clean by knocking on it! blind exploded, one Private die six sergeant injured, LTA? His arm blew off! that was some where in June/ July 1997 Edited September 17, 2023 by D3badge 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 17, 2023 Share September 17, 2023 (edited) On 9/17/2023 at 10:41 AM, D3badge said: My time was LTA Bryan Lok if I remember the name correctly. LTA pick up blind behind Pasir Laba live firing range, dunno why cow Brain want to clean the blind and clean by knocking on it! blind exploded, one Private die six sergeant injured, LTA? His arm blew off! that was some where in June/ July 1997 This incidence quite serious, didn't know that six SGT injured, i only know one PTE died and one officer arm blew off. This incidence happened to one of the Infantry unit. I remember that year quite a bad year for SAF. Besides this incidence, there was another serious incidence happened during one of the overseas training same year as well. Edited September 17, 2023 by 13177 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear September 17, 2023 Share September 17, 2023 On 9/17/2023 at 11:23 AM, 13177 said: This incidence quite serious, didn't know that six SGT injured, i only know one PTE died and one officer arm blew off. This incidence happened to one of the Infantry unit. I remember that year quite a bad year for SAF. Besides this incidence, there was another serious incidence happened during one of the overseas training same year as well. The bomb fragment pierce the 6 sergeant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic September 24, 2023 Share September 24, 2023 (edited) With the recent Ukraine invasion, interesting to see our arty with Himars and a drone unit. If I am able to do NS all over again and given a choice, would very much wanted to be in that Drones unit. Glad to see only the Signal group did they introduction in a indoor air con environment. 😅😅😅 Edited September 24, 2023 by Ender 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged September 25, 2023 Share September 25, 2023 If only.... more boys will look forward to ns. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 25, 2023 Share September 25, 2023 On 9/24/2023 at 2:43 PM, Ender said: With the recent Ukraine invasion, interesting to see our arty with Himars and a drone unit. If I am able to do NS all over again and given a choice, would very much wanted to be in that Drones unit. Glad to see only the Signal group did they introduction in a indoor air con environment. 😅😅😅 ...and the ninja company's mission is to stone wild boar...u the ass got live target ornot or need to replace with buffalo? 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 25, 2023 Share September 25, 2023 On 9/25/2023 at 12:42 PM, Playtime said: If only.... more boys will look forward to ns. I tink all will be marksmen if the figure 11 change to that rear view...firearms automatically zero in swee swee...😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic September 26, 2023 Share September 26, 2023 (edited) On 9/24/2023 at 2:43 PM, Ender said: With the recent Ukraine invasion, interesting to see our arty with Himars and a drone unit. If I am able to do NS all over again and given a choice, would very much wanted to be in that Drones unit. Glad to see only the Signal group did they introduction in a indoor air con environment. 😅😅😅 This exercise Forging Sabre in Idaho, the drone team are also testing the Spider Dogs. I want to do NS again, and get posted to this unit. https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/from-robot-dogs-to-micro-drones-saf-tests-unmanned-platforms-in-us-exercise From robot dogs to special drones, SAF tests unmanned platforms in US exercise MOUNTAIN HOME, Idaho – Amid the sand and rocks of the mountaintop, a series of footprints that seemingly belonged to a small animal dotted the landscape, walking towards unmarked containers simulating an urban environment. From outside, the only thing that could be heard over the sound of the wind was the thuds emanating from within the containers – each step giving off a sense of foreboding. When it finally emerged, the four-legged entity – the size of a German shepherd – was green, with a face resembling a spider as an array of sensors and cameras acted as its eyes. The “spider dog” is actually an unmanned ground vehicle made by United States-based Ghost Robotics, with its capabilities developed by the Defence Science and Technology Agency (DSTA). The Singapore Army is currently trialling it as part of Exercise Forging Sabre in Idaho, to give soldiers an edge before they conduct urban operations. Captain Loy Yong Wei, from the Singapore Armed Forces’ (SAF) Sense and Strike Accelerator Centre in Headquarters 6th Singapore Division, said the robot dogs are a “viable solution” for complex terrain and highly urbanised landscapes. “They are able to do terrain confirmation as well as some target detection autonomously without us actually having boots on the ground,” said the 26-year-old lead officer for the project. Through the use of light detection and ranging sensors, these robot dogs can create 3D models and maps of the terrain, which better inform soldiers of what to expect. At the same time, the robot dog ensures the soldiers’ safety, said Mr Bryan Ng, 35, who heads the capability development of unmanned ground vehicles at DSTA. “If it does detect a threat, then actually, its job is done. If it gets shot, it’s done its duty already... that’s why we use robots for this, not humans,” he said. Adding to the army’s threat-detection capabilities is the use of micro UAVs (unmanned aerial vehicles), which was demonstrated by reconnaissance troops from the 11C4I battalion. One soldier is able to operate multiple small drones via a tablet. Through pre-planned flight routes, the drones are able to scan the battlefield, and have the captured footage processed via a computer through the use of algorithms to automatically identify targets, ranging from vehicles to weapon systems. Members of the Singapore media were given a demonstration last Friday (Saturday Singapore time), where a single soldier – flanked by four others ready to take manual control of each drone if the need arose – activated four drones. Footage captured by the micro UAVs was then streamed back to a screen out in the field, with targets marked by boxes, accompanied by an identifying label such as “tank”. The benefits are twofold, said Major Alvinder Singh, 38, head of intelligence and operations development at the Army Intelligence Headquarters. “With the reduction in manpower... in Singapore, we’ll be able to do more with a single person instead. “The... systems are autonomous and smart enough to be able to pipe back (information) to a soldier, and that allows him to be able to assess the situation and gain better situational awareness,” he said. While these unmanned platforms are used to aid troops on the ground, the Republic of Singapore Air Force (RSAF) is also testing its own set of drones, designed to provide feedback for the command post to facilitate its decision-making. These drones are significantly larger – about the size of a lorry tyre – and instead of flying on pre-planned routes, they can autonomously scan the battlefield according to set parameters. Captain Lim Ryan, 30, who is part of the RSAF’s drone swarm project, said the drones work in tandem with other RSAF UAVs which are flying at higher altitudes. The swarm terminology used in relation to the drones does not refer to their quantity, but to the algorithm developed for them to operate autonomously. “For example, if we give them a large area, they will segregate it, and they will go about their own searches within these areas,” he said. Information is relayed to the command post, which can then decide the best course of action to take out the remaining threats. Although the media was shown only four of the drones during a demonstration of their capabilities, there is potential for greater numbers of them to be used in the battlefield, said Capt Lim. “(The algorithm) is scalable... whether we deploy it on one, four or 20 drones, they should act the same way.” MORE ON THIS TOPIC Edited September 26, 2023 by Ender 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged September 26, 2023 Share September 26, 2023 On 9/25/2023 at 12:42 PM, Playtime said: If only.... more boys will look forward to ns. You must include for Rainbow warriors. They can flick shells sui one ok. Today celebrating at upper bukit. Mission started when? 😉 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged September 26, 2023 Share September 26, 2023 On 9/26/2023 at 9:25 AM, Ender said: This exercise Forging Sabre in Idaho, the drone team are also testing the Spider Dogs. I want to do NS again, and get posted to this unit. https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/from-robot-dogs-to-micro-drones-saf-tests-unmanned-platforms-in-us-exercise From robot dogs to special drones, SAF tests unmanned platforms in US exercise MOUNTAIN HOME, Idaho – Amid the sand and rocks of the mountaintop, a series of footprints that seemingly belonged to a small animal dotted the landscape, walking towards unmarked containers simulating an urban environment. From outside, the only thing that could be heard over the sound of the wind was the thuds emanating from within the containers – each step giving off a sense of foreboding. When it finally emerged, the four-legged entity – the size of a German shepherd – was green, with a face resembling a spider as an array of sensors and cameras acted as its eyes. The “spider dog” is actually an unmanned ground vehicle made by United States-based Ghost Robotics, with its capabilities developed by the Defence Science and Technology Agency (DSTA). The Singapore Army is currently trialling it as part of Exercise Forging Sabre in Idaho, to give soldiers an edge before they conduct urban operations. Captain Loy Yong Wei, from the Singapore Armed Forces’ (SAF) Sense and Strike Accelerator Centre in Headquarters 6th Singapore Division, said the robot dogs are a “viable solution” for complex terrain and highly urbanised landscapes. “They are able to do terrain confirmation as well as some target detection autonomously without us actually having boots on the ground,” said the 26-year-old lead officer for the project. Through the use of light detection and ranging sensors, these robot dogs can create 3D models and maps of the terrain, which better inform soldiers of what to expect. At the same time, the robot dog ensures the soldiers’ safety, said Mr Bryan Ng, 35, who heads the capability development of unmanned ground vehicles at DSTA. “If it does detect a threat, then actually, its job is done. If it gets shot, it’s done its duty already... that’s why we use robots for this, not humans,” he said. Adding to the army’s threat-detection capabilities is the use of micro UAVs (unmanned aerial vehicles), which was demonstrated by reconnaissance troops from the 11C4I battalion. One soldier is able to operate multiple small drones via a tablet. Through pre-planned flight routes, the drones are able to scan the battlefield, and have the captured footage processed via a computer through the use of algorithms to automatically identify targets, ranging from vehicles to weapon systems. Members of the Singapore media were given a demonstration last Friday (Saturday Singapore time), where a single soldier – flanked by four others ready to take manual control of each drone if the need arose – activated four drones. Footage captured by the micro UAVs was then streamed back to a screen out in the field, with targets marked by boxes, accompanied by an identifying label such as “tank”. The benefits are twofold, said Major Alvinder Singh, 38, head of intelligence and operations development at the Army Intelligence Headquarters. “With the reduction in manpower... in Singapore, we’ll be able to do more with a single person instead. “The... systems are autonomous and smart enough to be able to pipe back (information) to a soldier, and that allows him to be able to assess the situation and gain better situational awareness,” he said. While these unmanned platforms are used to aid troops on the ground, the Republic of Singapore Air Force (RSAF) is also testing its own set of drones, designed to provide feedback for the command post to facilitate its decision-making. These drones are significantly larger – about the size of a lorry tyre – and instead of flying on pre-planned routes, they can autonomously scan the battlefield according to set parameters. Captain Lim Ryan, 30, who is part of the RSAF’s drone swarm project, said the drones work in tandem with other RSAF UAVs which are flying at higher altitudes. The swarm terminology used in relation to the drones does not refer to their quantity, but to the algorithm developed for them to operate autonomously. “For example, if we give them a large area, they will segregate it, and they will go about their own searches within these areas,” he said. Information is relayed to the command post, which can then decide the best course of action to take out the remaining threats. Although the media was shown only four of the drones during a demonstration of their capabilities, there is potential for greater numbers of them to be used in the battlefield, said Capt Lim. “(The algorithm) is scalable... whether we deploy it on one, four or 20 drones, they should act the same way.” MORE ON THIS TOPIC Should. Not will. Waste of rice. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...