National Service in Singapore

Scb11980

On 9/3/2023 at 2:29 AM, Lala81 said:

I had fever like 1-2 days before POP. Attend C. Missed POP. Book in again for remarch but still on attend b. So Siam it. 

Not keng one. I was really quite sick. Lost about 3kg. 

Paid it all back with the sispec 32k route march which was really a bitch. Trudging around tekong training area reclaimed land at 3am with a sandy trail. Did another 24km again at mocc which was also a bitch. 

Expand  

i thought MOCC use landrover for route "march" LOL

i ran into an MOCC detail once in Tekong. We both doing navigation exercise but they were on landrover... 

also gave some navigation assistance to a newish WOCC detail (one white bar) that were abit misorientated during night navigation

On 9/4/2023 at 4:42 AM, therock said:

I just heard from a friend that the army uses black socks instead of green now?

Expand  

for boots?

yes. They had earlier gone to a light green one. I think i saw the black ones since last year. 

On 9/4/2023 at 5:04 AM, Shibadog said:

i thought MOCC use landrover for route "march" LOL

i ran into an MOCC detail once in Tekong. We both doing navigation exercise but they were on landrover... 

also gave some navigation assistance to a newish WOCC detail (one white bar) that were abit misorientated during night navigation

Expand  

My time had 5km fast march, 16 and 24km route march. Final exercise is casevac from one end of tekong to the jetty. 

Those who are maybe 10-15 years older than me, they do the full ocs training then mocc.

Limpeh thought I was heng to kena the suay siao malaria to skip the 16km march...only to walk round the then camp 3 SOC training ground for hours as make up march...sibeh sian siah...i tink I walked at least 40 rounds from after dinner time until joined the rests in PT kit for night snack...😅

The discipline and training are actually good for the boys, just don't get carried away too far lah. We have the lizard crawl, star jump, chain parade, etc. Understand most are banned. 

On 9/4/2023 at 8:34 AM, Victor68 said:

The discipline and training are actually good for the boys, just don't get carried away too far lah. We have the lizard crawl, star jump, chain parade, etc. Understand most are banned. 

Expand  

I only know leopard crawl. What is lizard crawl ar?

On 9/3/2023 at 5:59 AM, therock said:

Before being a MO, you would have enlisted and done whatever typical 19 year old guys do including NCO courses or OCS  

if you are allowed to disrupt for medical school you return after medical school then you do MOCC

then serve the remainder of your NS liabilities as a MO. 

Expand  

have heard of those who didnt disrupt. end up as a officer, then after medical school overseas, come back for MOCC to do conversion to MO, then reservist as a MO.

also saw pes C or E MOs as LTA. never given the full CPT as not combat fit. 😁

On 9/3/2023 at 2:29 AM, Lala81 said:

I had fever like 1-2 days before POP. Attend C. Missed POP. Book in again for remarch but still on attend b. So Siam it. 

Not keng one. I was really quite sick. Lost about 3kg. 

Paid it all back with the sispec 32k route march which was really a bitch. Trudging around tekong training area reclaimed land at 3am with a sandy trail. Did another 24km again at mocc which was also a bitch. 

Expand  

The mud bath was pretty good for the skin :grin:

On 9/4/2023 at 7:34 AM, mersaylee said:

Limpeh thought I was heng to kena the suay siao malaria to skip the 16km march...only to walk round the then camp 3 SOC training ground for hours as make up march...sibeh sian siah...i tink I walked at least 40 rounds from after dinner time until joined the rests in PT kit for night snack...😅

Expand  

Not sure about camp 3, I was from camp 1 and there was many saying that the SOC there at night can met 阿飘. 

On 9/4/2023 at 8:43 AM, 13177 said:

I only know leopard crawl. What is lizard crawl ar?

Expand  

Leopard crawl is tactical movement performed by siao on fellows...the almost not moving lizard crawl is by chao geng guys...like me...i tink sloth can crawl fasterer...😅

On 9/6/2023 at 1:49 AM, mersaylee said:

Also outside Alpha and Charlie company...

Expand  

Alpha and Charlie from camp 1 leh. and I was from both company.

BMT at Alpha, BCT (Basic combat training - if I still remain correctly) was from Charlie. 

On 9/6/2023 at 1:55 AM, Tohto said:

Alpha and Charlie from camp 1 leh. and I was from both company.

BMT at Alpha, BCT (Basic combat training - if I still remain correctly) was from Charlie. 

Expand  

Yup, was referring to camp1 A and C company. But all my frenz I know who were there neber had any sighting...only lots of hearsay...🤔

On 9/6/2023 at 1:45 AM, Tohto said:

Not sure about camp 3, I was from camp 1 and there was many saying that the SOC there at night can met 阿飘. 

Expand  

i was from Charlie Company, camp 1.

Every night so tired, and slept like a pig  😅