National Service in Singapore

Scb11980

KNN Hia!!

I got another joke for you and the last line describes you aptly [laugh]

I got this Indian course mate who liked to repeat himself.

As vehicle commanders of an AMX 13 tank (I know this is antique already), we need to guide our drivers via the inter-comm. Example, "Driver left", when we want him to turn left and vice versa.

But this guy, Vannan, would say, "Driver! Left left left left left!"

Then the course instructor corrected him and said "Left is enough...no need to repeat"

But he continues to do the left left left, right right right thingie.

Now the instructor buay tahan liao!!

He went thru the intercom and said, "Vannan!! Chee B## Chee B## Chee B## Chee B## Chee B##!!

ha ha ha... this one indeed funny.

My older bro was a tankee, i'm AP, one cousin Armoured scout, one uncle AI, one cousin M113 driver, another cousin MBT... that time i was wondering whether really got armour curse...

tankee shiok hor? no need to go flanking. I always envied you guys...

wah, you [thumbsup] lor.

we reservist time already si bey keng. Then we always hope the (armour) unit forgot our (engineer) stores, cos whenever no store, we used white tape to simulate. As a result, we just about drew all the white tapes in the battalion. Mine fence used, wire obstacles used, AT ditch used... so we were also known as white tape platoon!

For us, that one record LMW field camp really tekan'ed us. Apart from Sun night book in go tonner load store, then sleep normal, next day camp started, really inhuman. Lesson, practise, meals, rewind again... Until past midnight, about 1-2 am ex cut. Left most stuff there, took weapons loaded tonner went back camp, and then made us clean rifle till around 3.30 am, then send arms go back bunk. 5.30 moved out again liao, in betw that got bath, sleep, breakfast, draw arms...

Many zombies that time, and most were practising neck rotation exercises whenever sit down listen to trainers conduct lessons.

ni owe the pc and oc lar. Previous ict i was pcl9 and they want me to follow the storeman for an exercise in Tekong. I chao when they were looking for me....knn...i pcl9 they want me to go exercise somemore it was the fasting month. So i kinda owe them lar. My unit those sabo king will sure kana sent for switchover course.....knn better take care of the oc and pc if not sure kana wan! 3 days bo sleep you walk oso like zombie....even daytime looks very different... Edited by Eviilusion

Wahahahaha.  Never mind de.  I went to google after that.  Now I know how it looks like liao.

Smoke grenade very notorious, cos of the case of the guy who died from excessive use of it, so it's useful to know what it is...

30 SCE is jurong camp...

Piece of shit place.

Jurong camp somewhere near the safti MI ah? This place why piece of shit? Location still not say ulu lo.

30 SCE is jurong camp...

Piece of shit place.

ok. so you also not that old.

when i was in soce, they were building 30 sce next door. in fact, from my block, can see NTU bus 174 circling NTU. We used the field downstairs to practice pipe charge.

And when we needed excess field engr stores for our training, we went to 30 sce at khatib camp to draw. When i went unit later on, heard 30 sce finally moved.

i needed about 50 min to get home from jurong camp.

then i got posted to sungei gedong. 1 hr 15 min...

ok. so you also not that old.

when i was in soce, they were building 30 sce next door. in fact, from my block, can see NTU bus 174 circling NTU. We used the field downstairs to practice pipe charge.

And when we needed excess field engr stores for our training, we went to 30 sce at khatib camp to draw. When i went unit later on, heard 30 sce finally moved.

i needed about 50 min to get home from jurong camp.

then i got posted to sungei gedong. 1 hr 15 min...

Your era must be very long, cause you can see bus 174 circling NTU? Though the bus that circling NTU is bus 199 and later 179. I dont know bus 174 goes to NTU? Lol.

Try Sungei Gedong.  Bird no lay egg place [laugh]

:a-toast:

Quite happening during my time.

first posted to camp 3 for armour conversion.

then posted to camp 1 to operational unit.

by reservist time, built more buildings, fenced up the whole damned place, and called it a camp complex. Plus parked one AMX13 outside the gate, facing out. Looked majestic for visitors approaching. From inside camp, can see the backside of the tank, with the words:

Once Armour

Always Armour

Telling you want to run away also cannot...

Your era must be very long, cause you can see bus 174 circling NTU? Though the bus that circling NTU is bus 199 and later 179. I dont know bus 174 goes to NTU? Lol.

yes, very lonnnnnng ago.

was there aug-dec 88. Those days got not 179 i think. In fact, the fence of our camp was also the fence of NTU. There was nothing in between.

Then after that, LTA must have cham-siong'ed with MinDef, and they took the field where we practised pipe charge, to build the PIE/KRE extension to Tuas...

30 SCE was in Khatib camp before it move to Jurong camp. 

Yes...during my time, 30 SCE was in Khatib.

I still remember every morning they will get turned out at 6 am. Full battle order and pasar malam in Parade Square. All of them short short one...maybe bridge too heavy.

ha ha ha... this one indeed funny.

My older bro was a tankee, i'm AP, one cousin Armoured scout, one uncle AI, one cousin M113 driver, another cousin MBT... that time i was wondering whether really got armour curse...

tankee shiok hor? no need to go flanking. I always envied you guys...

At the time when I was serving...nothing is shiok [nod]

Ill treatment is a given.

BMT was memorable for having to haul the cupboards and beds down 4 floors to the quadrangle for stand by bed.  [laugh]

At 3am, stand by bunk in parade square!  :wacko:

There is a well known saying for Jurong Camp.

Turn left to heaven, turn right to hell. [laugh]

Yes I've heard that. Only disgusting commanders tell their recruits this (30SCE is a mono-intake unit).

I always tell the recruits under my charge that I wanna finish my lesson on time and according to the lesson plan so I can go off at 6 pm  :D

wah, looks like we not only stay nearby, but did something quite the same too.

Yup, engineer store is kan si lang many many. After posted to armour, when the battalion has stand by, where every platoon stand-by the vehicles with the stores laid out in front, ready for inspection, the rest of the AI platoons every time walked past us, will almost faint at how we squeeze all the stuff into the same M113 that they use, including the two kotaks for bridging...

So you went 30 sce. khatib or jurong? Every month built 24-bay huh? That was the only good thing for us when we were posted to armour after our course at soce - got vehicle to sit and no need to build MGB anymore (cos got AVLB to help  [laugh] ). Many in the platoon went 30 too...

Jurong..................went to 30 after BMT for the CEC course..................I thought when I was at SOCE doing my advance course I thought I can stay there...............SOCE also tough but not as bad as 30.....................but they post me back to 30 again..................sian liao................so have to get myself downgrade...................OC was pretty pissed coz we were preparing to go operational and 3 specialists downgraded included me....................1 posted out and the other 2 posted to HQ including me...................still cannot get out of 30.................. [laugh]

30 SCE is jurong camp...

Piece of shit place.

Tell me about it.................... [laugh] ......................anyway before it shifted to Jurong in was at Khatib camp.....................

There is a reason why all the training...

Only when real things happen, it boils down to

Real incident,

One major, three captains, two corporals and one hokkian lance corporal to save an entire guards platoon, With our cars.

Plus a pooh bor and crew.

So Guards are always babies in my book. Overrated.

at crucial times, only a few players can step up and coaleace. That is enough and beautiful to behold.

Guard Kachen lah.*shake head*

Wow....did not realised so many from 30 SCE here !! 

Medic here! 

During my time, signaler and myself have to help build bridge, make mine field.

helping out, running here and there. 

Till one of the medic in my batch had an accident, than after that we just ' hang around ' during the exercise. 

most jialat exercise was ex. lion heart......KNN, draw and return store also sweat !!! 

but, thailand was tough but shiok, to see real explosion. 

Competition to see which platoon can complete the bridge fastest, tough, but shiok. 

( of course this is after we complete and ROD )

My company ROD and i was posted to HQ Coy, and fist batch to ROD right after 30SCE moved to jurong camp.  I ' toured " the bunk of my fellow medic, before collecting my pink IC!