Tianmo Hypersonic January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 Reminds me of a friend. Clerk in mindef. He said one time kanne F, cos: He was walking along the corridor, approaching a 90 deg corner (where you cannot see got people coming from the opposite side or not), then suddenly v near the corner, got one person appears almost lan-ga, he quickly got out of the way, avoided the lan-ga, and wanted to walk away. That person was a major, newly posted to mindef after being a unit CO. My fren was either private, LCP, or CPL. The MAJ asked my fren why never greeted him and just walked away. My fren instinctively said 'because you Major only' Apparently down there full of generals, colonels, LTCs, etc. so the norm was only to greet those colonels and generals... kanna scolding, but nothing much else Tell me about it. Did all the SOCs, retrograde exercise where needed to caservack (spelling?) casualty and run for dunno how long, plus sometimes run inside water/mud some more. Later i added my own insoles for comfort... Mindef is like a seafood restaurant, full of crabs and starfishes, one crab usually get lost like in the open sea. Those chocolate bars there usually behave like kids. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 i like the hewey uh1h ride.....scary but thrilling especially when the heli bank to one side and you are faced with only the jungle canopy at about 200m. I hate the superpuma ride.....maciam we are on a ferry....feel like want to vomit! UH1H no doors one, feel like will fall out of it anytime. scary? wait till you are asked to crawl outside the heli with only the rappelling role hooked inside the chopper. SP is air taxi mah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 Ya lah. This ex-colleague also told me no one bother abt a Major there. Too many liao. Even 2LT n LTA are just office boy there. Don't say Majors, even LTCs or SLTCs are nothing in MINDEF HQ. Minimum 3 crabs maybe got people greet you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 UH1H no doors one, feel like will fall out of it anytime. scary? wait till you are asked to crawl outside the heli with only the rappelling role hooked inside the chopper. SP is air taxi mah. ya....if have also the door will be opened! I sit at the side....last man! The wind from the blade very strong! The wan in Temburong where we rode from lakiun is cool. One helipad and us waiting in 2 lines for the chopper to hover was cool! The heli will lift off and another will come down. Maciam the movie Platoon like that! Now Guards must also do ropping like the movie Blackhawk Down. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 wah lau, I feel young coming here man. I think I still have the photos of my first Heli rappel off an UH1H in Sembawang air base, the only issue is the shot was taken so far away we dont know who is who up there. Another one was during a Heli insert mission running towards a Super puma. 年轻人,原来是 guardsmen. 失敬,失敬。。。 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 Reminds me of a friend. Clerk in mindef. He said one time kanne F, cos: He was walking along the corridor, approaching a 90 deg corner (where you cannot see got people coming from the opposite side or not), then suddenly v near the corner, got one person appears almost lan-ga, he quickly got out of the way, avoided the lan-ga, and wanted to walk away. That person was a major, newly posted to mindef after being a unit CO. My fren was either private, LCP, or CPL. The MAJ asked my fren why never greeted him and just walked away. My fren instinctively said 'because you Major only' ha.. i know that feeling.. my direct boss was LTC.. his direct boss was COL.. i went tradoc often for meetings.. see 1star gens like nobodies biz.. mostly just greet .. move on.. where got really salute one? then.. when u meet those juz got 3 stripe and 1 crab jokers... and worst.. those that juz got commissioned.. even those guai lan PTIs get a special mention You realize.. those old birds.. really quite nonchalant on their ranks.. hierarchy is of course important .. but its only a rank.. end of the day.. its juz a job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 ya....if have also the door will be opened! I sit at the side....last man! The wind from the blade very strong! The wan in Temburong where we rode from lakiun is cool. One helipad and us waiting in 2 lines for the chopper to hover was cool! The heli will lift off and another will come down. Maciam the movie Platoon like that! Now Guards must also do ropping like the movie Blackhawk Down. the UH1H we train with is always doorless one, we need to rappel down mah. Brunei training is the only place the pilots will listen to the marshal, mayb because of the thick terrain. They really take instructions even to the direction to fly off. Here in SG, knn you point left they fly right. Heli rappelling has always been the mission of the Guards mah, from the start is like that. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 年轻人,原来是 guardsmen. 失敬,失敬。。。 不敢, 不敢. 往事只能回味!!!. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 Then we should be abt the same time... The steel helmet got inner liner one right? Super funny when those head small small wear huge helmet with loose straps - helmet dropped till either cover the face, or become cover the hair only... Yes. The steel helmet got 2 layers one. When running for SOC can get concussion one ... Haha ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 年轻人,原来是 guardsmen. 失敬,失敬。。。 i think hor.. mayb he older than u... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 (edited) i think hor.. mayb he older than u... one thing very sure is cfm older than you, but even if younger than them also at most 1-2 yrs only, or mayb even same age. but cfm I is younger than @eviilusion afew yrs. Edited January 23, 2017 by Tianmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 ha.. i know that feeling.. my direct boss was LTC.. his direct boss was COL.. i went tradoc often for meetings.. see 1star gens like nobodies biz.. mostly just greet .. move on.. where got really salute one? then.. when u meet those juz got 3 stripe and 1 crab jokers... and worst.. those that juz got commissioned.. even those guai lan PTIs get a special mention You realize.. those old birds.. really quite nonchalant on their ranks.. hierarchy is of course important .. but its only a rank.. end of the day.. its juz a job. Then it leads me to another thought, which was first shared by a classmate years back. Around the early-mid 90s, SAF had these advertisements that glorified SAF life, to try to entice youngsters to sign on. Beautifully taken scenes with nice backgrounds, showing the 3 services, got one showing rugged army life, followed by fit soldiers (dun compare with descendents of the sun) jogging i think at wallaby, then got some pretty girls looking on admirably, etc etc. It ended with the caption: Army A career that commands respect A classmate laughed, and said that yah lah, that type of job can only commands people to respect you, unlike other jobs where you will earn others' respects. Quite apt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 one thing very sure is cfm older than you, but even if younger than them also at most 1-2 yrs only, or mayb even same age. but cfm I is younger than @eviilusion afew yrs. Nb....need rub salt into injury har... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 不敢, 不敢. 往事只能回味!!!. 但是可以回味无穷。 甚好,甚好。。。 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 Then it leads me to another thought, which was first shared by a classmate years back. Around the early-mid 90s, SAF had these advertisements that glorified SAF life, to try to entice youngsters to sign on. Beautifully taken scenes with nice backgrounds, showing the 3 services, got one showing rugged army life, followed by fit soldiers (dun compare with descendents of the sun) jogging i think at wallaby, then got some pretty girls looking on admirably, etc etc. It ended with the caption: Army A career that commands respect A classmate laughed, and said that yah lah, that type of job can only commands people to respect you, unlike other jobs where you will earn others' respects. Quite apt. The sun, the sand and the sea!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 Then it leads me to another thought, which was first shared by a classmate years back. Around the early-mid 90s, SAF had these advertisements that glorified SAF life, to try to entice youngsters to sign on. Beautifully taken scenes with nice backgrounds, showing the 3 services, got one showing rugged army life, followed by fit soldiers (dun compare with descendents of the sun) jogging i think at wallaby, then got some pretty girls looking on admirably, etc etc. It ended with the caption: Army A career that commands respect A classmate laughed, and said that yah lah, that type of job can only commands people to respect you, unlike other jobs where you will earn others' respects. Quite apt. True also.. somehow.. in a combat environment.. testosterone fueled and everything.. rank solves problems easily... hv seen docile friends turn rank throwing crazies when posted to units.. quite a change... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 i think hor.. mayb he older than u... hmm... really meh? I also crossed from steel to kevlar during my NS day leh. tot he said for him steel already history... Oh, ok, unless he enlisted when much older.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 23, 2017 Share January 23, 2017 Nb....need rub salt into injury har... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...