Evillusion Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 I was not the designated sawman in the section but during my time, my impression of the SAW was:- - glorified M16, essentially same firing rate - difficult to put back after cleaning - magazine housing design not good, some guys lost the dummy mag and had to sign 12-06 - not FIBUA-friendly only area where SAW was better than M16 was the recoil. sawman should be concealed and lay covering fire for the section, cumbersome to run around with the section with a saw. Tell me about it! I got the wind forced out off my stomach when my saw got caught between 2 trees while running away when our company kana contacted just before water-crossing across batu apoi. That weapon is just not meant for jungle warfare unless changed to the shorter 300mm barrel. Dont say how my bipod got stuck with the vines so many time during lancer. But to shoot in the open terrain like kanchanaburi and roc.....was syiok! I ever did section live-fire fire-movement....my target was the small figure of the human head and 1/4 body (forget what it is called)......supposed to bring the target for bullet-hole count.....but there was a hole bigger than my fist....they gave me full-mark... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turboguy 5th Gear January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 actually need to question the usefulness of bangalore torpedo in mordern combat. back in ww2, the infantry weapon was bolt action, so the amount and accuracy of covering fire coming may be survivable. today, with SAWs, automatic assault rifles and optical sights, anyone running up with a bagalore torpedo is dead meat lor.. Lol haha, if you know the true meaning of INFANTRY, it's already deadmeat being one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 (edited) Lol haha, if you know the true meaning of INFANTRY, it's already deadmeat being one. Two sides firing with 3 tiny men running to and back, 90% all 3 is hong kan case. Only we believe they go go there, ignite, run back all in one piece. KNN, SG protocol is aggressor always win, because they have to walk day and night to come and fight you. Edited January 19, 2017 by Tianmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 Two sides firing with 3 tiny men running to and back, 90% all 3 is hong kan case. Only we believe they go go there, ignite, run back all in one piece. KNN, SG protocol is aggressor always win, because they have to walk day and night to come and fight you. see Saving Private Ryan.....the ce section in-charge of the bangala torpedo all die trying to ignite the bloody thing...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 (edited) wah you also combat engineer? how come got comet? that one even more rare than bangalore torpedo. Even as engineer, my platoon only fired it i think once during NS. but that one usually fly off-course and not straight leh. Actually this one the firer must be si bey brave one, cos if real life need to use, very low chance to come back one (alive) lah... imagine go to the edge of a minefield, surely got enemy fire, carry the heavy box and prone down there to set up the ignitor and fire, then run back to cover That's why later about to ROD, i think estab changed and it was supposed to be fired from tank liao. But if comet is bad, whoever invented the pipe charge is no-brain one. This one confirmed 10 pax go and launch, 10 pax get posthumous purple heart... and i think got almost zero chance of successful breach lor. for those who dunno, pipe charge is basically a series of super-elongated bangalore torpedoes that can be connected into a very long line (think ~30 m), and used to form a gap/lane in a minefield... Likedat everyday jewelry shops and money changers and banks kanna robbery non-stop liao. Anyway, perhaps finally maybe some minister's relative kanna this, and I heard recent years, only need to report to the rehearsal ground and draw/send arms there. No need go to camp liao. At least their brains started to work... aiyoh, you talk about guns... when we moved out, our m113 got GPMP and 0.5 gun... if rain, often we bo-chup to cover them. if 3-day exercise, just imagine go back camp that time how... Hahaa, indeed the pipe charge is almost 100% not going in straight with that stupid "dragon head" Bobo mates are everywhere, including officer, i myself had 2 close shaves during my stint, one is during BIC where the my detail mate fell down while charging and his live shot hit the ground beside me and another is the officer clearing my IA round during range and misfired onto the ground in front of me... Edited January 19, 2017 by Gunzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 see Saving Private Ryan.....the ce section in-charge of the bangala torpedo all die trying to ignite the bloody thing...... In my NSF life, I think I played more enemy than anything. Once we were playing enemy for 3SIR A-Tec, I was on a hill top looking down on how they do it. KNN next to no chance of survival. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 In my NSF life, I think I played more enemy than anything. Once we were playing enemy for 3SIR A-Tec, I was on a hill top looking down on how they do it. KNN next to no chance of survival. kns....i remember we all sleeping near poyan reservoir.....1 o'clock in the morning.....so cold....sleepy like hell and the appointed enemy (1st or 2nd Guards) go and do an attack with a landrover.....nb....just want to sleep and had to run.....naoya! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 Aiyah....overseas training they sure give lok kok equipments......for our reservist roc they gave us SAW mark 2 that can is still 5.56mm friendly! Nearly 10 yrs back our unit changed to mark 3 but they were still using the old mark 2...ððð. U mean the backplate where the spring sits on? Yup.. that spring rest on back plate. When the sheet metal is a bit out of shape, STUCK!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 Last time never issue gore tex jackets. First time I saw the SAF gore tex jackets during ICT, I wanted to cry and reminded me of the days sleeping in the rain, cold and wet.that time garang mar.....no. 4 and fbo only..... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 kns....i remember we all sleeping near poyan reservoir.....1 o'clock in the morning.....so cold....sleepy like hell and the appointed enemy (1st or 2nd Guards) go and do an attack with a landrover.....nb....just want to sleep and had to run.....naoya! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 (edited) Yup.. that spring rest on back plate. When the sheet metal is a bit out of shape, STUCK!!!!! mine also stuck...cant remember lancer or starlite reservist....lucky i managed to pry with my bayonet! Good luck for those drawing SAW Butt no. 18 in the mid 90s... Edited January 19, 2017 by Eviilusion 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 Last time never issue gore tex jackets. First time I saw the SAF gore tex jackets during ICT, I wanted to cry and reminded me of the days sleeping in the rain, cold and wet. never bring poncho with you? poncho was our SOP item. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 (edited) mine also stuck...cant remember lancer or starlite reservist....lucky i managed to pry with my bayonet! Good luck for those drawing SAW Butt no. 18 in the mid 90s... Edited January 19, 2017 by Tianmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 (edited) I cfm not your time, few years after you ROD lah. Hint to you, 1st unit to achieved B-TEC Recon 1. Ard that time I think the guards formation was top form, one got recon2 high, one got Best combat unit, one got the historical recon 1. After that is all the way down slope. hahaha....dont look down on the guys....now all youtube hero.....can search for warfighting and whatever on youtube and act like they know everything.....hahaha! Sad to hear now i lao hero liao! Edited January 19, 2017 by Eviilusion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 20, 2017 Share January 20, 2017 You so good till can see enemy. In the navy, never get to see the another ship and already dead or the other party dead. Normally what we see is sky and sea. Everything is in the computer and radar screens. Press button warfare. Only time we see other ship is when doing sea to sea transfer of fuel or manpower. Also during island bombardment. This one very shiok. Everyone line up one straight line and main gun face either port(left) or starboard(right) then start letting go on the tiny island. Normally first shot is calibration shot. Then burst of 5. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 20, 2017 Share January 20, 2017 haiz.. sometimes envy the stories you guys have.. office bound... stay out personnel .. had to go out and sian zha bors whilst you guys chiong sua.. haiz... ha ha... this is so familiar, decades later. i remembered those days during class gatherings, when i lamented my tough NS life, at least one classmate who was a clerk, also said he envied my 多姿多彩 life. dunno to or Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged January 20, 2017 Share January 20, 2017 ha ha... this is so familiar, decades later. i remembered those days during class gatherings, when i lamented my tough NS life, at least one classmate who was a clerk, also said he envied my 多姿多彩 life. dunno to or ha everything is good in hindsight la.. i guess now i would think if only i got a combat posting la but in a deskbound office environment.. i saw all the politics and brown nosing at a young age... stood me in good stead i would say 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 20, 2017 Share January 20, 2017 ha ha... this is so familiar, decades later. i remembered those days during class gatherings, when i lamented my tough NS life, at least one classmate who was a clerk, also said he envied my 多姿多彩 life. dunno to or same same...last time one of our colleague listened to us talking about our ns life (Guardsmen and Infantrymen) about overseas adventure. He also say he envious of us because he was a store man in hq unit. We all say he siao.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...