National Service in Singapore

Scb11980

The live claymore is pretty loud right.

I spent my 19th birthday sitting on a hill, watching pple set one by one. Haha when it goes boom, the heart will skip a beat also  [laugh]

Yup, claymore is loud, and the ball bearings shooting out will injure or kill - and it's meant for bodily injury. Can't really confirm get rid wire obstacles if set up to impede progress.

the bangalore torpedo, on the other hand, will have shockwave that can blow a gap in let's say a wire obstacle set up to deter movement of the troops. It's louder and the 'earthquake' is felt further away. Only beaten by those crater charge, where dig one narrow hole about 1.5 m deep into the ground, then pour TNT flakes inside to fill up, and blow a big hole out. That one purposely shake the earth type...

Looks like your 19th birthday was literally celebrated with a - in fact many - big bang...  [laugh]

after we saw the 1st bangalore went off, to ignite the 2nd pc suddenly become not so cool liao.  [laugh]

and imagine, if the section 2IC place the claymore opposition in a live firing. This is I say imagine, so far never happen to us.  [laugh]  [laugh] 

if opp direction, you will see many people become like honeycomb like that lor - full of holes  :a-m1524:

haiz.. sometimes envy the stories you guys have..  office bound... stay out personnel ..  had to go out and sian zha bors whilst you guys chiong sua.. haiz... 

Edited by SuPerBoRed

haiz.. sometimes envy the stories you guys have..  office bound... stay out personnel ..  had to go out and sian zha bors whilst you guys chiong sua.. haiz... 

I was sorely tempted to "dislike" your post.  [:p]  :XD:

piss u off more... when i needed people to go sai gang for me in office..  i went to the coys to take OOCs to help out..   and they all love me one.. coz.. they also get to stay out..   [:p]

Edited by SuPerBoRed

every thing about the gun is good.

expect the rust , jitao let u clean till 3 am :psychotic:

iirc, this one is a bit laychey to assemble back after cleaning cos of the spring.

not as simple as the M16.

at one stage I was using AR15 made by Colt Industries.  [:p]

iirc, this one is a bit laychey to assemble back after cleaning cos of the spring.

at one stage I was using AR15 made by Colt Industries.  [:p]

wow

that was. like ages ago...

wow

that was. like ages ago...

My unit under Air Force, so I guess we are not high priority when it comes to personal arms.

Somewhere along the way did change to M16 by Chartered Industries. 

wah you also combat engineer? how come got comet? that one even more rare than bangalore torpedo. Even as engineer, my platoon only fired it i think once during NS.

but that one usually fly off-course and not straight leh. Actually this one the firer must be si bey brave one, cos if real life need to use, very low chance to come back one (alive) lah... imagine go to the edge of a minefield, surely got enemy fire, carry the heavy box and prone down there to set up the ignitor and fire, then run back to cover [hur]

That's why later about to ROD, i think estab changed and it was supposed to be fired from tank liao.

But if comet is bad, whoever invented the pipe charge is no-brain one. This one confirmed 10 pax go and launch, 10 pax get posthumous purple heart... and i think got almost zero chance of successful breach lor.

for those who dunno, pipe charge is basically a series of super-elongated bangalore torpedoes that can be connected into a very long line (think ~30 m), and used to form a gap/lane in a minefield...

[thumbsup]

Likedat everyday jewelry shops and money changers and banks kanna robbery non-stop liao.

Anyway, perhaps finally maybe some minister's relative kanna this, and I heard recent years, only need to report to the rehearsal ground and draw/send arms there. No need go to camp liao. At least their brains started to work...

aiyoh, you talk about guns...

when we moved out, our m113 got GPMP and 0.5 gun... if rain, often we bo-chup to cover them. if 3-day exercise, just imagine go back camp that time how...

It was a one-off exercise with Brunei Armed Forces. They sent a company here to join our exercise and live firing. There was amx tanks (also live-firing) and rsaf skyhawk (mid 80s) doing practice dive bombs! I was in the support group after our assault of the 1st knoll before the Bruneian company did the assault on the last knoll in Safti. We used bangala torpedo while they used comet charge. The comet charge was like a choreograph explosion.....it flew over the 'minefield' and concentina wire.....landed like a long string of sausage and exploded a fraction of a second one after another.......swee!

Got see Saving Private Ryan.....those bangala torpedo section all died before igniting it.....lol.

Bro bangala torpedo can be screwed to each other to make them very long.....but we usually will use one most probably to save costs or save energy!

Edited by Eviilusion

at one stage I was using AR15 made by Colt Industries. [:p]

Ultimac 100 is really a bitch to clean up after training! Rust all over and the pieces especially the gas regulator will always be covered by black soot! The spring quite easy, take flanellete, put between the coil and keep turning and turning....

you never use petrol ?  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

you never use petrol ? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

cannot de...where to get the petrol....hahaha! WD 40 also cannot use......chargeable offense! I ever kana warn, Ex lancer, just came back from 3-4 days exercise and my saw looks rusty and an officer saw the rust. Told him i just came back from mission lei....no oil inside jungle...how to put! Went back to armskote and asked for oil......covered the metal parts with oil....wait for 1/2 an hour and used towel to clean the rust and oil. Sent the weapon back to armskote spick and span with all the rust gone....armskoteman (we called him fattchai) also happy...

Wah, he privileged then...

that one the real thing dun fire too often. Usually just use a simple small TNT block to simulate niah... and yes, it has one of the loudest explosion, and can feel the earth shake momentarily as the shockwave is designed to hit sideward all round, so will go right into the ground too. And better dun let the blur F try during live firing mission, which is more stressful than the demo live firing. If let's say battalion exercise live firing, with all the troops moving behind you, then blur F bring the bangalore under cover support fire go and breach, if he kan cheong, never put bangalore properly or it slips out of position, and the long side now parallel (rather than perpendicular) to the troops... that's it lor... 

actually need to question the usefulness of bangalore torpedo in mordern combat.

back in ww2, the infantry weapon was bolt action, so the amount and accuracy of covering fire coming may be survivable.

today, with SAWs, automatic assault rifles and optical sights, anyone running up with a bagalore torpedo is dead meat lor..   

actually need to question the usefulness of bangalore torpedo in mordern combat.

back in ww2, the infantry weapon was bolt action, so the amount and accuracy of covering fire coming may be survivable.

today, with SAWs, automatic assault rifles and optical sights, anyone running up with a bagalore torpedo is dead meat lor..   

i think now they got a vehicle that launch the bangalore already ,

during ROC navex, they gave us very lok kok old weapons.

my SAW backplate got jammed and cannot open even using bayonet, after a few days in the field, the internal basically rusted shut. back camp the armskote whacked the weapon open. the inside was terribly rusted.

lucky my section mates testified for me, else sure get charged.

I was not the designated sawman in the section but during my time, my impression of the SAW was:-

- glorified M16, essentially same firing rate 

- difficult to put back after cleaning

- magazine housing design not good, some guys lost the dummy mag and had to sign 12-06

- not FIBUA-friendly

only area where SAW was better than M16 was the recoil.

sawman should be concealed and lay covering fire for the section, cumbersome to run around with the section with a saw.

during ROC navex, they gave us very lok kok old weapons.

my SAW backplate got jammed and cannot open even using bayonet, after a few days in the field, the internal basically rusted shut. back camp the armskote whacked the weapon open. the inside was terribly rusted.

lucky my section mates testified for me, else sure get charged.

Aiyah....overseas training they sure give lok kok equipments......for our reservist roc they gave us SAW mark 2 that can is still 5.56mm friendly! Nearly 10 yrs back our unit changed to mark 3 but they were still using the old mark 2...