Malaysia : Road Trip to Cameron Highlands

1fast1

R u & Hotshot85 both doctors ? :huh:

I wish bro, I wish. Unfortunately, I'm just an average employee working for the admissions department and getting an average pay to lead an average lifestyle T_T

Ms Tame here though, is pretty secretive about it haha ;)

Edited by Hotshot85

[;)]:D :D

Don't blow my cover, bro Hotshot! Or else I won't reveal anymore new routes to u liao!

Hahahaha!! How would I be able to do that when I'm still doing guesswork as to

which department exactly you're working for leh? =P

Btw Sis Tame, hopefully next time we can explore new routes together or something. My gf loves

these kinda trips too lol. B-road demon convoy hahaha!!

Edited by Hotshot85

considering to go during the yr end school holidays. is it advisable? how will the weather be?

n with the recommendation of bavaria, i think i may stay at cameron highlands resort. anybody stayed there b4? was wondering if the deluxe room is spacious for xtra bed.

other hotels also can. preferable those with big rooms. how abt the weather there? anyone with experience in going there during nov/dec?

CHR is the most premium hotel in Cameron. It is relatively expensive compared to the others. unless you plan to golf or lounge around the hotel, it is quite a waste of money (not that i dun like the colonial feel of the place). Strawberry Park is a good mix of comfort snd price. I think they have got large rooms to accomodate families. All in all, i would avoid Equatorial becoz of their location relative to Brinchang. Smokehouse is an intersting alternative if you can put up with the pompous setting.

Year end weather is cooler but expect more showers due to the monsoon. Also the ground will be more damp becoz of the mists. A weather proof pullover or hoodie will come in handy.

Also, there will be more people due to the school hoilidays. Avoid the weekends if possible. Traffic jams are no fun on 2way streets.

I would recommend Century Pines in Tanah Rata for those who travel with family.

Rooms are spacious enough. Also have those ground flr type with common garden (for kids to run).

Short Walk thru Children's playground enroute to chinese/Indian food & shops (grocery, barber, hair saloon, etc),

Access to hiking track.

Carpark- big surface carpark and a one level basement carpark.;

No traffic jams.

CHR is the most premium hotel in Cameron. It is relatively expensive compared to the others. unless you plan to golf or lounge around the hotel, it is quite a waste of money (not that i dun like the colonial feel of the place). Strawberry Park is a good mix of comfort snd price. I think they have got large rooms to accomodate families. All in all, i would avoid Equatorial becoz of their location relative to Brinchang. Smokehouse is an intersting alternative if you can put up with the pompous setting.

Year end weather is cooler but expect more showers due to the monsoon. Also the ground will be more damp becoz of the mists. A weather proof pullover or hoodie will come in handy.

Also, there will be more people due to the school hoilidays. Avoid the weekends if possible. Traffic jams are no fun on 2way streets.

oh ok. i think it was u who recommended CHR. but u hv a point abt a waste of money if not staying indoors a lot. will take a look at strawberry park as well.

is the pasar malam open on wkdays? i was actually planning to go on wkend, cos i remember reading abt the pasar malam. but if it is open on wkdays, then i rather go on wkdays. hotels might b cheaper, n place is less crowded.

I would recommend Century Pines in Tanah Rata for those who travel with family.

Rooms are spacious enough. Also have those ground flr type with common garden (for kids to run).

Short Walk thru Children's playground enroute to chinese/Indian food & shops (grocery, barber, hair saloon, etc),

Access to hiking track.

Carpark- big surface carpark and a one level basement carpark.;

No traffic jams.

thanks for the recommendation. will look at the hotel.

anyway, i gather that the place is separated into 2 parts; tanah rata n brinchang. which is better?

oh ok. i think it was u who recommended CHR. but u hv a point abt a waste of money if not staying indoors a lot. will take a look at strawberry park as well.

is the pasar malam open on wkdays? i was actually planning to go on wkend, cos i remember reading abt the pasar malam. but if it is open on wkdays, then i rather go on wkdays. hotels might b cheaper, n place is less crowded.

I probably did. It is a nice hotel. Depending on what is the focus of your visit, others might be more suitable. :D i stayed their once becoz i just wanted to break up the drive to Penang and had to find some excuse to drive up Cameron in a convertible. [laugh] [laugh]

Not too sure if they operate the pasar malam on weekdays during the peak periods.

Tanah Ratah is about 10 minutes from brinchang. They are about the same but Tanah Ratah seems to have more backpackers (angmo). Ether way, both are near enough to visit no matter where you stay. More things to eat in tanah ratah if u ask me.

thanks for the recommendation. will look at the hotel.

anyway, i gather that the place is separated into 2 parts; tanah rata n brinchang. which is better?

Suggest u google Cameron Highlands, then have a rough idea of the diff towns and places we mentioned.

If u drive up via Tapah, u will pass thru Ringlet and hit Tanah Rata first.

If via Simpang Pulai, then, u will pass thru Kampong Raja, then Equatorial Hotel enroute to Brinchang Town ( the highest )

So, both hotels are on different sides of the mountain lnked by a thru road.

Pasar Malam on Friday & Saturdays evenings, that's when traffic congestion occurs after lunch when the locals fr Ipoh & KL

start streaming in via Simpang Pulai route, traffic at standstill from as far as Kg Raja.

It seems almost everybody wants to stay, eat & shop in Brinchang town!

Year end school holidays & Xmas wk particularly packed with smell of vehicle exhaust everywhere.

Strawberry Park room :

post-2654-1348802410_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348802421_thumb.jpg

Parking there :

post-2654-1348802560_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1348802449_thumb.jpg

The strawberry farm below the resort :

post-2654-1348802484_thumb.jpg

Dont forget to try rabbit satay :

post-2654-1348802540_thumb.jpg

All pics from my stay there in 2007. :D

Century Pines hotel is good for family.

However, if you don't mind a near-by Mosque (prayer 5 time per day to public). Can be heard in hotel room.

In CH, avoid Malaysia school holiday period. Heavy traffic in Brinchang Town. Can be very bad.

Night market in Brinchange for Fri-Sun (6pm to 10pm)

Temp is fantastic for SIN : 22-24 deg C

Night can be chill : 18-20 deg C

looks like overall feedback is the nightmarish traffic during wkends, esp school holidays. but if already there, then the traffic wouldnt b of concern right? cos can jus walk frm point to point.

bro...i tink ur pics very outdated already. i saw some pics, seems like they hv renovated the rooms. hehe. thanks for posting!