Kids nowadays speak with a slang ?

Rollagt

I realise youngsters nowadays (from Pri to tertiary) do speak with an angmo slang for english and seems that they are struggling very hard to speak their own mother tongue. ie mandrian.

Is it because parents nowadays speak english at home and resulting their children becoming mono-lingual ?

Occasionally, I could see youngster/school student struggling hard to converse in simple mandrian. ie placing order for mixed rice.

BUT.. I dont see our malay and indian youngsters struggle to speak both english and their mother tongue well.

its in the upbringing ,

if the parent with 6.5 standard,

die-die wanna speaked engrish to the kids at home,

u can't blame the product of their efforts right?

近朱者赤

for all you know,

they are speaking the maids' native language more fluently

You are damn right about this phenomena. This trait is especially noticeable in young teens.

I also noticed they had already adopted the habit of adding phrases such as, ''You know...'', ''I was like...'' etc.

Haha ! Spell sala ! Mandarin !

Maybe parents thought english good is more useful than their own mother tongue ?

But now with India and China coming up, english good still got use in future ?

Even those china people are becoming more and more bilingual and I guess these monolingual SG youngsters will sure lose out in the long run.

I ever got suan and mocked by china man on my command of mandarin. They say chinese boy duno chinese. Then ask if I ever heard of English man cant speak english ?

Feels so lousy !

Edited by Rollagt

You are damn right about this phenomena. This trait is especially noticeable in young teens.

I also noticed they had already adopted the habit of adding phrases such as, ''You know...'', ''I was like...'' etc.

I fully agree on the "I was like" portion..Maybe it feels atas when u say out this tagline.

Feels unglam to say "I hor.."

BUT.. I dont see our malay and indian youngsters struggle to speak both english and their mother tongue well.

I am guessing you don't have a strong command of Malay/Tamil/Hindi/Urdu and have too few Malay/Indian friends who can be honest with you. PLENTY of Malays and Indians struggle with their mother tongue.

When I speak Mandarin, people from China will ask me which province I'm from. But when I try to do real work in Mandarin, these same people with switch to English... or Chinglish.... and things get done faster.

Singapore does not have the environment for Mandarin/Chinese to reach work level competence. Which is why my philosophy for my children's education is that they must have a very strong command of English first.

Ironically, just the other day, I was playing with voice recognition on Google Translate, and maybe you should try it, cause Google Translate kept thinking I was cursing when I said "BEDSHEET". Immediately understood me when I said "床单". I guess I still need to work my accents in English... and if I get too successful, you will accuse me of slanging too.

I am guessing you don't have a strong command of Malay/Tamil/Hindi/Urdu and have too few Malay/Indian friends who can be honest with you. PLENTY of Malays and Indians struggle with their mother tongue.

When I speak Mandarin, people from China will ask me which province I'm from. But when I try to do real work in Mandarin, these same people with switch to English... or Chinglish.... and things get done faster.

Singapore does not have the environment for Mandarin/Chinese to reach work level competence. Which is why my philosophy for my children's education is that they must have a very strong command of English first.

Ironically, just the other day, I was playing with voice recognition on Google Translate, and maybe you should try it, cause Google Translate kept thinking I was cursing when I said "BEDSHEET". Immediately understood me when I said "床单". I guess I still need to work my accents in English... and if I get too successful, you will accuse me of slanging too.

Mother tongue although not a working language but at least able to have a decent conversation with peers or ordering food. The chap I met even struggle with the word " bai fan" (rice) A look at his wallet shows he carries a pink IC which means school got teach mother tongue but din teach him "bai fan".

Till date, I have not met anyone sucessful speak good english with a slang. Haha!

I realise youngsters nowadays (from Pri to tertiary) do speak with an angmo slang for english and seems that they are struggling very hard to speak their own mother tongue. ie mandrian.

Is it because parents nowadays speak english at home and resulting their children becoming mono-lingual ?

Occasionally, I could see youngster/school student struggling hard to converse in simple mandrian. ie placing order for mixed rice.

being effective in more than one language has always been an issue.

even for us when we were youths.

I try to make it a point that my kids learn to speak a dialect of our forefathers.

culture and heritage can easily be lost when language is lost too.

being effective in more than one language has always been an issue.

even for us when we were youths.

I try to make it a point that my kids learn to speak a dialect of our forefathers.

culture and heritage can easily be lost when language is lost too.

I agree with you on being effective on more than 1 language. Last generation cant get effective but at least dun let it deteriorate.

For myself, being a Teochew in dialect could only understand but can only speak up to 30% fluency. Sigh ! Whereas HOkkien I could understand 100% and speak at 70% fluency.

I would not worry so much as to HOW the kids of new gen Sinkie are until...

THEY SLASH OR STAB YOU!!...

if they're male or accuse you are out to seduce them (for the female) and they asked their beng bf to beat you up,,,

Then you'll start worrying! [laugh]

Maybe parents thought english good is more useful than their own mother tongue ?

I notice another thing is when keep a dog, cat, rabbit or other cute adorable animal etc, the owner will speak to them in English. I seldom hear dog owner speak to their dog in Chinese. Maybe such behavior is bring over to their kids, first instinct is speak in English since young as they all very cute, adorable like those dog, cat etc.

Mother tongue although not a working language but at least able to have a decent conversation with peers or ordering food. The chap I met even struggle with the word " bai fan" (rice) A look at his wallet shows he carries a pink IC which means school got teach mother tongue but din teach him "bai fan".

The guy from China will correct you and say it is "mifan" not "baifan".

I am not against learning Chinese, but there are different levels to aim for and different people have different circumstances, and there is no point being judgemental.

A pink IC means nothing. That guy may be a new citizen from Myanmar, for example, and had been here for over 10 years when he studied in local universities.

i also noticed that..since when is that a part of conversational english?

Edited by Darthrevan