Slow drivers are safe drivers...

Vhtfhwlego

Driving fast does not mean the drivers do not have any road awareness. I too, used to think it's better to drive fast late at night when you are feeling sleepy as the adrenline that kicks in will help one to be more alert. Thus, i develop the habit of fast driving till my colleague told me that it was scary sitting in my car. [laugh] Till recently, i take the approach of driving leisurely and i enjoy it as i don't have to be constantly on the look out for other cars, tp and cameras. When you have passengers, you can also spend some quality time chatting with them while still concentrate on the road conditions unlike when driving fast, most of your attention is on the road. Now, I'm practising driving to go together with the flow of the traffic during peak hours. At night, when there are not much cars on hte expressway, i just keep 90~100 in lane 2 even though sometimes i still drive like midnight wagan... [laugh] Overall, i still prefer to drive leisurely as i find things less stressful. No point raising your blood pressure just to save a few minutes.

I think the lesson here is not about driving fast or slow, but be considerate whether you are fast or slow.. I admit that I travel mostly on lane 1.. but I tend to keep up with traffic.. i.e leaving min 1-2 car length to the front.. and try to close the gap at reasonably safe speed. So far.. seldom ppl tailgate me... and I dun tailgate ppl...

And to be frank.. I do enjoy the drive.

I think its more important to have road courtesy...driving fast or slow or within limits doesn't matter as long as you drive without affecting other drivers/vehicles way on the road...if want to drive at lane 1 keep up the pace or just overtake and go back to lane to 2 to give way to those behind...we will all get to where we need to go albeit slow or fast driving...

OK before jumping to conclusion, lets say for example : A can drive his car and handle well to a max speed of 110km/hr. B can handle his car max at 80Km/hr. so both car drive on the expressway at 80km/hr. who is more dangerous? Thats the point TS is trying to say. And I dont know issit all around the world or just Singapore. Many slow drivers liket to keep to the middle lane and fast lane cause they feel that the car in front is too slow and some even like to drive side by side. For me I always tell my wife, stay away from the cars on the road . either you speed up and pull away from them or you slow down to keep a safe distance away from the group. Just dont know why why many drive like to drive together. sometimes parking also. open space car park so many parking lot dont park must park beside my car and end up squeezing his way out of his door cause see beside the car got people inside. when no body inside just open door and there goes another new dent.

Edited by Raygooh

I always have this example for myself and others:

• On a 4 lane road at a traffic light, there are 20 cars waiting at the red light. 4 lanes means 5 cars in each lane.
  • When light turn green, if all cars can magically move off at 100km/h, all will be traveling at 100km/h the moment light is green, until all is home. The world is beautiful, and ideal.
  • However, if 1 bugger is only 90km/h, all behind him must be 90km/h or less.

You are only as fast as the drivers (plural) in front of you.

Slow driver nvm. Some driver when moving off from traffic light accelarate so slowly that i can out accelerate them in 4th gear at 30km/h. wtf is wrong with this ppl. save petrol?

Driving fast does not mean the drivers do not have any road awareness. I too, used to think it's better to drive fast late at night when you are feeling sleepy as the adrenline that kicks in will help one to be more alert. Thus, i develop the habit of fast driving till my colleague told me that it was scary sitting in my car. [laugh] Till recently, i take the approach of driving leisurely and i enjoy it as i don't have to be constantly on the look out for other cars, tp and cameras. When you have passengers, you can also spend some quality time chatting with them while still concentrate on the road conditions unlike when driving fast, most of your attention is on the road. Now, I'm practising driving to go together with the flow of the traffic during peak hours. At night, when there are not much cars on hte expressway, i just keep 90~100 in lane 2 even though sometimes i still drive like midnight wagan... [laugh] Overall, i still prefer to drive leisurely as i find things less stressful. No point raising your blood pressure just to save a few minutes.

we not exactly need a third party to voice out before one slowing it own pace on the road, but i felt age is one major factor..... in fact i think that i will felt irritated if someone commented my driving style....

use to think that i can out accelerate any car on the road, and did it most if not all the time. however, i see that now most if not all cars out accelerate me on the road! LOL! lane 2 is my preferred lane now, as much lesser tailgater encounter and often faster than travel in lane 1 on expressway.

I still enjoy driving very much, no less then when i was in the teenage!!! and most importantly, will go back in time to my "teenage" mood once in a loooong while!!!

as for TS, well probably his mood was pretty down, and need some adrenalin rush to spice up his mood, a row of slow moving vehicles blocking the whole passageway would definitely escalate one's heat within. thus the bursting of anger by TS which i believe. in any case, drive safely, too many of cocky drivers on the road out there trying very hard to spoil your day, give them a good smile with a clear thumb down for "retaliation", and enjoy these cocky drivers dramatic change in face!

Drive slow can save petrol, wont kena speed fine, wont lost contol of car , wont kena chain collison , can delay if u know there still left a few mins when ERP off,

got time to pcc while driving or kena pcc by someone..

so many good point.. y not drive slow?

Slow driver nvm. Some driver when moving off from traffic light accelarate so slowly that i can out accelerate them in 4th gear at 30km/h. wtf is wrong with this ppl. save petrol?

on a bigger picture, they are trying to save the environment!! LOL

a bit far fetched to say "some" drivers that you can out accelerate in 4th at 30kph, these are those minority cocky or newbie or lowly drivers i suppose....

I agree, what's more important is to drive safely. If you drive fast but can't handle the car at that speed, what's going to happen?

Not hogging, drive at the speed you can control the vehicle at, and arrive safely. It's not a F1 track out there. And screw all those racerboys.

Your signature quote says it all. Maybe someone just changed to a Alfa so his ego also become too big. [lipsrsealed]

I ask again, what's wrong with a lorry driving at 50km/h on a SLIP ROAD? Lorry drive fast at 80km/h kenna farked, lorry drive slow at 50km/h also kenna farked.

TS, why don't you go learn to operate a helicopter? No one will block your way. [rolleyes]

Drive slow can save petrol, wont kena speed fine, wont lost contol of car , wont kena chain collison , can delay if u know there still left a few mins when ERP off,

got time to pcc while driving or kena pcc by someone..

so many good point.. y not drive slow?

the one in bold will cause lost control of car, chain collision, extensive delay to reach home lor.....

Your signature quote says it all. Maybe someone just changed to a Alfa so his ego also become too big. [lipsrsealed]

I ask again, what's wrong with a lorry driving at 50km/h on a SLIP ROAD? Lorry drive fast at 80km/h kenna farked, lorry drive slow at 50km/h also kenna farked.

TS, why don't you go learn to operate a helicopter? No one will block your way. [rolleyes]

Alfa big fark meh? I drive a Porsche also like that. I also follow behind lorry, stay 2nd lane if need be,

why need to stylo milo with your life for what? Lorry on slip road why must kana fark? Speed wise not sala,

but if lorry drive 1 lane then will kana fark.

I never let those racerboys bother me, they can tailgate all they want, can overtake if you want also,

doesn't bother me a bit, I only laugh at the immaturity. :D

bro, ur msg was very clear to TS, why keep repeating the attack?? live and let live......

Did I keep attacking him? I don't think so. The post above is only my second one.

Live and let live. I always know that when I am on the road. There's all sort of drivers on the road and we have to accomodate. Maybe you can tell him your theory about live and let live.

So do you think a lorry travelling at 50km/h on a slip road is wrong? What he wants is everyone on the road to drive at a speed according to his wishes. [hur] That's why I asked him to fly a helicopter, no one will block his way.

Edited by Fcw75

a drink-and-drive driver commenting on slow drivers? a slow driver might not be safe..neither is a driver who drinks

With a drink & drive driver, NO ONE IS SAFE. <_<

I stop reading after I see this.

I've watched a documentary show which has tested and proven that moderate amount of alcohol will enhance your driving capabilities, no joke! I kind of agree to this because sometimes while driving back from KL along NSH, popping 2-3 cans of beer does keep me awake and alert. Maybe its just an 酒鬼 effect :D

Quite sure that u belong to those group who drives 90km/h on lane 1, with no cars in front of you and a whole strecth of cars behind you trying to overtake. You will ask the same thing, " What's wrong with a car travelling at 90km/h on lane 1?" You are damn right... Nothing wrong being a dick...