Vulcann 6th Gear December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 So it is official, the Japanese are going for the F35 Lightning II. But with a shocking :o price tag of US$113m per piece, maybe only they can afford it at this stage. Not sure we ourselves can cough out this amount x12 times for a squadron, not forgetting the costs for corresponding training packages & associated weapons... [sweatdrop] Maybe we can, provided: (i) HDB 3-room starts at S$1m per unit; (ii) COE starts at $100,000 for Cat A onwards; (iii) Income/Corporate tax starts at 50% of disposable income onwards; (iv) GST flat rate of 20%; & (v) Levy known as defence tax of $1000 per year per resident How about that? From CNA: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp...1172334/1/.html Japan picks F-35 as new fighter Posted: 20 December 2011 1010 hrs OKYO: Japan on Tuesday chose the US-built F-35 stealth jet for its next-generation mainstay fighter as North Korea provided a timely reminder of the region's potential for instability. In a deal estimated to be worth more than US$4 billion, Japan plumped for the trouble-plagued jet to replace its ageing fleet of fighters, Jiji press reported, citing a cabinet meeting. The formal decision, which had long been expected, came the day after news of the death of Kim Jong-Il sent jitters through the region amid fears a power transition could destablise the North's hardline regime. Tokyo was originally expected to announce its pick last week, which comes as China's massive military machine continues to grow and Beijing becomes increasingly assertive. The defence ministry had wanted the high-tech jet made by Lockheed Martin to replace its ageing fleet of F-4 jets. Two other jets, the Boeing-made F/A-18 Super Hornet and the Eurofighter Typhoon were also in contention. Previous reports said Japan wants between 40 and 50 F-35s. The jet is the most expensive weapons programme in Pentagon history and has been plagued by cost overruns and technical delays. Co-developed with British defence giant BAE Systems, the F-35 was the most expensive of the three models under consideration, with a price tag estimated at $113 million per aircraft. Japan initially aimed to acquire the F-22 stealth fighter to renew its fleet, but US law prohibits exports of the jet with the United States having said it would halt production of the model. Japan, which places its security alliance with the United States at the cornerstone of its foreign policy, has a long history of depending on Washington for its military hardware. - AFP/ck ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 USD 113m per piece is cheap considering the cost of so many projects that the government tendered...... I think our gahmen sign up sum contract as a "observer" for the project, meaning we got slightly higher priority if we were to purchase, but we didn't pump in $$ for the development though. I think it's only a matter of time we will purchase the F-35. It's first roll out will be 2017. We may get it as early as 2023 to replace the then-aging F-16s.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 With the strong YEN & growing china influence it's logical for the government to go ahead and buy the best fighting equipment and tools. Like wise many Jap companies are expanding overseas with take over and buyout. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 But with a shocking :o price tag of US$113m per piece, maybe only they can afford it at this stage. still affordable lah, MBT say one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 Japanese are baller Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 (edited) The Japanese have a real unstable threat at their doorstep. The taepodong missile flew over the Japanese islands on two occasions. This underscores the nuttiness of the N Koreans. you need a nutty weapon to deal with the N Koreans. Edited December 20, 2011 by Happily1986 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 (edited) USD 113m per piece is cheap considering the cost of so many projects that the government tendered...... I think our gahmen sign up sum contract as a "observer" for the project, meaning we got slightly higher priority if we were to purchase, but we didn't pump in $ for the development though. I think it's only a matter of time we will purchase the F-35. It's first roll out will be 2017. We may get it as early as 2023 to replace the then-aging F-16s.. We did pump in money for their development. we're a SCP. Israel pumped in over 20 million as an SCP. Edited December 20, 2011 by Cerano Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear December 20, 2011 Author Share December 20, 2011 We did pump in money for their development. we're a SCP. 120 million or so. Was wondering when this thread will hook you Looks like we are going for it ultimately... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 Was wondering when this thread will hook you Looks like we are going for it ultimately... Opps typo, 20 mil i meant. Dont forget i posted that thread about our defense budget increasing awhile back they could already be preparing for additional purchases Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear December 20, 2011 Author Share December 20, 2011 Opps typo, 20 mil i meant. Dont forget i posted that thread about our defense budget increasing awhile back they could already be preparing for additional purchases Whatever it is over S$200m a pop is really dam bloody ex!!! Guess we taxpayers have to be ready then... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 How much does a F16 or F15 cost, much cheaper? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 No need $113 mil lah. Just send our F16s to India and their body experts can knock its shape to F35. I have seen them knock an old indian car into a Peugeot 206. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davinci Clutched December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 If I am not wrong, RSAF spends almost a billion dollars on 4 E2C Hawkeye 24 years ago. So what is USD 113m a piece today? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 If we were to buy this, our "friendly" neighbours will cry mother cry father........ How to buy like that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 How much does a F16 or F15 cost, much cheaper? F15 is about U$30M. 1 F35 can but 4 F15. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 If I am not wrong, RSAF spends almost a billion dollars on 4 E2C Hawkeye 24 years ago. So what is USD 113m a piece today? i thought the E2Cs were so cheap they were almost given away by the US to us to counter the commies? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 Whatever it is over S$200m a pop is really dam bloody ex!!! Guess we taxpayers have to be ready then... Instead of channelling revenues from ARF/COE/ERP to transport related infrastructures and systems, i guess most of them go into defense, and ministers' salaries. Defencse is a matter of life or death, but salaries?? Jap defense/aggression industry used to be almost on par with the west (Zero vs Mustang vs Spitefire etc), but after the war, they became home appliances experts and not allowed to touched anything more dangerous than a butter knife.... shouldnt the ban be lifted so that their mighty technologies can churn out more deadly butter knives against its nearby Mad Man country Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 If we were to buy this, our "friendly" neighbours will cry mother cry father........ How to buy like that? Cant we buy it under OPC??.................... only RadX will kpkb.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...