Elite says: Major disruption in 24 years is understandable

Cerano

breakdowns and attacks are as understandable as injuries and illness that a human may face.

it is the remedial or follow up action which rightfully may face criticism in this case.

lets put it this way:-

you buy a car and it breaks down after 8 yrs, even though you serviced it well and followed the maintenance schedules, will you unreasonably scream and shout and accuse the seller of a lousy job because your car broke down?

if this seller does not respond to your call for assistance or does not carry the parts for repairs or gives bochup attitude, yes you have a right to make noise.

dont make noise about the wrong things, dude.

breaking down after so many years IS understandable

Er not exactly the same thing -

For a car, break down is a relatively minor matter, so sched maintenance and servicing is "undemanding".

If the car was critical, you could design a maintenance schedule that would pretty much guarantee that it would not break down. Ever.

A major disruption in 24 years is understandable - and forgivable

AS A Singaporean who has spent a good part of the past 10 years in Japan, and now in Spain, let me offer a different perspective to last week's train disruptions in Singapore ('Commuters delayed as Circle Line breaks down', last Thursday; 'MRT breakdown chaos', last Friday; 'PM orders inquiry as trains break down again', Sun-day) .

Japan has one of the most efficient transport systems in the world, yet it is also prone to the occasional disruption, whether it is caused technically or for other reasons.

In Barcelona where I live, the transport system is vulnerable to workers' strikes, which sometimes mean disrupted service for long periods.

Yet in both places, the public react calmly and do not point fingers at their government in anger.

By contrast, I read my friends in Singapore who rant online about operators, the Ministry of Transport and even the minister.

This reflects a population pampered by an efficient society who have grown intolerant.

A major breakdown in 24 years of operation is understandable - and forgivable.

We can improve the current systems by revising ways of communication so commuters can be better informed in an emergency.

For example, when a disruption occurs in the train network in Japan, information about the incident is immediately available on the website of the company, various news websites and a banner is displayed on Japanese tele-vision channels. This allows affected passengers to check the latest information online with their mobile phones, and lets them consider alternative routes before they travel.

This will allow us to maintain our world-class transport reputation.

Samson Guanglin Lee

Barcelona, Spain

this guy(SAMSON), i think he now stay in BARCELONA, said worker STRICKES, not BREAKDOWN. i did stay in BCN in 2003-2004( 1 mths +, 89 days straight, 1 mth ), i never encountered any breakdown or delay on the METRO(L1 to L5 line), not to mention those train going out of BARCELONA.

maybe he stay in the wrong place and wrong time.

breakdowns and attacks are as understandable as injuries and illness that a human may face.

it is the remedial or follow up action which rightfully may face criticism in this case.

I linked it in such a way because he does not see the seriousness of it, and this gives the higher ups that such major breakdowns are acceptable.

you buy a car and it breaks down after 8 yrs, even though you serviced it well and followed the maintenance schedules, will you unreasonably scream and shout and accuse the seller of a lousy job because your car broke down?

if this seller does not respond to your call for assistance or does not carry the parts for repairs or gives bochup attitude, yes you have a right to make noise.

In SG context, it is at your own risk to buy an old car that is 8 years old. And these MRT trains have way passed their warrenty period, unless they buy extended warrenty from the manufactuer, there is no case, likewise for the same car I buy. You'll have to source from your own parts, be it local or overseas. For our SMRT who most likely have their fixed suppliers for these parts, they have no excuse not to touch up on their maintenance, and do you deem it acceptable to hold a part that is already suffering from the effects of vibrations with cable tie? Would you accept your mechanic to secure your car engine with cable tie instead of bolting them down?

The case here is what causes the breakdowns. Everyone can easily blame the vibrations from the moving train. Fine, then why use an ineffective solution that causes these major breakdowns?

Following the maintenance schedule is one thing, are they pro-active in seeking out other damages? When will the missing claws be discovered had LTA not ordered a full inspection? After Thurs breakdown, I believe they had done a more "detailed" checks, did they discover anything wrong? The answer is in Sat's breakdown.

I agree breakdown is unavoidable. It is acceptable if you had shown/proven that you had done your best to prevent such an occurance.

In this case, everyone can see the shobby work done.

If one SIA aircraft were to crash due to "parts breaking down" even following through proper maintenance/replacement procedures, would you accept it? Would your stance be the same if your family members are in that plane?

Regular maintenance can prevent breakdowns, but that is only part of the equation. Like what was mentioned, 24 years, the manufacturer may no longer produce these parts, so for using refurbished parts, are QC done to ensure the parts are up to standard? Does SMRT assume the MTBF to be the same as the original if refrubished parts are used? This is not making the wrong noise, this is something that needs to be addressed. If there are problems in their procurement process, then they better correct it.

you didnt read my post properly, dude.

I am talking about buying a brand new car and driving it for 8 yrs and servicing it well.

and it still breaks down.

it is understandable right?

you wont go and make noise at the agent right?

Not talking about buying old car.

it should not be based on whether it affect the writer or not.

I think the writers comments are fair.

I stand uncorrected.

I see that your arguments are making more sense when you put them rightly so and I have little to not agree.

Edited by Throttle2

Er not exactly the same thing -

For a car, break down is a relatively minor matter, so sched maintenance and servicing is "undemanding".

If the car was critical, you could design a maintenance schedule that would pretty much guarantee that it would not break down. Ever.

of course not exactly the same thing.

nothing is exactly the same thing except for the same thing but the basis is definitely there.

no schedule can guarantee that it will not breakdown nor be "attacked"

I am not on the side of SMRT or anything.

I dont take the MRT but that doesnt make me feel any less upset about what has happened.

Just trying to remind the folks to remain objective and impartial so as to form a good basis for debate.

Of course , it is your choice to adopt the kopitiam ah beng uncle mentality and rant and make noise about everything.

that includes linking everything to politics

or to adopt a rightfully educated, impartial mentality which I believe ,most of us have.

your choice.

My choice is not to be bothered with people who cant even understand that.

2 issues.

1. It is understandable that things break down yes. But they must be kept to a minimum. the question is, was enough done? were there stringent regulations to ensure that checks were done regularly? the inquiry should reveal the answer, but frankly, i have no confidence in them arriving at the right conclusions.

2. crisis management. the systems are clearly not in place. where was the police? could they not have helped to divert traffic? and the communication? could it have been better, to ease the situation?

+1 Like

Making sure your car running and well is your responsibility after the warranty years. The agent don't owe you an answer after that

But, let's say if you hire this agent to ensure you have a driving machine for 10 yrs. And this agent eat snake and just do basic maintenance, like change oil only. This may well last you for maybe 3 to 5 yrs. After 5 years, with the machine getting old, he didn't do his due diligent to do more thorough check and but just basic maintenance, and you car finally break down. Worst he didn't tell you the problem (or maybe he himself didn't know the problem would surface due to lack of thorough maintenance needed for older car), and you car stall in the middle of a highway.. When you call him, he offer no solution and didn't arrive timely till you almost suffocate you have to smash the window. And he refuse to be sack by you.

If he done his due diligent and tested the, even if worst case scenario, he would would know to change or replace your car to prevent a situation that let you stranded in the middle of of highway with no communication from the agent.

The inquiry will reveal if there's a maintenance lapse on SMRT

You folks will like this.

Another one of those you-don't-know-how-lucky-you-are dime a dozen letters...

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_747134.html

Be reasonable, like commuters elsewhere

Published on Dec 21, 2011

I HAVE lived in many countries, and in Singapore for over 10 years.

Having observed the social media scene this year, I wonder whether citizens know what an awesome country Singapore is, the credit for which is largely attributable to the forward-thinking leadership that nurtures diversity and economic growth and a disciplined democracy.

Consider the ongoing debates and media coverage about the three MRT disruptions last week.

In an ideal world, everything would be perfect. Doubtless, things can be improved. However, reacting to a few incidents with overwhelming angst, calling for SMRT chief executive officer Saw Phaik Hwa to resign or asking for free rides in compensation seem ludicrous.

Train service disruptions are common in London and do not trigger resignations or refunds.

Last week's multiple disruptions are not a big deal in developed countries elsewhere where commuters take it in their stride.

By contrast, the deluge of public anger here over a similar spate of disruptions reveals a lack of awareness of life in other countries. It reveals an unconstructive attitude of looking for an opportunity to attack the Government and associated organisations to prove that these entities are under-performing.

Flip the story and consider Singapore as a nation and what its Government has achieved.

Singapore has by far a well-connected transport network, not unlike London and New York city, which the public feel reasonably comfortable to use.

With the growth in infrastructure reach, disruptions ought to be expected.

No doubt, business continuity planning, especially for public services, ought to be highly reliable and the multiple train disruptions have given SMRT a chance to assess and plan improvements.

I feel confident in stating - by taking the past as a predictor of the future - that by the same time next year, SMRT's service reliability would have increased.

Life is a testimonial to the fact that the best of plans fails. We must go through the bumps and enjoy the good days.

The key to a proud citizenry is to have a reasonable sense of awareness and an attitude to progress from adversity. Being demanding of a government is absolutely reasonable and choosing to be constructively demanding over constantly criticising is worth considering and beneficial.

Anju Tiwari (Ms)

All people know MRT breakdowns once in a very blue moon is unavoidable and understandable. The great backfire from public is because all kinds of management are not properly in place yet, but

1) price hike;

2) top management is having great bonus and;

3) self-declared "world-class transport system".

Of course, with the above facts, most people mind-set have very high expectation from the transport system. Self-humiliation now.

The transport system must go through a different level of stress test from now onward, only then this is called track record.

Edited by Speedsun

[

Samson Guanglin Lee

Barcelona, Spain

trying to be ang mo? first name, middle name and last name?

ashamed to be chinese?

I have driven without accident for 24 years and if I failed to have my brakes checked and it failed and I knocked down Samson Gurly Lee and he broke his leg, will he say to me

Its ok since you only have an accident every 24 years?

[thumbsup] [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

amen brother!

And a letter from an ang mo tourist.

Not pleasant to kena suan when he "... was told by many that Singapore had a world-class public transport system that was very reliable, using a combination of trains, buses and taxis. " but we must take it in our stride because he is just pointing out the facts.

For those responsible to ponder...

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_747154.html

Notes from an American tourist

I AM an American tourist who arrived in Singapore on Dec 11. I was told by many that Singapore had a world-class public transport system that was very reliable, using a combination of trains, buses and taxis.

But since I arrived, here is the public transport timeline:

Edited by Vulcann

Come to think of it, these breakdowns (although one too many) serve as timely reminders that something is wrong with the train systems... and it gotta be fixed QUICKLY.... the repeated reminders also mean whoever is watching sees nothing has been done to improve things.... so another reminder, and another...

Now its up to those responsible (if they are indeed responsible pple) to put thing right.... otherwise, the next one will not be a reminder.......... it will be the real thing!!! the worst possible? crash?? fire? nobody knows. Lets keep our fingers crossed. :wacko:

world class transport wont have this problem...

if i claim i am world class, i muz make sure it's world class,even with proper Evacuation Plan ,Crisis Management etc...

if a landlord without such plan for it's tenants..u see how tio shoot,authorities etc will haunt u

somehow, luck is on the side of miw.... if these train fiascos happen in 2016 instead of now, maybe 60.1% will become something else? or the die-hards will be die-hards regardless? :o

Making sure your car running and well is your responsibility after the warranty years. The agent don't owe you an answer after that

But, let's say if you hire this agent to ensure you have a driving machine for 10 yrs. And this agent eat snake and just do basic maintenance, like change oil only. This may well last you for maybe 3 to 5 yrs. After 5 years, with the machine getting old, he didn't do his due diligent to do more thorough check and but just basic maintenance, and you car finally break down. Worst he didn't tell you the problem (or maybe he himself didn't know the problem would surface due to lack of thorough maintenance needed for older car), and you car stall in the middle of a highway.. When you call him, he offer no solution and didn't arrive timely till you almost suffocate you have to smash the window. And he refuse to be sack by you.

If he done his due diligent and tested the, even if worst case scenario, he would would know to change or replace your car to prevent a situation that let you stranded in the middle of of highway with no communication from the agent.

The inquiry will reveal if there's a maintenance lapse on SMRT

Yup, thats a fair enough way to look at it.

If there was a maintenance lapse, I will like to see many people at least lose their bonus starting from the top management.

And a letter from an ang mo tourist.

Not pleasant to kena suan when he "... was told by many that Singapore had a world-class public transport system that was very reliable, using a combination of trains, buses and taxis. " but we must take it in our stride because he is just pointing out the facts.

For those responsible to ponder...

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_747154.html

Notes from an American tourist

I AM an American tourist who arrived in Singapore on Dec 11. I was told by many that Singapore had a world-class public transport system that was very reliable, using a combination of trains, buses and taxis.

But since I arrived, here is the public transport timeline: