Right of way on expressway ..

Lycanthrope

On 12/21/2011 at 7:04 AM, Mydotcom said:

It clearly shows the degree of civilization and upbringing of people who insist on not GIVING WAY... <_<

I believe TS hijacked that alibi for his wish to exceed the expressway speed limit. Perhaps TS sent by Insurers to confuse us for higher accident statistic. Next year increase our motor insurance premiums due to increase in traffic accident damage claims. [sweatdrop]

On 12/21/2011 at 7:35 AM, Civic6228 said:

To add to that ... the EGO issue with some drivers on the road.... they cannot tahan others with more expensive, better, higher HP car ... so they enjoy hogging others to satisfy their low esteem..

Also there are some who are annoyed that smaller engine cars are driven ahead of them, and there seems to be no way to overtake them.

Example: On my first convoy driving holidays, there was this Mercedes 280S that failed repeated to overtake my Uno 1.0L. I did noticed the small boy inside gesturing the father to overtake my car. But tried as he could, that man simply lack the driving skill to do so along the East Coast Road in Malaysia. Frustrated his son repeatedly.

On 12/21/2011 at 7:52 AM, Good-Carbuyer said:

Also there are some who are annoyed that smaller engine cars are driven ahead of them, and there seems to be no way to overtake them.

Example: On my first convoy driving holidays, there was this Mercedes 280S that failed repeated to overtake my Uno 1.0L. I did noticed the small boy inside gesturing the father to overtake my car. But tried as he could, that man simply lack the driving skill to do so along the East Coast Road in Malaysia. Frustrated his son repeatedly.

You have quoted a different scenario ..... I believe the roads in the East Coast Malaysia are 2-Lane highway .... road hogging does not apply .... We are talking about 3/4 lanes expressway in Singapore.

Edited by Civic6228

On 12/21/2011 at 7:34 AM, Good-Carbuyer said:

You are right technically speaking, as while travelling at 90km/H the speedometer should as 100km/H. However, that does not mean it can be used as defence if TP summon you for exceeding the Expressway speed limit. Neither can you quote the Lane 2 vehicles are speeding as defence/alibi/authority to exceed the speed limit. There is no law compeling any driver to overtake another driver yet.

Quoting another traffic offender as alibi to exceed the speed limt may not work if charged in court.

I believe there is no mention in the Highway Code that any driver needs to exceed speed limit to overtake another.

Example: if all vehicles travelling at the same speed of 90km/H along Lane 1, how to have traffic bottleneck?

Hahaha, bro, you still cannot understand me. [laugh]

By the way, I don't get "while travelling at 90km/h the speedometer should as 100km/h", can you help to explain?

I am just going to jinx myself and say that everyday, I am mostly on the roads between 11am to 4.30pm, I always travel PIE/AYE/KPE/SLE/TPE/ECP.

I have passed by so many TPs and so many TPs have passed by me. For every expressway with a limit of 90km/h, I am travelling at 100km/h on the overtaking lane, simultaneously overtaking vehicles on my left, until a faster car is coming behind me and I do not wish to speed up, I will give way and rejoin the overtaking lane to continue my overtaking procedures.

Just let me throw this upfront, I believe there is no limitation on how long a vehicle can travel on the overtaking lane, as long as the vehicle is overtaking slower vehicles within the speed limit allowed.

Therefore, my belief is also that LTA recognises the fact that most vehicles will travel at the maximum speed limit allowed on the expressways, regardless of lanes. If such a case, the vehicles on the overtaking lane will not be able to overtake safely as most of the vehicles on the nearest left lane will already be at the same speed as them. This is why, in order to facilitate orderly and safe overtaking, a tolerance speed of +10km/h is allowed for vehicles on the overtaking lane to successfully perform overtaking maneuvers.

Therefore, I cannot understand that on the expressway, all cars are travelling at 90km/h, then how are the cars on the overtaking lane going to perform overtake? Should they 'undertake', will 'undertaking' be safe in this case?

I have no need to use slower moving cars to make up any alibis of overtaking them. It is common knowledge, if you travel above 100km/h anywhere, you pay.

If TP catches me travelling at 120km/h on the expressway, I Lan Lan Suck Thumb. So far, I have not been stopped on the expressway for travelling at 100km/h.

Overtaking is not and should not be compelled by law. Any person with common sense knows that, but is overtaking on the roads a necessity? I believe it is, because if everyone travels at an equal speed, there will be no chance to change lane or filter out, it is more dangerous than allowing overtaking.

I know you are saying that if all vehicles on the overtaking lane obeys the law and travels at 90km/h, there will be no traffic bottleneck. My common sense does not allow me to agree with that and I believe the forces that are, do not agree as well.

Therefore, I must reject your argument.

On 12/21/2011 at 8:00 AM, Civic6228 said:

You have quoted a different scenario ..... I believe the roads in the East Coast Malaysia are 2-Lane highway .... road hogging does not apply .... We are talking about 3/4 lanes expressway in Singapore.

So sorry, I mean there is no need to overtake another car, anywhere, anytime, any engine size.

On 12/21/2011 at 8:03 AM, StefanK said:

By the way, I don't get "while travelling at 90km/h the speedometer should as 100km/h", can you help to explain?

I am just going to jinx myself and say that everyday, I am mostly on the roads between 11am to 4.30pm, I always travel PIE/AYE/KPE/SLE/TPE/ECP.

I have passed by so many TPs and so many TPs have passed by me. For every expressway with a limit of 90km/h, I am travelling at 100km/h on the overtaking lane, simultaneously overtaking vehicles on my left, until a faster car is coming behind me and I do not wish to speed up, I will give way and rejoin the overtaking lane to continue my overtaking procedures.

Just let me throw this upfront, I believe there is no limitation on how long a vehicle can travel on the overtaking lane, as long as the vehicle is overtaking slower vehicles within the speed limit allowed.

Therefore, my belief is also that LTA recognises the fact that most vehicles will travel at the maximum speed limit allowed on the expressways, regardless of lanes. If such a case, the vehicles on the overtaking lane will not be able to overtake safely as most of the vehicles on the nearest left lane will already be at the same speed as them. This is why, in order to facilitate orderly and safe overtaking, a tolerance speed of +10km/h is allowed for vehicles on the overtaking lane to successfully perform overtaking maneuvers.

Therefore, I cannot understand that on the expressway, all cars are travelling at 90km/h, then how are the cars on the overtaking lane going to perform overtake? Should they 'undertake', will 'undertaking' be safe in this case?

I have no need to use slower moving cars to make up any alibis of overtaking them. It is common knowledge, if you travel above 100km/h anywhere, you pay.

If TP catches me travelling at 120km/h on the expressway, I Lan Lan Suck Thumb. So far, I have not been stopped on the expressway for travelling at 100km/h.

Overtaking is not and should not be compelled by law. Any person with common sense knows that, but is overtaking on the roads a necessity? I believe it is, because if everyone travels at an equal speed, there will be no chance to change lane or filter out, it is more dangerous than allowing overtaking.

I know you are saying that if all vehicles on the overtaking lane obeys the law and travels at 90km/h, there will be no traffic bottleneck. My common sense does not allow me to agree with that and I believe the forces that are, do not agree as well.

Therefore, I must reject your argument.

So lucky these days I only drive about a kilometre of Expressway each day, and I need to exit soon, so I am unlikely to face Lane 1 the same issue. Perhaps on other roads hardly anyone keen to overtake me either, although I stick to the speed limit due to the traffic flow.

'undertake' or 'undertaking' may be unavaoidable if the slip road traffic have to merge into the main road, being occupied by slow moving vehicles. I believe signalling very useful to avoid mis-interpretation by others when 'undertaking'.

I believe we are here to share and more fruitful help each other than to argue.

On 12/20/2011 at 12:00 PM, Bluetree said:

don't tailgate too close especially at expressway. If involved in chain collision and if you are the last car, that is really really sway......

How true - saw a four vehicle pile-up this morning on the tpe towards pie. The last two cars looked badly smashed and, to achieve that result, they must have been travelling quite fast.

And yes, lane 1.

On 12/21/2011 at 8:03 AM, StefanK said:

Ok.. Carmakers kiasi, just in case we sue them for wrong speedo.

So, they purposely make the speedo to show slightly higher speed than the actual.

Like, when the speedo is showing 100km/h, your actual speed is only 90-92km/h only. That's explain why you never got a ticket for driving at 100km/h.

On 12/21/2011 at 8:33 AM, Good-Carbuyer said:

So lucky these days I only drive about a kilometre of Expressway each day, and I need to exit soon, so I am unlikely to face Lane 1 the same issue. Perhaps on other roads hardly anyone keen to overtake me either, although I stick to the speed limit due to the traffic flow.

'undertake' or 'undertaking' may be unavaoidable if the slip road traffic have to merge into the main road, being occupied by slow moving vehicles. I believe signalling very useful to avoid mis-interpretation by others when 'undertaking'.

I believe we are here to share and more fruitful help each other than to argue.

Argument as in Debate, not Quarrel. :D

I am no angel but during the day, I always make sure that I am within the limits. However, I always keep a look out for the traffic around me, so that I can protect myself if anything in front of me happens (I hate to be the last car).

I agree that undertaking will be unavoidable when filtering out, therefore the acceleration lane (the lane merging to the expressway, indicated by close dotted lines marking) and the deceleration lane (the expressway lane merging to small roads, indicated also by close dotted lines). What motorists fail to do often at these areas are that some of them take their own sweet time to filter out to faster traffic, some kan cheong like spider, chiong out of slower lane onto faster traffic, both are dangerous.

I agree that signalling is important to indicate your headed direction and also intention, this allows for reaction time between both parties. But also, to everyone to remove the mindset that they have the absolute right of way on the roads.

-_-

On 12/21/2011 at 8:50 AM, Ben5266 said:

Ok.. Carmakers kiasi, just in case we sue them for wrong speedo.

So, they purposely make the speedo to show slightly higher speed than the actual.

Like, when the speedo is showing 100km/h, your actual speed is only 90-92km/h only. That's explain why you never got a ticket for driving at 100km/h.

Oh, this I didn't know! Thanks for explaining! Now I can cross speedocams confidently liao! hahahahahah [laugh]

On 12/21/2011 at 8:43 AM, Canarywharfgooner said:

How true - saw a four vehicle pile-up this morning on the tpe towards pie. The last two cars looked badly smashed and, to achieve that result, they must have been travelling quite fast.

And yes, lane 1.

Pile-ups are usually caused by consecutive tailgating between cars and the first car zam brake, all kena together. Speeding accidents will usually see the affected vehicles facing other directions, across lanes or crushed due to momentum and force.

what did you guess ?? Kia Rio ?? Kia Rio provide confirmation to a ego problem ?? [laugh] [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

forgotten to add...if you really understand what I am laughing at ....CLOSE...

Edited by Seaweed

no deny that it is an offence...but then i am more curious about "road hogging"...and what is road hogging all about.... [shakehead] [shakehead] it is a self-reflection that we in sillypore is really lacking...

I highlight for you what I have written just in case you miss them...

""""any my definition of hogging is driving below the speed limit and occupying the right lane when the whole road is empty""""

I do not advocate driving on the right when the whole road is empty...however I do not support the logic of I am faster than you and you should give way....that's goes to show how much courtesy have eroded with the EGO thing everyone is blaming on....

So how big is you EGO ??? [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

It doesnt really matter who got the right of way, if a car is too slow on lane 1, I will just overtake from lane 2 without signalling, no courtesy from them then I believe I no need to show them any too, no need to tailgate, waste of petrol to step on accelerator to gain speed again...

And I wish some matters of life & death really befall on those road-hoggers, let them meet their own counterpart (of course road hoggers) and taste their own medicine.

On 12/21/2011 at 8:55 AM, StefanK said:

Argument as in Debate, not Quarrel. :D

I am no angel but during the day, I always make sure that I am within the limits. However, I always keep a look out for the traffic around me, so that I can protect myself if anything in front of me happens (I hate to be the last car).

I agree that undertaking will be unavoidable when filtering out, therefore the acceleration lane (the lane merging to the expressway, indicated by close dotted lines marking) and the deceleration lane (the expressway lane merging to small roads, indicated also by close dotted lines). What motorists fail to do often at these areas are that some of them take their own sweet time to filter out to faster traffic, some kan cheong like spider, chiong out of slower lane onto faster traffic, both are dangerous.

I agree that signalling is important to indicate your headed direction and also intention, this allows for reaction time between both parties. But also, to everyone to remove the mindset that they have the absolute right of way on the roads.

-_-

[thumbsup] I like the way you put it. Avoiding accident is primary.

On 12/21/2011 at 9:02 AM, StefanK said:

Pile-ups are usually caused by consecutive tailgating between cars and the first car zam brake, all kena together. Speeding accidents will usually see the affected vehicles facing other directions, across lanes or crushed due to momentum and force.

Ever encountered vehicle behind me did not tail-gate, braked too late (about a car length away then braked). His Insurer got to compensate both other parties (front and rear vehciles).