WE DEMAND EXPLANATION FOR SMRT FAILURES!!

Ryosuke

On 12/20/2011 at 3:50 AM, Meanmachine said:

Totally agreed, but your last analogy, beg to differ, if d burger cost $100/ prepared by a Top-class chef in a high class chain burger rest, I'd not have order it, simply for a fact that, I will not stomach it, worm or no worm, Wagyu patties or grain-fed beef could not make the patties any tastier.

Be it top-class beef patties burger, i rather eat beer-batterd fish and chip anytime@Dempsey.

Thanks for sharing . . . :D

there you go.. you have a choice... but for commuters they or we do not have a choice at all.... they keep increasing fare and shouting it out loud saying it is world class transport so pls be glad...

when s--t happen.... we still have to take the transport... no choice.. either you pay the COE (i called it the certificate of enjoyment) or you take World class transport.... either way the commuters are screwed big time....

my analogy is to illustrated the fact our expectations are being managed to such a high level that most of us expect a certain quality ride or at least timely travels... but when things happen. just a "sorry" and let's move on.....

What kind of world class is that.....

On 12/20/2011 at 6:20 AM, Jayy25 said:

there you go.. you have a choice... but for commuters they or we do not have a choice at all.... they keep increasing fare and shouting it out loud saying it is world class transport so pls be glad...

when s--t happen.... we still have to take the transport... no choice.. either you pay the COE (i called it the certificate of enjoyment) or you take World class transport.... either way the commuters are screwed big time....

my analogy is to illustrated the fact our expectations are being managed to such a high level that most of us expect a certain quality ride or at least timely travels... but when things happen. just a "sorry" and let's move on.....

What kind of world class is that.....

U are jumping the gun, we talking about MRT screw-up by some elite, they claimed, some 1 juz said beef patties, and I said fish and chips.

U can stay home if you like or dun feel like working, your hard bat can break my back not not your harsh word, I dun give a damn.

U are entitled to your opinion, so am i, that what this forum is all about. It's not about who is rite or wrong, mind U, this is not the 1st time we are screwed, and I had bn screwed many X, so not happy, stay at home lor!

Agree with your below statement 110%. The problem is that the system now rewards only these paraisitc corrupt million dollar ministar leeches and their cronies and leaves the actual workers who make real contributions in the dirt.

On 12/18/2011 at 6:52 PM, Falcon1668 said:

they are paid millions to think of more ways to fleece us to increase they salary, not to solve problems. If they are so good, they'll be in private sectors and make millions/billions instead of working as ministers aka parasites

On 12/20/2011 at 1:59 PM, Meanmachine said:

U are jumping the gun, we talking about MRT screw-up by some elite, they claimed, some 1 juz said beef patties, and I said fish and chips.

U can stay home if you like or dun feel like working, your hard bat can break my back not not your harsh word, I dun give a damn.

U are entitled to your opinion, so am i, that what this forum is all about. It's not about who is rite or wrong, mind U, this is not the 1st time we are screwed, and I had bn screwed many X, so not happy, stay at home lor!

Wow... such a strong reaction from you... are you a gal???? a moment you thanks me for sharing then next you are screaming and look like spoilt kid throwing tantrums.

Shouldn't this be discussed amicably and each to his/hers opinion.... we may not agree with one other but at least we behave like civilise adults and not ranting if you find a/some words that belittle your sanity.

anyway if everyone can stay at home and work... then no one will give a damm about MRT breakdown.. too bad mostly will have to work in offices and take the transport... lastly... you are not the only one whom have been screwed umpteen times.. there are others who may got it more or worst than you....maybe for you being unhappy is stay at home hide the blanket and ranting in MYcarforum....

On 12/18/2011 at 6:05 AM, Drumstick said:

2010 made 162.9M profit after tax from a revenuet 895.1M. Thats is like 18% net profit.

What is the percentage of companies making 18% net profit per year in transport service around the world?

2009 make 162.7m net profit from a turnaround of 879m.

0.2m in net profit from difference of 16m in revenue?? Where did the money go?

Errrmm their salary increases ?

This is what you get to privatise MRT. They would be more engross on profits to answer to their investor.

Not to forget, initially when MRT is built, capital came from nation building.

SMRT is only contractor who run and maintain the system.

Totally agree. They are the leeches that suck marnie from the tracks

In the beginning, increase rider ship to increase revenue.

After rider ship goes up, increase price to increase revenue.

So what is gonna increase next to increase on their revenue?

Always saying need to increase fare to justify market price increase. Hai~~~

I cannot figure out why they need to increase. The ridership has increased significantly = more marnie churning out from a Fix Asset. OK they need more trains and erecting the safety barrier on the platforms but it is not that they don't have marnie to pay, they have $160m profit/year FHS. But they choose to ask for Handouts from PTC.

I have read a article from ZaoBao(few months ago) on Taipei MRT and this what I remember:

1) Taipei City MRT was built after surveying/learning from SG.

2) The MRT was built by Private company but run by Gov after few years(SG is built by Gov run by Private)

3) Since run by Gov, they really control the fare and profit(well, they have strong opposition)

4) Taipei MRT HAVE NOT RAISE THE PRICE FOR 10YEARS yet still profitable.

So obviouly our gahment built MRT to make HUGE PROFIT AS PRIORITY instead of servicing people.

Yes, MRT run by private but we all know what happen behind.

In short- Taipei MRT was built for benefit of people. SG MRT was built for benefit of ......................................

Edited by Si4dr

SMRT's profit increases year after year. Public transport fares also increasing over the years.

But service disruptions also increases over time.

So my qns are

- What causes the faults?

- Is it due to non maintenance?

- If it is due to non maintenance

- Is it due to maintenance team slacking?

- Is it due to maintenance team not doing their work properly?

or

- Is it due to maintenance department not getting enough budget?

- Is it due to maintenance department not having enough manpower?

- Is it due to maintenance department not having enough qualified personnel?

- If not due to non maintenance

- Is it a design fault?

- Is it sub quality construction?

- Is it sub quality components used?

A flawed design will incur higher maintenance cause over time. If enough effort and money is spent on maintenance and breakdown prevention, it does not matter if the system has any slight design flaws, everything should work within given operational parameters.

If the system designed is too flawed to be sustainable, then it should be corrected as soon as possible. You can never stop a 10cm wound from bleeding by using just a 1cm plaster.

There are too many qns to list down here, but over the years, I personally felt that SMRT is getting to obsessed with profits.

I do not feel that the company is being socially responsible.

The CEO is the one that makes most of the important decisions, especially the direction of SMRT's future.

Regardless whether SMRT is a public listed company or a government run agency, its main service is to provide reliable, safe and accessible transportation for the mass public.

Ah Liu ask you all to move on and forget about the incident :D

SMRT peak-hour service "very close" to pre-disruptions: Lui

By S Ramesh | Posted: 21 December 2011 1149 hrs

SINGAPORE: Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew said SMRT is now able to operate its trains during peak hours at intervals very close to what they were before the two major disruptions last week.

Writing on Facebook on Wednesday, Mr Lui said 11 of the 13 damaged trains have been repaired.

This means SMRT is able to run a total of 108 trains.

He said the next thing is to look at is when the maximum speed limit of 40 kilometres per hour for certain stretches can be gradually increased.

Mr Lui added that since pulling the 13 damaged trains from operations, SMRT has worked hard to fix the damage.

The minister also said engineers from the Land Transport Authority (LTA) and SMRT have inspected the trains and the third rail every night.

He'll meet teams from the LTA and SMRT later on Wednesday for another update on their inspections, assessments and recommendations.

Mr Lui shared his observations after visiting three MRT stations in the north on Wednesday morning to check out the flow of trains following the recent disruptions to service along the North-South Line.

He said that between 7.40am and 9.25am, trains were running smoothly at the Sembawang, Yishun and Bishan MRT stations.

He noted that the intervals between trains were largely satisfactory - at two to three minutes.

The exception was for a period between 8.15am and 8.30am at Yishun station, when trains arrived at intervals of about four minutes.

Generally, Mr Lui said, most commuters could get on board the first train.

"Many commuters have had to wait longer for trains to arrive. Your journeys have taken slightly longer. I know this has caused you some inconvenience. I hope to improve on this soon," he said.

- CNA/ck

Another SMRT security lapse?

Lina Chan

inSing.com - 19 hrs 29 mins ago

pc_600x450.jpg

(Pic / Stomp)

A picture of a dog strutting down the Lavender MRT platform is raising eyebrows.

A STOMPer captured a picture of a black pooch walking freely, being watched by amused passers-by.

Netizens are wondering how the dog got in, and some even went on to say that it

On 12/21/2011 at 4:30 AM, Jman888 said:

Another SMRT security lapse?

Lina Chan

inSing.com - 19 hrs 29 mins ago

(Pic / Stomp)

A picture of a dog strutting down the Lavender MRT platform is raising eyebrows.

A STOMPer captured a picture of a black pooch walking freely, being watched by amused passers-by.

Netizens are wondering how the dog got in, and some even went on to say that it

wow, this is getting interesting.

Not sure what meanmachine is smoking, but you're not making much sense.

The problem is that the failures were caused by lack of maintenance, and why was there a lack of maintenance? The fault is on the people who are supposed to ensure the maintenance are done. Fault is also on the people who schedule the maintenance, sounds like management to me. So, how is it not the fault of the top management of SMRT that this nonsense happened? It is their DUTY to ensure that the trains are safe, and delays are kept to a minimum. No excuses for failure.

btw, short sell smrt stocks? =)

Edited by XALmoN

On 12/22/2011 at 4:49 PM, XALmoN said:

wow, this is getting interesting.

Not sure what meanmachine is smoking, but you're not making much sense.

The problem is that the failures were caused by lack of maintenance, and why was there a lack of maintenance? The fault is on the people who are supposed to ensure the maintenance are done. Fault is also on the people who schedule the maintenance, sounds like management to me. So, how is it not the fault of the top management of SMRT that this nonsense happened? It is their DUTY to ensure that the trains are safe, and delays are kept to a minimum. No excuses for failure.

btw, short sell smrt stocks? =)

Dun have to make sense on turkey days, go enjoy tr smoke grass and happi on what U dare think.

IT is crap we are smelling day in day out, only know how to kpkb, cant offer solution, shut up !

my solution is in my statement.

we have isolated the problem, and thus the solution. fix the damn tracks. either way, trains aren't applicable to me

On 12/18/2011 at 2:58 AM, Ingenius said:

seriously, singaporeans are so fortunate, that a train breakdown without any casualty and only causes inconvenience, is seen as a castrophy and national disastic, machiam like the nuclear metldown in japan or earthquake in new zealand. i think we are a laughing stock overseas.

That's not the point. Since they increased fares, people do expect an acceptable service level. Don't you agree?

Fares UP, service level DOWN.

What logic is that?