WE DEMAND EXPLANATION FOR SMRT FAILURES!!

Ryosuke

On 12/18/2011 at 9:37 AM, Kangadrool said:

Even our ministers feel that the situations were not handled properly. You think otherwise?

You mean other nationalities don't complain? It's lucky that this unlucky situation happened in Singapore, else you have riots, class action law suits in other countries already. :angry:

We all agree it was badly handled, it could be done better planing with logistics/ admins, but the necessary procedure were poorly managed. What I'm saying is there isn't any Mob exercise on train disruption on big scale.

Wat we really want is No.1 in Airlines, No.1 is Seaport, No.1 is Housing and No. 1 in everything, but totally lacking n contingency planning for emergency exercises.

On 12/17/2011 at 10:33 AM, Ryosuke said:

ALL HEADS MUST ROLL INCLUDING TRANSPORT MINISTER!

If you are kidding with us. This is ticklish. if you are not. How SMRT=Singapore Mentally Retarded Train going to explain?

Many/most people like to assume/imagine bigger companies somwhow less likely to fail. However, any failure more easily noticed.

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

On 12/18/2011 at 11:50 AM, Duckduck said:

i just dont like that CEO's face... also shes been there 10yrs already... isnt it time for change?

my wife dont really care about who is who and know nuts about politics or who's the big shot or high flyer.. .... yesterday, when i flashed to her picture of that ceo, after a quick glance, she asked... is that a man or woman?..... [laugh]

and frankly, i think even steven lim with red lipsticks on looks much better than her...... [laugh]

On 12/18/2011 at 1:45 AM, Chucky2007 said:

I think if the CEO is not held accountable, then how would the CEO holD those that are in charge of the mantainence and repairs accountable?

Nothing personal against the current MRT CEO, but I think she should resign over these 25 mrt failures in 2011.

All the rot within the company, any company, starts from the top. Company culture is driven by senior management. If the top executive is lousy and below par, definitely the rest of the organisation will follow. The good employees will all pack up and leave quickly...

I seriously don't think any so-called committee of inquiry will solve the problem. In the small circle of "elites" in this country, do you seriously think they will take action against one of their own??

On 12/18/2011 at 9:41 AM, Meanmachine said:

Even motorist are not spared, we may be driving on the road, yet see heard over the radio over Mrt failure, causing them to take taxi/s, buses or walk 3-5 destinations to their work place.

Timing could'nt be better during X'mas season cheers, I would'nt want to bet for the coming CNY in Chinatown festive buying.

We do not have better alternatives like the rest of the Asian countries, looking back to Japan's Floods disaster, many Japanese behaved orderly and goes on their task with ease, no panic, n chaos and no one blamed the Govt. for the mishap, it's an act of God.

People who volunteered to help w/o asking anything, all working together to achieve harmony, they even return lost money found? What can I say,

We need to look at ourself in the face and said, " Is it the real Singapore and Me? " Sadly , the answer is NO, it is the my mentality 1st. ME and me only.

IT is in our culture unlike the Japanese or Korean

What are you saying?? If this happened in Japan or Korea... i.e. some event caused by somebody's incompetence, you'll see their leaders resigning and people protesting in the streets already. Especially the koreans who can be quite aggressive ... "what, ask me to queue for refund and trouble myself for your mistake???"

Luckily this happened in singapore, where many people are just resigned to the inevitable, accept their fate, and life goes on...

You are comparing a flood or earthquake, which is a natural disaster that can't really be pinned down on somebody's errors, with a train system breakdown which is entirely due to a person or an organisation's incompetence. Two things which are not comparable!

On 12/18/2011 at 9:28 AM, Meanmachine said:

I agree to disagree, coz we do not have any mobilisation exercise on MRT train, buses with civil services personnels. In a full scale event like this, it will be additional task force to be look into. PM Lee asking for COI, is a new step forward.

Does the SMRT and Transport minister ever think of such Mobo-exercise which involve EVERYBODY here? How can it be avoided and not having repeated occurrences in our crowded train, buses, interchange and taxi-opeartors, together with Hospitals/ambulances & volunteer personnels@ the highest level, The Army and Police forces will play a crucial role too.

Is they any preventive measure of a major exercises? How and when to activate mass media announcement instead of f/b, tweeter and U-tube msg, we need the Govt. hands in showing the way forward, I'm sure the ' Bible ' are in placed, this time it's only a few shocks and after shocks . . .

In such situations, Singaporeans merely know how to complain and complain loudly, no offer of solution or remedy, what is the points? I'm sure many Singaporean living and working/ studying abroad can offer more as they see us from afar . . .

if a highly dangerous limping man in Asia can escape from our high security detention centre

already so embarassing

then they never announce to the public until many hours later

our limping man have to escape from our tiny island and later caught by our neighbour

later got the gall to claim victory

absolutely NO SHAME

so what can you expect

if there is a huge fire outrage and people die

when they will play the same record

we will have to get to the bottom of this

set up committee to look into it

then all is forgotten

already so sleepy thinking of it

I agree to disagree, coz we do not have any mobilisation exercise on MRT train, buses with civil services personnels. In a full scale event like this, it will be additional task force to be look into. PM Lee asking for COI, is a new step forward.

Does the SMRT and Transport minister ever think of such Mobo-exercise which involve EVERYBODY here? How can it be avoided and not having repeated occurrences in our crowded train, buses, interchange and taxi-opeartors, together with Hospitals/ambulances & volunteer personnels@ the highest level, The Army and Police forces will play a crucial role too.

Is they any preventive measure of a major exercises? How and when to activate mass media announcement instead of f/b, tweeter and U-tube msg, we need the Govt. hands in showing the way forward, I'm sure the ' Bible ' are in placed, this time it's only a few shocks and after shocks . . .

In such situations, Singaporeans merely know how to complain and complain loudly, no offer of solution or remedy, what is the points? I'm sure many Singaporean living and working/ studying abroad can offer more as they see us from afar . . .

I think you've been away for the past few years. Home affair has conducted such exercise at MRT station and declare successful.

Anyway a strong contigency plan for evacuation has to be a sop drill in all government level, especially the home team and in this case LTA too..

On 12/18/2011 at 12:15 PM, Sosaria said:

What are you saying?? If this happened in Japan or Korea... i.e. some event caused by somebody's incompetence, you'll see their leaders resigning and people protesting in the streets already. Especially the koreans who can be quite aggressive ... "what, ask me to queue for refund and trouble myself for your mistake???"

Luckily this happened in singapore, where many people are just resigned to the inevitable, accept their fate, and life goes on...

You are comparing a flood or earthquake, which is a natural disaster that can't really be pinned down on somebody's errors, with a train system breakdown which is entirely due to a person or an organisation's incompetence. Two things which are not comparable!

U are not wrong to say, here we dun have earth-quake, Tsunami, or hugh flooding or anything render serious enough foe emergency, compare apple to apple lah, What is a few hours of train stalled as to the hero of Japan/ Korea? I cant fault them, Yeah Korea are aggressive, R we gonna to be like them, I dun think our culture can come to term with them, and U dun have to agree with me.

SinkieLand has nothing, no resources, no production, totally dependent on other countries for food supplies, we will in trouble in less than a week.

We're small nation and we should be forgiving and solve the problem instead of asking head to be rolled.

The train stalled is not someone incompetence, and it has nothing to do with CEO's head on the chopping-block, we do not have to follow the amercian system that someone head will roll, The mechanic faulty, for a train to run smoothly for more than 20-25 years was fantastic, let alone stalled 2nd in a week is not someone cup of T.

No, Im not a pappies man and Im not supporting them for the sake of supporting, i'm one of the 40% though, U cannot fault a man or a woman jus becoz the train has stalled and calls his head.

On 12/18/2011 at 1:47 PM, Ender said:

I think you've been away for the past few years. Home affair has conducted such exercise at MRT station and declare successful.

Anyway a strong contigency plan for evacuation has to be a sop drill in all government level, especially the home team and in this case LTA too..

Dun be naive, an exercise is an exercise only, till the actual situation arises, all wayang i must say, ok so the exercise was conducted, I may have memory lapsed but dun flame me . . . Wat goes in practice does not necessary equate into real time happening.

Wait till we fight a war and announce the casulty no, the innocent victims will be higher than expected. Ppl pay for transport and they expect 1st class service, so they bark loudly to let off steam.

Again, U don't have to agree with me on this.

On 12/18/2011 at 3:25 PM, Meanmachine said:

U are not wrong to say, here we dun have earth-quake, Tsunami, or hugh flooding or anything render serious enough foe emergency, compare apple to apple lah, What is a few hours of train stalled as to the hero of Japan/ Korea? I cant fault them, Yeah Korea are aggressive, R we gonna to be like them, I dun think our culture can come to term with them, and U dun have to agree with me.

SinkieLand has nothing, no resources, no production, totally dependent on other countries for food supplies, we will in trouble in less than a week.

We're small nation and we should be forgiving and solve the problem instead of asking head to be rolled.

The train stalled is not someone incompetence, and it has nothing to do with CEO's head on the chopping-block, we do not have to follow the amercian system that someone head will roll, The mechanic faulty, for a train to run smoothly for more than 20-25 years was fantastic, let alone stalled 2nd in a week is not someone cup of T.

No, Im not a pappies man and Im not supporting them for the sake of supporting, i'm one of the 40% though, U cannot fault a man or a woman jus becoz the train has stalled and calls his head.

It is her track record. Multiple train disruptions with last straw being last Fri and Sat, uncovering rail problems only after LTA inspection which went 'undetected'? Comms is still poor despite so many previous learning experiences and train analysts today ST say SMRT must learn from other operators.

This is incompetence at the most obvious.

Your father one of SMRT VPs? You are twisting perspectives to defend the indefensible.

Edited by Littleknown

On 12/18/2011 at 12:58 PM, Scb11980 said:

if a highly dangerous limping man in Asia can escape from our high security detention centre

already so embarassing

then they never announce to the public until many hours later

our limping man have to escape from our tiny island and later caught by our neighbour

later got the gall to claim victory

absolutely NO SHAME

so what can you expect

if there is a huge fire outrage and people die

when they will play the same record

we will have to get to the bottom of this

set up committee to look into it

then all is forgotten

already so sleepy thinking of it

U are comparing to a terrorist against nature disaster, of all mother's nature, a train happens to stalled on Thursday, this things happen and it has to be Govt fault, Well, we expect's finding to be rectified fast and no repeat occurrences, so what you U expect, Error are error, even driver can make mistake/s, mechanical and electrical stuff are hard to determine it's fault, let alone pointing fingers.

areas to look deeper ....

weight = increase loading (a lot crowded compare to 5 years ago)

frequency = increase frequency (the tracks get less fewer seconds to settle down)

speed = increase speed (did it? compare to 5 years ago)

vibration = increase vibration (underground development, drilling, more tunnels = less solid earth support?)

the track and mechanical parts wear and tear sure faster .... same logic for car/bus/lorry/etc

On 12/18/2011 at 1:30 PM, Duckduck said:

Problem found

Sounds like a serious maintenance lapse! Talk abt putting people's lives at stake... still want to raise fares...

On 12/18/2011 at 3:36 PM, Meanmachine said:

U are comparing to a terrorist against nature disaster, of all mother's nature, a train happens to stalled on Thursday, this things happen and it has to be Govt fault, Well, we expect's finding to be rectified fast and no repeat occurrences, so what you U expect, Error are error, even driver can make mistake/s, mechanical and electrical stuff are hard to determine it's fault, let alone pointing fingers.

you are missing the point completely

after the escape of mas selamat

after the grafitti on our trains

there should be a heighten alert to do more planning or contigency planning for emergency evacuation such as those in our trains

BUT the recent event demonstrates there NO adequate contigency planning at ALL

TRAINS Breaking down, yes they do occur but DO THEY OCCUR 3 times in a week

with the government

increasing the population without taking account adequacy of our infra-structure such as public transport

we can expect more breakdowns

LOOK at the major centres in the world with train networks many many times more complex but do you often hear of repeated breakdowns

furthermore, very much unlike our CEO and ministers, their counterparts are not pay multimillion dollar salary without personal accountability

On 12/17/2011 at 11:04 AM, Jasonjst said:

Please lah , these breakdown are small matters . They will tell you in India / China , trains accident , hundreds of people are killed ! And they need to pay for their own graves .. Here we refund you your fare and give you free shuttle bus leh . [:p]

ya, years ago, we benchmark ourselves against Japan, USA etc. these days its china and india.

but ministers and leaders are paid millions to use their brains right? u mean they still expect the public to do the thinking for them? u want to be paid millions, live up to it.