Duckduck Turbocharged December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 that SVP of comms really has to go... he just taiji the blame to some manager in charge of templates...knn he is in charge of the manager so he is to blame right? Process failure = boss fault no? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 I think if the CEO is not held accountable, then how would the CEO holD those that are in charge of the mantainence and repairs accountable? Nothing personal against the current MRT CEO, but I think she should resign over these 25 mrt failures in 2011. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 Smrt sibe jialat, if I work for them, I will totally have no respect for them.. Hence this type of company really cmi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 (edited) seriously, singaporeans are so fortunate, that a train breakdown without any casualty and only causes inconvenience, is seen as a castrophy and national disastic, machiam like the nuclear metldown in japan or earthquake in new zealand. i think we are a laughing stock overseas. Edited December 18, 2011 by Ingenius Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 (edited) the breakdown is just the tip of the ice-berg, things breakdown but we should be asking 1) why a public transport company is run like a pte company ? , the "business model" is just to keep up with operations costs or is it to maximise profits and dividends for shareholders ? 2) Who funded the construction of the MRT system ? LTA ? who funded LTA ? rightfully the pple who funded the project should be the shareholders right ? 3a) Despite the frequent breakdown thats been happening since LRT era, what justifies the price hikes ? electrical tariffs ? 3b) is the train service monopolised by a single company ? so if the company monopolised the entire market and screw up in the service what happens ? they get fine ? 3c) does the fines goes into the balance sheet of the fiscal year ? yes ? then does it affect the revenue forecast for that year ? yes 3d) so HOW does it make up the shortfall of the revenue for the following year ? 4) the fine goes to who ? and who owns the company ? Edited December 18, 2011 by Ah_tee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falcon1668 Neutral Newbie December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 On 12/18/2011 at 2:58 AM, Ingenius said: seriously, singaporeans Singapore Government are so fortunate, that a train breakdown without any casualty and only causes inconvenience, is seen as a castrophy and national disastic, machiam like the nuclear metldown in japan or earthquake in new zealand. i think we are a laughing stock overseas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drumstick Clutched December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 (edited) 2010 made 162.9M profit after tax from a revenuet 895.1M. Thats is like 18% net profit. What is the percentage of companies making 18% net profit per year in transport service around the world? 2009 make 162.7m net profit from a turnaround of 879m. 0.2m in net profit from difference of 16m in revenue?? Where did the money go? And this is only for SMRT Singapore market excluding their extended business, overseas business and stock exchange. This is what you get to privatise MRT. They would be more engross on profits to answer to their investor. Not to forget, initially when MRT is built, capital came from nation building. SMRT is only contractor who run and maintain the system. In the beginning, increase rider ship to increase revenue. After rider ship goes up, increase price to increase revenue. So what is gonna increase next to increase on their revenue? Always saying need to increase fare to justify market price increase. Hai~~~ The MRT track is about 20yr old...maybe gonne increase price to upgrade hardware?? Edited December 18, 2011 by Drumstick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 On 12/18/2011 at 2:58 AM, Ingenius said: seriously, singaporeans are so fortunate, that a train breakdown without any casualty and only causes inconvenience, is seen as a castrophy and national disastic, machiam like the nuclear metldown in japan or earthquake in new zealand. i think we are a laughing stock overseas. So what would have been you r response to ask these failures? Congratulate smrt because nobody died? You're the laughing stock here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 Failure happens, but how we deal with this is also very critical. To me, it seems SMRT do not have a protocol to deal with failures & emergency. But its typical Singapore corporation. No one give a damn when nothing happen. When something happen, then, "we should have a focus group to study the cause, a committee to improve the protocol, takes measures to prevent same thing from happen, least but not least, find who (at the bottom) is at fault." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 On 12/18/2011 at 2:58 AM, Ingenius said: seriously, singaporeans are so fortunate, that a train breakdown without any casualty and only causes inconvenience, is seen as a castrophy and national disastic, machiam like the nuclear metldown in japan or earthquake in new zealand. i think we are a laughing stock overseas. This is one aspect why singaporean so angry. A breakdown only and the SMRT management and authourities can't handle the situation properly resulting in anxiety, fainting and hosptilised. If this was a terrorist attack or disaster, how can the authourities handle it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 On 12/17/2011 at 10:33 AM, Ryosuke said: ALL HEADS MUST ROLL INCLUDING TRANSPORT MINISTER! TUCK YEW!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 ayah same problem as SingPost lah, they have run out of ideas to boost profit from snail mail, now resort to all kinds of retail biz which increase the queueing times at post offices by alot, end up killing its own snail mail turnover anyway lor right... i thk is the same case for SMRT, they lost focus & wanna b hero to increase retail biz coz the rental for retail is much faster growth than transport charges right... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 On 12/17/2011 at 11:40 AM, JackRabbit said: I think soon Singapore pools will have new betting odds: Which MRT station experience breakdown and how many hours. Which MRt, Subway, Tube nver break down and lose money? Our train/s being running for say 10-20years, Dun tell me these thing ain't nve break down before? Be kind , it takes time to solve national issue. Justify, maintenance work are carried out weekly, monthly etc, occasional 'hiccups' are part & parcel of such odds like cough & flu. Yes, The Govt. should take responsibility but we can't flame them by asking Ceo to step down, what does that means, some1 not so capable gonna to make mistake again, replacement and chopping someone head will not solve the problem, it will create undesirable hatred that Govt are incapable of handling this issue. I fear not It's electrical or mechancial cabling problem that needs rectification fast. Murphy laws apply. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 On 12/18/2011 at 8:49 AM, Porker said: TUCK YEW!!! Are you implying recent floods in BKK, and Philippines tropical storm killing many and Wukan villagers protest for one head man is kept in police custody. Act of God happened day-in day-out in any countries, Here, in Singapore, the bleep on MRT trains stalled resulted in delay and inconveniences, work, shop and relaxation while the rest resulted in deaths. Aren't we fortunate that we still have shelter, foods and family warmth. What a disparity the world makes ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 On 12/18/2011 at 8:46 AM, Ender said: This is one aspect why singaporean so angry. A breakdown only and the SMRT management and authourities can't handle the situation properly resulting in anxiety, fainting and hosptilised. If this was a terrorist attack or disaster, how can the authourities handle it? I agree to disagree, coz we do not have any mobilisation exercise on MRT train, buses with civil services personnels. In a full scale event like this, it will be additional task force to be look into. PM Lee asking for COI, is a new step forward. Does the SMRT and Transport minister ever think of such Mobo-exercise which involve EVERYBODY here? How can it be avoided and not having repeated occurrences in our crowded train, buses, interchange and taxi-opeartors, together with Hospitals/ambulances & volunteer personnels@ the highest level, The Army and Police forces will play a crucial role too. Is they any preventive measure of a major exercises? How and when to activate mass media announcement instead of f/b, tweeter and U-tube msg, we need the Govt. hands in showing the way forward, I'm sure the ' Bible ' are in placed, this time it's only a few shocks and after shocks . . . In such situations, Singaporeans merely know how to complain and complain loudly, no offer of solution or remedy, what is the points? I'm sure many Singaporean living and working/ studying abroad can offer more as they see us from afar . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 On 12/18/2011 at 1:38 AM, Donut said: His jurisdiction is to wave hands. Nothing else matters Some more . . cut ribbons, shake hands and blow candles, carry babies and SMILE for camera ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 On 12/18/2011 at 9:28 AM, Meanmachine said: I agree to disagree, coz we do not have any mobilisation exercise on MRT train, buses with civil services personnels. In a full scale event like this, it will be additional task force to be look into. PM Lee asking for COI, is a new step forward. Does the SMRT and Transport minister ever think of such Mobo-exercise which involve EVERYBODY here? How can it be avoided and not having repeated occurrences in our crowded train, buses, interchange and taxi-opeartors, together with Hospitals/ambulances & volunteer personnels@ the highest level, The Army and Police forces will play a crucial role too. Is they any preventive measure of a major exercises? How and when to activate mass media announcement instead of f/b, tweeter and U-tube msg, we need the Govt. hands in showing the way forward, I'm sure the ' Bible ' are in placed, this time it's only a few shocks and after shocks . . . In such situations, Singaporeans merely know how to complain and complain loudly, no offer of solution or remedy, what is the points? I'm sure many Singaporean living and working/ studying abroad can offer more as they see us from afar . . . Even our ministers feel that the situations were not handled properly. You think otherwise? You mean other nationalities don't complain? It's lucky that this unlucky situation happened in Singapore, else you have riots, class action law suits in other countries already. :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 Even motorist are not spared, we may be driving on the road, yet see heard over the radio over Mrt failure, causing them to take taxi/s, buses or walk 3-5 destinations to their work place. Timing could'nt be better during X'mas season cheers, I would'nt want to bet for the coming CNY in Chinatown festive buying. We do not have better alternatives like the rest of the Asian countries, looking back to Japan's Floods disaster, many Japanese behaved orderly and goes on their task with ease, no panic, n chaos and no one blamed the Govt. for the mishap, it's an act of God. People who volunteered to help w/o asking anything, all working together to achieve harmony, they even return lost money found? What can I say, We need to look at ourself in the face and said, " Is it the real Singapore and Me? " Sadly , the answer is NO, it is the my mentality 1st. ME and me only. IT is in our culture unlike the Japanese or Korean ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...