Felipe 3rd Gear December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 U are not wrong to say, here we dun have earth-quake, Tsunami, or hugh flooding or anything render serious enough foe emergency, compare apple to apple lah, What is a few hours of train stalled as to the hero of Japan/ Korea? I cant fault them, Yeah Korea are aggressive, R we gonna to be like them, I dun think our culture can come to term with them, and U dun have to agree with me. SinkieLand has nothing, no resources, no production, totally dependent on other countries for food supplies, we will in trouble in less than a week. We're small nation and we should be forgiving and solve the problem instead of asking head to be rolled. The train stalled is not someone incompetence, and it has nothing to do with CEO's head on the chopping-block, we do not have to follow the amercian system that someone head will roll, The mechanic faulty, for a train to run smoothly for more than 20-25 years was fantastic, let alone stalled 2nd in a week is not someone cup of T. No, Im not a pappies man and Im not supporting them for the sake of supporting, i'm one of the 40% though, U cannot fault a man or a woman jus becoz the train has stalled and calls his head. dude, but this is how companies work leh. screw up and the head gets chopped. look at how many CEOs are asked to go when they can't deliver. SMRT is a company let me remind u. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 Dun be naive, an exercise is an exercise only, till the actual situation arises, all wayang i must say, ok so the exercise was conducted, I may have memory lapsed but dun flame me . . . Wat goes in practice does not necessary equate into real time happening. Wait till we fight a war and announce the casulty no, the innocent victims will be higher than expected. Ppl pay for transport and they expect 1st class service, so they bark loudly to let off steam. Again, U don't have to agree with me on this. I agree the exercise was wayang. A whole saga here just goes to show our gahment are very ill-equip to handle a crisis situation.Thankfully this is just a breakdown with no major casualties. We just open eyes to terrorist how choatic the situation can be with the current system we are having with our home team, smrt, home affair. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falcon1668 Neutral Newbie December 18, 2011 Share December 18, 2011 but ministers and leaders are paid millions to use their brains right? u mean they still expect the public to do the thinking for them? u want to be paid millions, live up to it. they are paid millions to think of more ways to fleece us to increase they salary, not to solve problems. If they are so good, they'll be in private sectors and make millions/billions instead of working as ministers aka parasites Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Machspeed Neutral Newbie December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 Some more . . cut ribbons, shake hands and blow candles, carry babies and SMILE for camera ! eh, this one i though is kfc man's job? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 It is her track record. Multiple train disruptions with last straw being last Fri and Sat, uncovering rail problems only after LTA inspection which went 'undetected'? Comms is still poor despite so many previous learning experiences and train analysts today ST say SMRT must learn from other operators. This is incompetence at the most obvious. Your father one of SMRT VPs? You are twisting perspectives to defend the indefensible. Train r like cars .. they need regular servicing.. in this case they maybe skipping some servicing in order to save cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 I agree the exercise was wayang. A whole saga here just goes to show our gahment are very ill-equip to handle a crisis situation.Thankfully this is just a breakdown with no major casualties. We just open eyes to terrorist how choatic the situation can be with the current system we are having with our home team, smrt, home affair. People can always choose not to take our MRT..i heard from somewhere..lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrathchild156 2nd Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 Smrt sibe jialat, if I work for them, I will totally have no respect for them.. Hence this type of company really cmi No need respect, cmi orso dun care ....good salary / good bonus....wat respect ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 Problem found Sounds like a serious maintenance lapse! Talk abt putting people's lives at stake... still want to raise fares... Based on the photographs displayed on The Straits Times, 19th December 2011, problem not so simple as maintenance lapse. Excuses like serious maintgenace lapse always mentioned there has been incomeptency/malingering leading to the problems. A good design is maintenance-free or maintenance-less. Identifying problem(s) without appreciation, means only temporary fix can be done. Example: trains can not operate as per normal without repeating curent risks. Hardware: support for the 3rd rail shown to be damaged with some missing components. A temporary fix with nylong cable ties is being used to operate the trains. The very reason(s) the claws loosen can loosen the cable ties used soon. More passengers-trapping train services sooner or later. Example: A sister of mine switched back to taking bus already. Software: The recuitment of not so suitable personnels, who in turn recruiting others is chronic protocol itself. Based on the media article, the people involved could identify (like any fools can criticize), but could not appreciate the fundamental issue (CEO still malingering there)... If someone in ruthority can confirm there is serious maintenance lapse, then there is confirmed design design flaws appreciation. The problem can be solved. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 I think you've been away for the past few years. Home affair has conducted such exercise at MRT station and declare successful. Anyway a strong contigency plan for evacuation has to be a sop drill in all government level, especially the home team and in this case LTA too.. I believe they did conduct it under ideal conditions. Example: no need to break window for peak-hour packed trains rescue work... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 U are not wrong to say, here we dun have earth-quake, Tsunami, or hugh flooding or anything render serious enough foe emergency, compare apple to apple lah, What is a few hours of train stalled as to the hero of Japan/ Korea? I cant fault them, Yeah Korea are aggressive, R we gonna to be like them, I dun think our culture can come to term with them, and U dun have to agree with me. SinkieLand has nothing, no resources, no production, totally dependent on other countries for food supplies, we will in trouble in less than a week. We're small nation and we should be forgiving and solve the problem instead of asking head to be rolled. The train stalled is not someone incompetence, and it has nothing to do with CEO's head on the chopping-block, we do not have to follow the amercian system that someone head will roll, The mechanic faulty, for a train to run smoothly for more than 20-25 years was fantastic, let alone stalled 2nd in a week is not someone cup of T. No, Im not a pappies man and Im not supporting them for the sake of supporting, i'm one of the 40% though, U cannot fault a man or a woman jus becoz the train has stalled and calls his head. So sorry to be trying to wake up any of the 60%+ of Sinkieland with what I believe:- Singapore is having a lot of trouble this week and from this week. Example: PM cut-short his leave... If trains stalled not due to incompetence, I hope you are not suggesting due to terrorism from your Sinkieland (some ladies already told me got train-trapped phobia)... Can we share your competence if you have got better methods than removing the many heads blocking the solutions to the train breakdowns...? Can share with us your vision of maintenance-free/maintenance-less mechanism...? If you are with the 60%+ Sinkieland, since when you decided to immigrated to the 40% of Singapore? Can we believe you are proud of either Sinkieland or singapore or both? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 (edited) Dun be naive, an exercise is an exercise only, till the actual situation arises, all wayang i must say, ok so the exercise was conducted, I may have memory lapsed but dun flame me . . . Wat goes in practice does not necessary equate into real time happening. Wait till we fight a war and announce the casulty no, the innocent victims will be higher than expected. Ppl pay for transport and they expect 1st class service, so they bark loudly to let off steam. Again, U don't have to agree with me on this. So sorry about this furtherance, but you may be aware that more serious that a Senior Vice president can be a person likely to have got senile dementia. Example: to mention that the next time window be broken to do rescue train trapped passengers, the rescuer will be charged. A senile dementia can forgot what is civil-consciousness. I believe our SCDF will carry out rescue full heartly with no hesitation to break any window(s), too. Edited December 19, 2011 by Good-Carbuyer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 Failure happens, but how we deal with this is also very critical. To me, it seems SMRT do not have a protocol to deal with failures & emergency. But its typical Singapore corporation. No one give a damn when nothing happen. When something happen, then, "we should have a focus group to study the cause, a committee to improve the protocol, takes measures to prevent same thing from happen, least but not least, find who (at the bottom) is at fault." Got protocol for absconding with excuses. Example: Orchard Road area flooded. Raised Orchard Road level so only the road itself not flooded. But both sides of Orchard Road still flooded. Next mention to pump the flood water to Singapore River, but no mention the pumped water will flow back to be pumped, and the flood will still be around. Perhaps they had out-sourced consultancy to those residents in the IHM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 Did the Chief engineer or whatever title in charge of the M&E side came out to explain? Then who are these 'expert' and why they are not in the technical advisory board of the transport companies? Experts question use of plastic ties By Victoria Barker my paper Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 SINGAPORE - Even as they deemed the initial assessment of last week's major service disruptions reasonable and fair, transport experts yesterday questioned SMRT's use of plastic cable ties for short-term repair. Those my paper spoke to felt that the transport operator should justify this move. The cable ties, along with steel support brackets, were used to secure the "claws", or metal grips, which had become dislodged. An overnight joint investigation by SMRT and the Land Transport Authority (LTA) last Saturday revealed 21 missing claws along the North-South and East-West lines. These secure the "third rail", which supplies electricity to trains. Associate Professor Lee Der Horng, a transport researcher with the National University of Singapore, said he believes SMRT will be looking for other ways to provide "even a temporary solution", because if further vibrations occur, the plastic cable ties would not be able to take it. Transport analyst Tham Chen Munn, who is the director of Transport and Urban Design Consultancy Services, said: "Can any mechanical system that is subject to extreme loads and frequencies be secured with plastic cable ties?" As a result of the dislodged claws, the third rail had gone out of alignment, preventing the collector shoes on the trains from getting power, according to preliminary investigations. LTA officials also said on Sunday that the claws might have fallen off due to vibrations in some sections of the tunnel tracks. Still, Dr Park Byung Joon, programme head of the Master of Science in Urban Transport Management at SIM University, said that other measures which have since been taken are a step in the right direction. This includes imposing a speed limit on trains running through the city area, where most of the missing claws were found. "Slowing the trains down is the only way to make sure impact (on the third rail) is minimal... For the time being, it's the right way to reduce vibration," he said. However, experts agreed that other factors, including an increase in passenger load, should not be ruled out for causing the disruptions. Prof Lee said: "More passengers means the train becomes heavier... At this stage, we cannot exclude (other) possibilities." Mr Tham said: "An overload on any system, coupled with other factors such as wear and tear, can cause a chain of events." Meanwhile, SMRT saw its shares fall as much as 3.6 per cent yesterday, to its lowest level in more than two months, reported Reuters Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 Did the Chief engineer or whatever title in charge of the M&E side came out to explain? Then who are these 'expert' and why they are not in the technical advisory board of the transport companies? Experts question use of plastic ties By Victoria Barker my paper Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 SINGAPORE - Even as they deemed the initial assessment of last week's major service disruptions reasonable and fair, transport experts yesterday questioned SMRT's use of plastic cable ties for short-term repair. Those my paper spoke to felt that the transport operator should justify this move. The cable ties, along with steel support brackets, were used to secure the "claws", or metal grips, which had become dislodged. An overnight joint investigation by SMRT and the Land Transport Authority (LTA) last Saturday revealed 21 missing claws along the North-South and East-West lines. These secure the "third rail", which supplies electricity to trains. Associate Professor Lee Der Horng, a transport researcher with the National University of Singapore, said he believes SMRT will be looking for other ways to provide "even a temporary solution", because if further vibrations occur, the plastic cable ties would not be able to take it. Transport analyst Tham Chen Munn, who is the director of Transport and Urban Design Consultancy Services, said: "Can any mechanical system that is subject to extreme loads and frequencies be secured with plastic cable ties?" As a result of the dislodged claws, the third rail had gone out of alignment, preventing the collector shoes on the trains from getting power, according to preliminary investigations. LTA officials also said on Sunday that the claws might have fallen off due to vibrations in some sections of the tunnel tracks. Still, Dr Park Byung Joon, programme head of the Master of Science in Urban Transport Management at SIM University, said that other measures which have since been taken are a step in the right direction. This includes imposing a speed limit on trains running through the city area, where most of the missing claws were found. "Slowing the trains down is the only way to make sure impact (on the third rail) is minimal... For the time being, it's the right way to reduce vibration," he said. However, experts agreed that other factors, including an increase in passenger load, should not be ruled out for causing the disruptions. Prof Lee said: "More passengers means the train becomes heavier... At this stage, we cannot exclude (other) possibilities." Mr Tham said: "An overload on any system, coupled with other factors such as wear and tear, can cause a chain of events." Meanwhile, SMRT saw its shares fall as much as 3.6 per cent yesterday, to its lowest level in more than two months, reported Reuters Many years back, some experts in another local motoring forum confessed that they were indeed layman, out to self-promote thinking the readers knows next to nothing about motoring just like themselves. Let us hope this time round are really not layman. Example: slowing down the trains may not help identify the culprit(s) soon, if at all. To a layman, I have no idea if this Dr. P's knowledge depth or trouble-shooting like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 but ministers and leaders are paid millions to use their brains right? u mean they still expect the public to do the thinking for them? u want to be paid millions, live up to it. U have a point, but they are human too, come on, be a man and think like a human being. Does getting paid highly must one eat at high end rest? Of course not, we are human, fresh and blood. Mechanical fault cannot be ( entirely ) blamed by one person, let alone take the rap? I'm living up life so U go stand one corner and reflect what U said is true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 Many years back, some experts in another local motoring forum confessed that they were indeed layman, out to self-promote thinking the readers knows next to nothing about motoring just like themselves. Let us hope this time round are really not layman. Example: slowing down the trains may not help identify the culprit(s) soon, if at all. To a layman, I have no idea if this Dr. P's knowledge depth or trouble-shooting like. Dr. doesn't they know what happen on the ground cos they know the theory by book, that i agree [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 So sorry to be trying to wake up any of the 60%+ of Sinkieland with what I believe:- Singapore is having a lot of trouble this week and from this week. Example: PM cut-short his leave... If trains stalled not due to incompetence, I hope you are not suggesting due to terrorism from your Sinkieland (some ladies already told me got train-trapped phobia)... Can we share your competence if you have got better methods than removing the many heads blocking the solutions to the train breakdowns...? Can share with us your vision of maintenance-free/maintenance-less mechanism...? If you are with the 60%+ Sinkieland, since when you decided to immigrated to the 40% of Singapore? Can we believe you are proud of either Sinkieland or singapore or both? Are U asking me or telling me to share how to solve the problem? Why should I. If your son is a school prefect , and they was a fight outside by some gangs with school-mates, and some got hurt seriously, an ambulance was sent to hospital, does it mean that the school prefect and school principal is answerable and not capable how and why outsiders are allowed to hand around the school premises to cause trouble. Now the injured student's parent wants the school principle to resigned and sch prefect to face the music? What scatterbrain can one be thinking? If everyone is thinking like U, we might as well stay at home and not taking the train to work, Yes, we are living it up and nothing can and will happen here w/o or w/o the train ... Wat next, Airline stalled due to pilot refused low wages here, Blame the Gvt again? We can't be a wink all the times, Yes, we try to be perfect, but we are NOT ANGEL,please rem that! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged December 20, 2011 Share December 20, 2011 I believe they did conduct it under ideal conditions. Example: no need to break window for peak-hour packed trains rescue work... I think Murphy's law happened for a reason, far too many thing/s in dec and Jan/12 too, this year Feng Shui not good. Anyone can break window too, it's the reflect action when one is in the thick of the action. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...