New Subaru XV

Rezorn86

Moderation is key, I feel. Follow the instructions on the manual, and do some short sprint occasionally during the first 1.6k km, then just drive normally.

Most, if not all, car owners will welcome the fact when no run-in is required for all new engines, can drive hard from start ! So, I would think car manufacturers will want to use this as a sales feature too if really the case. Thus, it will be redundant to list it in the owner's manual, right?

That said, I think some conti (or even some Jap/Kor) makes stated that there is no need to change engine oil during the 1k or 5k period, perhaps these engines are indeed pre-run in already. Like the wowo I had previously. SE said no run-in, just drive, no oil change till 15k. Shiok !!

Anyone did your XV servicing in JB? Any experience to share? My XV's millage is >100,000km, thinking of doing the service in JB.

The servicing cost in motorimage is just too high.... aircon cooling coil cleaning is $3++, spark plug $2++, aircon filter, engine oil filter $1++! Total cost for my 100k servicing is more than $800, excluding the standard service package price which is around $250... ... T_T.

The 5 year free servicing you guys enjoy is wonderful! Last time they only provide 3 years or 60k free servicing.

just to confirm, u guys mentioned that at the 1.6k km servicing, your engine oil was changed and your discussion earlier was that MI did not use the type of oil specified in the manual?

Moderation is key, I feel. Follow the instructions on the manual, and do some short sprint occasionally during the first 1.6k km, then just drive normally.

Most, if not all, car owners will welcome the fact when no run-in is required for all new engines, can drive hard from start ! So, I would think car manufacturers will want to use this as a sales feature too if really the case. Thus, it will be redundant to list it in the owner's manual, right?

That said, I think some conti (or even some Jap/Kor) makes stated that there is no need to change engine oil during the 1k or 5k period, perhaps these engines are indeed pre-run in already. Like the wowo I had previously. SE said no run-in, just drive, no oil change till 15k. Shiok !!

Anyone did your XV servicing in JB? Any experience to share? My XV's millage is >100,000km, thinking of doing the service in JB.

The servicing cost in motorimage is just too high.... aircon cooling coil cleaning is $3++, spark plug $2++, aircon filter, engine oil filter $1++! Total cost for my 100k servicing is more than $800, excluding the standard service package price which is around $250... ... T_T.

The 5 year free servicing you guys enjoy is wonderful! Last time they only provide 3 years or 60k free servicing.

I believe normal servicing like engine oil change, coolant, brake fluid are pretty standard, and most of the workshop in JB can do it for you.

For the CVT fluid, perhaps you need to get from stockist before heading to workshop.

just to confirm, u guys mentioned that at the 1.6k km servicing, your engine oil was changed and your discussion earlier was that MI did not use the type of oil specified in the manual?

Hi, servicing was done at 1000km, oil used was 5W30 which is one of the recommended rating in the manual. The ride was factory filled with 0W20 oil initially when new.

Hope this helps.

There are many xv in malaysia so i guess there should be many workshops that can do the service. Maybe you can try asking at the malaysia xv facebook page, seems quite active.

https://www.facebook.com/SubaruXvMalaysia

try Malaysia MI at JB if you want more assurance of the work quality. i believe with the exchange rate now, you can get lot cheaper...ipad is also so cheaper by RM100 in malaysia now.. so by comparison, MI shld be cheaper lol.. nvr try before though.. maybe in the next 5 years, i will do so... lol..

FYI:

http://www.motorimage.net/MY/buying/locations/#johorbahru

SUBARU @ Johor Bahru map.gif No. 8, Jalan Mutiara 3

Taman Perindustrian Plentong

81750 Johor Bahru

Tel
:
07-3555 552 Fax
:
07-3552 220

as i had posted earlier, the current xv is out of stock and they intend to sell the new stock for xv at a higher price.

given that all the other suvs have raised their prices, there is suddenly very little competition. everyone else is now selling at > 120k (closest rivals are suzuki s-cross and the parallel imported honda vezel) so it is possible that a higher specs xv can sell at > 120k afterall.

Anyone notice the Subaru XV no longer listed on SGCM since yesterday.?

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_listing.php?MOD=Subaru

Just a glitch or is this car no longer available...?

Edited by subarudreamer

as i had posted earlier, the current xv is out of stock and they intend to sell the new xv at a higher price.

given that all the other suvs have raised their prices, there is suddenly very little competition. everyone else is now selling at > 120k so it is possible that a higher specs xv can sell at > 120k afterall.

Nooo... Dont make me buy the Renault..!! [sweatdrop]

No info on their website. What is the "new" XV. A facelift of the 1.6 or...?

lol. subaru fans must say NO to french! :D

SE said higher specs (I think its more of the interior). engine is the same and i suspect exterior not too much of a facelift. gotta check with SE.

its also a function of coe up 10k off the bottom. even the french may not hold their prices that low. do note that the french cars have a high CEVS rebate and a very low scrap value. depreciation for XV vs the french may be about the same.

Sigh. With hindsight should have jumped in back in Feb when i was offered at $103k...

Got greedy and was waiting for the psychologically much more desirable $9x,xxx price to appear... Sianzz

ah, so it was 103,800 at the bottom afterall.

Sigh. With hindsight should have jumped in back in Feb when i was offered at $103k...

Got greedy and was waiting for the psychologically much more desirable $9x,xxx price to appear... Sianzz

ah, so it was 103,800 at the bottom afterall.

Yup. Included the 5yr servicing deal but before the new HU was offered.

Sigh. Current ride good until end of June. Just sit tight and wait for the current panic buying over the CEVS increases to blow over and hope that eventually the COE drop will be greater than the CEVS increase.No choice lah, just see how.. [sleeping] New stock arrives in May according to SE..

Edited by cmdsea

if prices don't drop by jun, will u consider going without a car for a few months?

Yup. Included the 5yr servicing deal but before the new HU was offered.

Sigh. Current ride good until end of June. Just sit tight and wait for the current panic buying over the CEVS increases to blow over and hope that eventually the COE drop will be greater than the CEVS increase.No choice lah, just see how.. [sleeping] New stock arrives in May according to SE..

if prices don't drop by jun, will u consider going without a car for a few months?

Yes. Already resigned myself to that actually. Can always chope wife's car here and there if i need it.. :-)

Though I would expect the COE price drop (if any) to be quite steep in July once the CEVS storm has passed, so my intention is to actually bid myself and then look for car at right price with ready stock rather than getting sucked in to waiting for 6 rounds of bidding when the inevitable price rebound follows...

have u checked if ADs r willing to sell u a car without them bidding the coe for u?

Yes. Already resigned myself to that actually. Can always chope wife's car here and there if i need it.. :-)

Though I would expect the COE price drop (if any) to be quite steep in July once the CEVS storm has passed, so my intention is to actually bid myself and then look for car at right price with ready stock rather than getting sucked in to waiting for 6 rounds of bidding when the inevitable price rebound follows...

2015 XV externally looks the same as current one. Internally I believe they changed some of the finishing to piano black, added trimming to the power window control area, maybe some sound proofing improvements... I don't think MI will bring in the 1.6L version with push start, sunroof and collision avoidance, else will cost a lot more.

I think there're some new colors too... Heard the satin pearl white now comes as crystal silica white.

After driving the car for about a month, I am very satisfied with it :)