Seaweed 1st Gear December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 (edited) Yes. I blame them for two recent incident. 1) MRT breakdown. Why people stuck in the train for so long. In my opinion. They should not get stuck even for one minute. People talk about what power thing. Must wait to shut down. Then I say like this "die" liao. If fire or bomb how? So power aside. During this kind of situation. I don't think it is difficult to get pple out of the train. We are all "SAF" trained. Understand the train only got one driver. So we just need someone from the nearest station to run to the train. OK. RUN is the word. Not WALK. And be the leader to lead everyone out while the train driver be the last to leave ensuring everyone is out. We can't even do this simple thing ? Ok. Unless ah gong say it is not their problem. It is "free market" again. !!! Then !!! 2) Taxi fare hike? COE increase so much. We expect taxi fare to remain? Are we fooling ourself ? If i think of that. Why can't they? Or they are preparing to handle other bigger issue ? Like complete breakdown for the whole train system because being an insider. They know it is coming soon? So they got no time for this "small" breakdown? Now i call for one thing. A plan shutdown of the complete system to do a 100% check. Maybe a plan shutdown on a SAT and SUN. So they have 48hrs all to themself to ensure the system don't failed again. At the same time they can have a drill to simulate the complete breakdown of the system [laugh] Edited December 17, 2011 by Seaweed ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richard_Peh 1st Gear December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 Yes. I blame them for two recent incident. 1) MRT breakdown. Why people stuck in the train for so long. In my opinion. They should not get stuck even for one minute. People talk about what power thing. Must wait to shut down. Then I say like this "die" liao. If fire or bomb how? So power aside. During this kind of situation. I don't think it is difficult to get pple out of the train. We are all "SAF" trained. Understand the train only got one driver. So we just need someone from the nearest station to run to the train. OK. RUN is the word. Not WALK. And be the leader to lead everyone out while the train driver be the last to leave ensuring everyone is out. We can't even do this simple thing ? Ok. Unless ah gong say it is not their problem. It is "free market" again. !!! Then !!! 2) Taxi fare hike? COE increase so much. We expect taxi fare to remain? Are we fooling ourself ? If i think of that. Why can't they? Or they are preparing to handle other bigger issue ? Like complete breakdown for the whole train system because being an insider. They know it is coming soon? So they got no time for this "small" breakdown? Now i call for one thing. A plan shutdown of the complete system to do a 100% check. Maybe a plan shutdown on a SAT and SUN. So they have 48hrs all to themself to ensure the system don't failed again. At the same time they can have a drill to simulate the complete breakdown of the system [laugh] I disagree they can shut down during after their operation hours like night time can check mah. Y must do it during opertion hours? some even working even saturday sunday at city area & i am one of them. By increasing fare is this the kind of service they provide us? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunlight 1st Gear December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 SMRT is created due to PAP's greed. It used to be MRTC, a govt body. It built the NSEW line Then PAP decided to create LTA and SMRT. LTA remain as govt to build MRT lines, SMRT privatized to operate and make $$$ Temasek own 54% of SMRT. Therefore SMRT dont need to answer to the public or ministry of Transport. It answers to TEMASEK can liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 SMRT is created due to PAP's greed. It used to be MRTC, a govt body. It built the NSEW line Then PAP decided to create LTA and SMRT. LTA remain as govt to build MRT lines, SMRT privatized to operate and make $$$ Temasek own 54% of SMRT. Therefore SMRT dont need to answer to the public or ministry of Transport. It answers to TEMASEK can liao. SMRT also bid for subway projects in countries such as middle east .. it's difficult to do so if you are a govt body.. The #1 priorty of a public listed SMRT then becomes "profit" instead of "serve the people".. To drive profit with such a small population, SMRT either increase far to drive revenue or decrease cost thru hiring cheap foreign workers or reduce maintenance cost etc.. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to see this through.. No matter how ah lui want to talk c*ck sing song, SMRT serve its share holders not the people anymore... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cdior 1st Gear December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 Ccb. In the end, they do 1 show , heavy fine smrt, knn $ left pocket put into right pocket. Puay cb. He deserve the white color kid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richard_Peh 1st Gear December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 SMRT is created due to PAP's greed. It used to be MRTC, a govt body. It built the NSEW line Then PAP decided to create LTA and SMRT. LTA remain as govt to build MRT lines, SMRT privatized to operate and make $$$ Temasek own 54% of SMRT. Therefore SMRT dont need to answer to the public or ministry of Transport. It answers to TEMASEK can liao. MRT breakdown "extremely serious": Lui Tuck Yew By Wayne Chan | Posted: 16 December 2011 2222 hrs Photos 1 of 1 Lui Tuck Yew ® Related News Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunlight 1st Gear December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 SMRT also bid for subway projects in countries such as middle east .. it's difficult to do so if you are a govt body.. The #1 priorty of a public listed SMRT then becomes "profit" instead of "serve the people".. To drive profit with such a small population, SMRT either increase far to drive revenue or decrease cost thru hiring cheap foreign workers or reduce maintenance cost etc.. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to see this through.. No matter how ah lui want to talk c*ck sing song, SMRT serve its share holders not the people anymore... Public Transport should never be privatized. :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falcon1668 Neutral Newbie December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 Of cos blame govenment lah. If not blame u and me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 Minister for Transport Lui Tuck Yew has described Thursday's train disruption as an "extremely serious! So are the transport company lower fares since even they have increased the fares, there are still so many problems?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 Let's not forget Singapore Power, SingPost, Comfort Delgro etc.. They used to be govt-own. Today, they are public-listed BUT still govt-own through Temasek Holdings.. These companies can milk your money openly and the government can say they can't do anything because they don't own them anymore. However, the govt stands to benefit from their profit because GOVT->Temasek Holdings. Get it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 isn't it great? when there is money to earn, they have their big piece of pie. But when things turn sour, they can siam and nobody can point fingers at them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richard_Peh 1st Gear December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 (edited) Let's not forget Singapore Power, SingPost, Comfort Delgro etc.. They used to be govt-own. Today, they are public-listed BUT still govt-own through Temasek Holdings.. These companies can milk your money openly and the government can say they can't do anything because they don't own them anymore. However, the govt stands to benefit from their profit because GOVT->Temasek Holdings. Get it? Wow so tactic so evil so darkness Edited December 17, 2011 by Richard_Peh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BroAlan Neutral Newbie December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 A friend from SMRT told me every train is suppose to have spare batteries that can last an hour in case of power failure Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim 1st Gear December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 SMRT is created due to PAP's greed. It used to be MRTC, a govt body. It built the NSEW line Then PAP decided to create LTA and SMRT. LTA remain as govt to build MRT lines, SMRT privatized to operate and make $$ Temasek own 54% of SMRT. Therefore SMRT dont need to answer to the public or ministry of Transport. It answers to TEMASEK can liao. MRTC builds infrastructure. It is distinct from SMRT so SMRT dont have to recover the costs of building the infrastructure. There is nothing wrong with privatization PROVIDED they are strictly regulated. The problem revealed is not so much that sh-t can happen, but how helpless they are when things happen. We cannot blame SMRT for the overcrowding in Singapore. But if the SMRT trains have to operate beyond the capacity under emergency conditions, shouldn't the train driver(?) be aware and open the train doors well before the passengers suffocate...or resort to smashing the windows? Shouldnt this be written down somewhere where LTA can inspect? Or do they operate under the Titanic mindset - why do we need lifeboats for everyone when even God can't sink the ship? We cannot blame SMRT for not providing enough shuttle buses. SMRT only has a small bus operation. How many spare buses can it have? Is it even a requirement? If SBS buses are needed, SMRT can't possibly order SBS to do so. It must be done by a higher authority. Again, it's LTA call, and LTA failed. If the regulator is sleeping on the wheels, then privatization is a dangerous thing. We see it in the finance world, and we see it in our public transport. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falcon1668 Neutral Newbie December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 A friend from SMRT told me every train is suppose to have spare batteries that can last an hour in case of power failure haha key word is "supposed" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 sadly its jus gonna b wayang. i wonder wat hap to the minister pay review? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sirex Neutral Newbie December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 Nothing wrong to make money, but issue is why so preoccupied? Is it to fill up a BIG hole somewhere? I for sure have given up hope to my CPF money! SMRT is created due to PAP's greed. It used to be MRTC, a govt body. It built the NSEW line Then PAP decided to create LTA and SMRT. LTA remain as govt to build MRT lines, SMRT privatized to operate and make $$$ Temasek own 54% of SMRT. Therefore SMRT dont need to answer to the public or ministry of Transport. It answers to TEMASEK can liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunlight 1st Gear December 17, 2011 Share December 17, 2011 Nothing wrong to make money, but issue is why so preoccupied? Is it to fill up a BIG hole somewhere? I for sure have given up hope to my CPF money! Yes, theres nothing wrong making $$, but look at the losses of Temasek and the profit of SMRT and how the high dogs are paying themselves. :angry: ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...