KARTer 2nd Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 Whats the 1st dish you cooked? More importantly, will you still cook it to impress your gf / wife or even kids? Maybe we have moved on and improved, what's the 'signature' dish(es) now? How about your own 'creative' dish, any idea? or you are ready to show off now? Side note: For those who only specialise in Instant-noodle, i tried one brand and it came with big thin slices of beef that tasted so tender and tasty i felt they melted in my mouth.... the soup came from a paste, not some chemical powder............ no MSG feel at all, very authetic and natural flavour. about S$7 per packet. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 (edited) I'm the cook at home when the helper is not available... 1st & Favourite western dish: a good medium rare steak with only salt & pepper Favourite local / chinese : improvised 'claypot' chicken rice in a rice cooker with chinese sausage, chicken & lots of shitake mushrooms Edited December 16, 2011 by Karu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 cheese omelette Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 16, 2011 Author Share December 16, 2011 I'm the cook at home when the helper is not available... 1st & Favourite western dish: a good medium rare steak with only salt & pepper Favourite local / chinese : improvised 'claypot' chicken rice in a rice cooker with chinese sausage, chicken & lots of shitake mushrooms Its a coold day today.... you are making me hungry where do you get your steak from? i havent cooked one for a long time, want to try it again before Xmas Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 I'm the cook at home when the helper is not available... 1st & Favourite western dish: a good medium rare steak with only salt & pepper Favourite local / chinese : improvised 'claypot' chicken rice in a rice cooker with chinese sausage, chicken & lots of shitake mushrooms I ''pai guan yin'' one...cannot cook beef at home... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 (edited) Its a coold day today.... you are making me hungry where do you get your steak from? i havent cooked one for a long time, want to try it again before Xmas I'm not really fussy with steaks, those aussie / NZ grass fed ones from cold storage are good enough. Wouldn't dare to try cooking wagyu at home, afraid to 'spoil it... Anyway, don't really know what's the fuss about wagyu?? Maybe I haven't tasted really good ones... The 'claypot' rice is perfect for a cold day!! Edited December 16, 2011 by Karu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 16, 2011 Author Share December 16, 2011 I ''pai guan yin'' one...cannot cook beef at home... how about home-made BBQ pork? also called xio bak!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AronTan Neutral Newbie December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 maggi mee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 how about home-made BBQ pork? also called xio bak!!! BBQ is char seow, xio bak is roasted pork Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 i think almost everyone's first dish will be instant noodles la.. :) I cook 90% of the time.. My wife seldom cook. My best dish will have to be lor bak. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 16, 2011 Author Share December 16, 2011 BBQ is char seow, xio bak is roasted pork opps told my maid wrong liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AronTan Neutral Newbie December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 i wish i could cook steak at home but family don't take beef. sigh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 Side note: For those who only specialise in Instant-noodle, i tried one brand and it came with big thin slices of beef that tasted so tender and tasty i felt they melted in my mouth.... the soup came from a paste, not some chemical powder............ no MSG feel at all, very authetic and natural flavour. about S$7 per packet. chey, thot you gg to share the brand of instant-noodle with us i can nvr get instant noodle right but other stuff like cantonese soups, stewed or braised dishes still can pass off as authentic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucaswh 1st Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 Cooked Salmon Fillet with garden veggies for date with CO last week. Later gonna cook up Chicken Cordon Bleu for our date in the evening. It's an interesting learning experience and fulfilling to see the dish created from scratch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 Whats the 1st dish you cooked? More importantly, will you still cook it to impress your gf / wife or even kids? Maybe we have moved on and improved, what's the 'signature' dish(es) now? How about your own 'creative' dish, any idea? or you are ready to show off now? Side note: For those who only specialise in Instant-noodle, i tried one brand and it came with big thin slices of beef that tasted so tender and tasty i felt they melted in my mouth.... the soup came from a paste, not some chemical powder............ no MSG feel at all, very authetic and natural flavour. about S$7 per packet. Mercy-mercy. After all these years I already changed cooking methods, and could not remember what I had done. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 16, 2011 Author Share December 16, 2011 chey, thot you gg to share the brand of instant-noodle with us i can nvr get instant noodle right but other stuff like cantonese soups, stewed or braised dishes still can pass off as authentic. i bought it last time in Japan leh, cant find it here, so sad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 my son made chocolate ice cream with baileys at home yesterday... dunno how he did it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count_duku 4th Gear December 16, 2011 Share December 16, 2011 Campbell ox-tail soup, add water & heat .. Yummy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...